We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$396
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$788
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,551)
Filter reviews
1,551 results
Traveller rating
907
447
115
44
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
907
447
115
44
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble bathsamaki restaurantcoco barspices restaurantcaptain marcoanimation teamrooms are hugemain restaurantitalian chefpool barhakuna matatastone townlocal spiritsmasai guardsbuffet styleall inclusive packageour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 1,551 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Wonderful hotel on one of the best beaches on Zanzibar Nungwi, even with the low tide the water is only 10 meters away.
We can’t think of one bad thing about the hotel it was really an amazing experience!!
Crew,food,location,hotel 200% OK
Enjoy Hakuna Matata

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you so much for your absolutely wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort and for posting some terrific photos!

We were 200% thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and are always happy that we are so fortunately placed on Nungwi Beach. The fact that the tides have so little effect on our beach, allowing both swimming and beach access at all times is a real bonus for our guests and we appreciate that you took the time to mention it.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Fabulous resort! Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, from reception to the gardeners. Management, including senior management are also visible and take time to speak to guests to ensure their stay is a happy one. Across the board the service was second to none and could not be faulted. Beach and grounds are stunning. Rooms are large, attractive and comfortable. Rooms, restaurants and bars all spotlessly clean. Food was good and varied, fresh and tasty. Only small complaint was the all inclusive wine wasn't to my taste but that is a personal opinion and there were alternatives wines to purchase and plenty of other included drinks to choose from. No complaints from my husband who loved the local beer. We were in the resort for New year 2013 and were blown away by the level of work that went into creating a fabulous evening (and clearing it away before the sun came up on 2014) - best new years eve yet!!

Would definitely go back and thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Block L is very close to beach, beach restaurant and pools with excellent views. We were in L11 - recommended!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BoxofFrogs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you so much for your absolutely wonderful review and very kind recommendation for Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

Before I go on, I should tell you that we actually had a hard time deciding which we liked more, the fantastic title you gave our review or your very cute user name!

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and appreciate your kind remarks regarding our team. We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed our New Year's Eve party, the setting is just so beautiful, it really inspires our best work.

I was sorry to hear that our house wine wasn't to your taste, but appreciate your fairness in commenting so positively on all the other drinks and we're very glad that your husband enjoyed the local beer!

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Hi,

Overall our stay was very pleasant. We had never booked a package holiday before but were very happy we did. Nungwi is a relatively quiet town, catered to a bit older people.

See a long review below. I've tried to be as elaborate as possible (wrote it while lying next to the swimming pool).

Animation: enough to keep you busy and are useful (morning stretching s at the cliffs, water aerobics and the like) fun, attendance mediocre. There are local and Italian animators. in the evening they organise performances in the theatre, a little boring for younger people

Bars: good selection of drinks. quick service.

Beds: very firm\hard

Beach: clean. with low tides lots of stones at the surf. Still walking 30m to the left or right gives you an easy entry in the water. this is a plus because in the northern part of nungwi (f rom double tree resort) is impossible to swim at low tide because of the shallow reef. At high tide very easy and close to hotel entrance, however, be mindful of the sometimes strong waves and the nearby cliffs. the is no lifeguard on duty in the vicinity of the hotel, and to my knowledge not anywhere else in nungwi, kendwa. the breach over there is a bit nicer but the difference not big.

Beach-beds: there are many and enough, but as everywhere there are those who claim the beds early and leave for breakfast etc.. if you are in need of an umbrella you can just request There are beds across the resort but I favoured those at the 'cliffs' where you have a great view to the north over the beach, the infinity pool behind you and with a cool breeze.

Bugs: close to none (mid January), some flies but that's it, saw one mosquito

Food: diverse and good quality. The buffet changes the menu a bit everyday while the menu at the sea view restaurant doesn't. The freshly caught fish of the day at the later is a great choice for lunch. three times a week they organise a special dinner, at the beach, in the garden, or make it an African special. This is nice to keep the guests entertained.

Safety: there are Masai guarding the place 24\7 and we felt it serve enough to leave or tankers Romney's etc on the breeds while going swimming. Didn't hear of any thefts.

Service: unexpectedly efficient for African standards. Personnel understands requests and quickly follows up, very kind overall, dont ask for tips. Even retrieved a shirt I had lost for me.

Pools: there are multiple and all saltwater, the infinity pool at the waterfront is most used but overall relatively quiet (2\3 of the rooms were booked during our stay, with few kids). Pools are never deeper than 1.5m)

Reception: helpful in arranging place to shower etc at the day of departure but didn't for instance have simple stomach medicine in stock, which requires you to take a taxi into town for 20usd and get it (overpriced of course, 1,5usd apill or smth) yourself.

Touts: are on the beach but don't enter hotel premises, are not pushy, but are in great number s. A quiet walk on the beach is possible.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south-side (the more expensive ones with a partial sea-view) are further from the hotel to the north which generates a lot of noise in the evening, but are closer to the resort's own theatre (which generates much less and short noise). We didnt stay in the 'garden-view' rooms so dont know how noisy it was. But paying for the sea-view is a waste of money.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christiaan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely and very detailed review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

We're were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We were also thrilled to hear that you were pleased with the efficiency of our service and look forward to sharing that particular remark with our staff.

I was sorry to hear of the situation with the stomach medication and we will remedy that this week. We cannot carry it at Reception, but we certainly can in the Boutique, which will mean that it is readily available to our guests and will not require a lengthy taxi ride. I hope that you will accept my sincere apologies that we hadn't considered this before.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

very good resort,excellent location and service.
we had the suite on the beach and it was great.
the food was OK most of the times,the breakfast not so much.
the restaurant was very good a fresh.
i advise to check several times the prices for trips before ordering from the hotel. the prices are higher more than 200%.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ericmuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and will share your kind remarks with our hard-working staff.

I was sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy breakfast as much as the other meals. We do our best to offer a wide range of breakfast items to appeal to our many different nationalities, I'm sorry we didn't find the right blend for you. Should you be returning, I hope that you will feel free to discuss your concerns with us as we are always happy to prepare something different when guests can't find anything to their taste among our buffet items.

We also noted your comment regarding the different rates for tours. It is true that the tours purchased within the resort are more expensive than the ones purchased on the beach, however there is also a difference in the offering that may not be readily visible. The companies that we use within the resort are properly insured, have safety standards and inspections and practices. Both their equipment and their staff are properly licensed and trained. These things cost money and that pushes up the price of their tours, but we want to ensure that if we are recommending companies to our guests, we are certain of their safety standards.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A prime location to the ocean and beaches. Annoying beach vendors directly outside the hotel area. The food could have been better, some of the food is used for several days in a row, especially the desserts. Never bad food. The Italian Chef raised the place with his pasta. Serving staff could have been more trained.
Best pool area on Zanzibar. Bar spirits of varying quality, mostly poor marks(Indian). Normal spirits at additional cost.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Thomas,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your kind review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

We appreciate your positive observations regarding the beaches and pools, we're fortunate to be so well positioned with a beach that is not affected by the tides the way so much of the island is. We're also fortunate that the beautiful pools were designed to feature through such a large part of the resort.

We were sorry that there were other items that were not of the standard you expected. We try hard to be a relaxing place where our guests can simply enjoy themselves and it is disappointing to us when we fail in that mission.

The beach boys are an area that we continue to try to improve. As beaches in Zanzibar are legally public property, it is against the law to remove them. We do try to minimize the hassle by employing some local men to ensure that they only make one approach to guests while on our beach, although it sounds as if they were not adequately controlled during your visit. I apologize for that and we will speak with the security team again.

I was also sorry that you felt that food was being used for several days in a row as that is not the case. It is true that some dishes and particularly favourite desserts are made frequently, but we follow food handling protocols carefully to ensure that food is fresh and we do not risk food borne illnesses.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews