We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hats off to the staff at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! It would be unfair to name any of the staff, but I have to mention Robert,John and Salim. We experienced the most friendly and caring staff wherever we went with the sounds of jumbo-jumbo echoing through the resort.
The scenery is breathtakingly beautiful. The pools are meticulously maintained and the beach area is a pleasant retreat.Refreshments from the pool bar were available in excess.
We experienced the most enjoyable and entertaining evenings and the two evenings where dinner was served on the beach were very special. The special effort to make our 24th wedding anniversary memorable was the highlight - thanks Robert and the team.
We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Top floor with pool/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlynn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you so much for your delightful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

We appreciate your kind remarks, but even more, your enthusiasm for a return visit! We will happily share your comments with Robert, John, Salim and the rest of the team, we're proud of them all and love being able to tell them that their efforts were appreciated.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent a week at the Royal Zanzibar. The resort is located in a piece of paradise and the pools are unbelievably fantastic. Food is great. Dining room staff and especially the food and beverage manager, Robert, are really great and helpful. He constantly went out of his way to make us comfortable. However, by international standards this resort is by no means five star. I would rate it 3 or 3.5 at the most. The hotel has not been maintained and has been allowed to deteriorate drastically. Rooms and especially bathrooms are very run down. There is mould throughout the walls and taps in the bathroom the wood is rotting. Housekeeping is very bad - towels are old and discolored. At 15:00 rooms are still not serviced. There are spiders and cobwebs throughout the room and cupboards. We had no hot water for two days in both our rooms. . The tv was not working . Been an all inclusive resort one would expect that there was food/snacks available throughout the day. However, the only meals available were breakfast, lunch and dinner. The bar staff are very unhelpful and it sometimes take up to an hour to get a drink or they run out of stock. Management is not pro active and hence unaware of the problems of the guests. Very disappointed with the standard of accommodation and service .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SMaharaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

As discussed during your stay, we were very sorry that you didn't enjoy your vacation with us. As your travel agent had not requested connecting rooms, we had not reserved them for you and the resulting confusion started your vacation badly. In order to obtain connecting rooms for you, you were then placed in a block that was suffering from leaks resulting from unusually heavy rains and when those rooms were flooded, our team tried to upgrade you to suites, but we handled it poorly, resulting in your being given rooms that had not been serviced as they were not supposed to be in use. I am truly sorry that we did this so badly and we are working with the various teams involved to ensure that faced with a similar situation in the future, we would do better. However I believe you have exaggerated by pointing to many things that were only true in one room and addressing them as if they were true to every room.

The meals and snacks are available throughout the day. There is a continental breakfast in the Mapenzi Bar after breakfast has closed and the snack menu at the beach is available from noon until 5:30pm. On at least one morning, the Executive Chef prepared breakfast for your children when they arrived after the buffet was being taken down.

We appreciate your kind remarks regarding the food, the Dining Room Staff and Robert and will be sure to share them with these individuals and teams.

I'm sorry once again for the mistakes on our part that resulted in a poor vacation for you. We really do want everyone to have a great time when they stay with us and we are very disappointed when we fail.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I recently returned to the UK after two weeks at the Royal Zanzibar, this was almost one of the best long haul beach holidays we have taken dating back to the 1970's, we do however have one serious problem with this hotel.
We arrived late evening, the reception staff welcomed us and showed us to our room, the restaurant had closed but the staff sent food to our room within minutes. The room itself in K block was quite disappointing, it was large but the bathroom inparticular was very shabby, the sanitary ware was worn and grubby, the taps on both sinks were loose and the place needed an urgent refurbishment. That said the maid did her best with a bad situation. After three nights the hotel asked us to change rooms to one in I block ( the rooms are arranged in blocks of eight on two floors) this room was exactly the same layout but in far better condition and was really quite pleasant.
The hotel is set in lovely well kept grounds and gardens, the swimming pools are great and well looked after ( one worry was that a small percentage of the guests seemed to think using them fully clothed was acceptable).There was never any problem finding a sunbed in or out of the shade.
The best thing about this hotel are the staff, the nicest group of people you could wish to meet throughout each department. Even the animation team got us to join in with a couple of activities (we usually run a mile at the thought of a lurking animation team) these fellows are three of the best and our thanks to them for enhancing our stay.
The food in the restaurant was plentiful and of a good standard with sufficient choice for most tastes, the local beer and wine was good.
Sorry but now for the part we had severe reservations about. For about half of our stay I did not feel comfortable being more than a short distance from a toilet, my wife had several days with the same problem and I know the S.A.couple in the next room were also similarly blessed.
We feel that the restaurant and buffet staff would benefit from some training in modern hygiene proceedures and some of the senior staff given the authority to challenge some of the behaviour of the guests. Examples of poor hygiene we saw were: a baby in nappies being spoon fed whilst sat on the edge of a breakfast table, when the mother moved the child the staff merely replaced the mats and cutlery and showed the next guests to the table; guests picking up a pizza from the buffet with both hands, ripping it in half and replacing the unrequired half back on the buffet; guests picking up cakes from the buffet display with their fingers, examining them and replacing them on the display; guests using their napkins as handkerchiefs; the cooks in the buffet tend to cook some fish, chicken, pork, etc and then place it on display on a cold plate rather than keep it hot; we also felt more effort could be made to cover the food on display.
In short the Royal Zanzibar is a nice hotel for a truly relaxing holiday, it is set on a beautiful beach, has beautiful gardens and pools, plenty of sunbeds and the nicest staff you could wish to meet. It does however need to bring itself up to 21st century hygiene standards.

Room Tip: Stay away from K block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

We were very pleased to hear your positive comments regarding our staff and will be happy to share them with the team. Thank you for your fairness in acknowledging their efforts considering some of the challenges you faced.

Unfortunately the damage to K Block is the result of a much heavier rainy season than normal with the resulting leaks causing a number of problems. We have closed that block to effect some repairs and bring it back to an acceptable standard. I'm sorry that high occupancy forced us to use rooms that were not in acceptable shape and appreciate your willingness to move when we had a better room available.

The guests that are using the pools fully clothed are usually Muslim women who remain in their clothing for the sake of modesty. I don't know if I saw the same guests that you did, but as this is due to religious beliefs it is not something we are prepared to challenge. They are as welcome as other guests to stay and use the facilities provided, I'm only sorry that it was a cause of concern for you.

We were very concerned regarding your comments about hygiene regarding the restaurants and food. We hold weekly classes for our staff regarding hygiene, using both in-house trainers and people that we bring in as specialists. We have taken your points individually to the team and agree with you, it is not likely something that the junior staff will be comfortable challenging, but then they can throw out the pizza or cake that has been touched. That is how we will approach the training with them and we will ensure that supervisory staff ensure that this happens. We appreciate you taking the time to outline such specific points and are very sorry that you had to bring them to our attention.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We absolutely loved the Royal Zanzibar. My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon recently and have only good things to say about it. In South African standards this would not get a five star rating though, probably closer to a three star rating, but that said, we cannot find much wrong with this resort.

The room is spacious and the air conditioning allows some relief from the hot and humid weather. The bath is huge and amazing! The bed is comfortable. The amenities are more than one could ask for! There are 4 very large pools (warm enough to swim continuously, but cool enough to offer relief from the heat), one with a swim up bar. We never struggled to find lounge chairs where we wanted.

The food was very good, much better than we expected after reading some reviews about hotels in Zanzibar. The all inclusive package is very good with several changes to the menu during every meal. Some dishes are repeated, but mostly you will be spoilt for choice. The cocktails are great and the local wine and beer also good. We even had a lobster and crab barbeque one evening. We also particularly liked the goat meat which we had never had before. Robert, the restaurant manager is wonderful! He came around during most meals to ask how we were doing.

We went during off season (mid April) and would definitely recommend this. We loved having most amenities to ourselves all day and not being bothered by screaming children or adults. Although this is the rainy season, it rain very seldom. Most days the rain cleared up before we finished breakfast. If there are showers they last only a few minutes to an hour a day. This did not hinder our holiday at all.

But by far the it was the staff at the resort that made our stay amazing! They truly go out of their way to make your stay unforgettable and nothing is too much effort for them. We can definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a island holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of and recommendation for Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

It's always an honour to welcome guests for the special moment in their lives and we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us so much. We also appreciate your detailed comments outlining the amenities you enjoyed. As always, it is a pleasure to share with our hardworking staff the compliments regarding their friendliness and flexibility. We're so proud of them all and love being able to tell them what a positive impact they have had on our guests.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, perhaps for a special anniversary??

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I searched extensively before choosing this resort- for what it's worth here are my positives and negatives.
Positive- the pools....WOW amazing!! Incredible sunsets, lovely beach! The staff couldn't be more friendly and will always try to assist you. Bernard at the pool was extra awesome.
Negative- expect 3-4* and you won't be disappointed. Housekeeping isn't up to scratch, had to constantly request supplies. Our shower NEVER worked properly.... Either freezing cold or we got burnt, nothing In between, reported it 3 times including to management and then gave up. Food isn't bad but certainly not anything spectacular.
Be warned, any trip you want to do is quite a trip/drive.... Either by boat or car.... Nothing is close. This isn't a major issue and certainly isn't resort specific but be aware that excursions are a long day.
We travelled with kids aged 11 & 8.... Yes they enjoyed the holiday but honestly I wouldn't recommend traveling to zanzibar with kids younger than that. Once you leave the resort area this is real Africa.... About 90% of travelers we spoke to had diahorrea and/or vomiting at some point during their holiday.... I must emphasize this was across ALL resorts. All 4 members of our family were ill at some point. And yes we only drank bottled water..... Take an extensive first aid kit.... The resort couldn't supply headache tablets when we asked if they had some.

Would I stay here again...? YES the pools alone would bring me back! Is zanzibar a good holiday? YES but go prepared.... It's Africa.... :-)))

Room Tip: Standard rooms don't have a sea view but I didn't go there to be in my room so this wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, along with your very kind recommendation. Considering the problems you encountered, we appreciate your generosity and fairness in being excited about returning more than we can say.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our pools so much and we agree, they really are beautiful! We will also be thrilled to share your kind comments regarding our staff with them. They're a lovely group of people and we're extremely proud of their genuine friendliness and concern for our guests.

On the other hand, I hope that you will accept my sincere apologies for the problems you encountered. We have revamped some of our processes with Housekeeping to ensure that our guests have the necessary amenities at all times, this simply shouldn't be an issue and we will try to ensure that it isn't in the future. Maintenance continues to work on ensuring the water temperature remains constant. I must also apologize that you were not provided with aspirin when requested. We do have first aid kits with every Department Head and with Reception and the Beach Bar and happily hand over aspirins, bandaids and any other items we have when required. I don't know who you asked, but we will try to ensure that all of our staff knows that they are available in the future.

I do have to disagree with you on one point. I appreciate that you weren't pointing only at our resort when you commented on the problems with diarrhea and vomiting, however it simply isn't the case that 90% of visitors to Zanzibar are sick during their stay. Being a small operation, we usually know when we have guests that are unwell and these cases are rare. The majority of our guests and the majority of visitors to Zanzibar remain in good health throughout their stay.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. Please do contact me directly when you're coming back as we would very much appreciate the opportunity to ensure that every part of your stay is a success on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for our honeymoon and had a fantastic time! The service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. All staff were helpful and Bernard who is the barman at the pool bar kept us happy each day! The food was phenomenal. There was lots to chose from and each item was cooked to perfection. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but I'd go for a sea facing room as the view and the sunsets are amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronseaborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your terrific review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

I know that I've said it before, but there is really no bigger compliment for us than guests telling us that they would like to come back! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and it's always a pleasure to share kind remarks about our staff with them... I know that Bernard in particular will be thrilled to hear that he made such an impact on your stay.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Jambo !!
I spent one week at the Royal Zanzibar , I had no expectations and told myself I am going to Africa with an open mind. The road was long ,hot and dusty from the airport to the hotel upon arrival we were met by friendly staff and refreshing coconut water and face towels,
The room was garden facing and very spacious and a bath tub to accommodate two !!
The Staff definitely blew me away with their genuine friendliness and concern nothing was ever a problem .I had a problem with the shower tap it was sorted within 15 Minutes .
The swimming pools and bar areas were always clean , needless to say the choice of mocktails was really good.
The variety of food everyday - normally when you at a hotel for 7 days it can get a bit boring with the meal selection - lets say the Royal Zanzibar makes every dinner experience a memorable occasion from dinner on the beach , along side the pool in the garden etc.
The hotel is on the beach - powder soft sand , shades of blue water and the warm .
The resort exceeded our expectations for sure.
Besides the resort the actual staff's hospitality warmth no words can explain. Well done to manager , Kim when you have such happy staff then you know you doing a great job.

Upon arrival at home I was still in the habit of wanting to say Jambo to everyone and ending each sentence with Hakuna Matata .

The Royal Zanzibar is highly recommended and will definitely return soon

Asante Sana
R Hassen

Room Tip: We had a garden room c23
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shaan0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Jambo! and a heartfelt asante sana for your generous and wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort and for your kind recommendation!

With so many wonderful places to see around the world and an admittedly difficult to reach destination, we consider it a compliment of the highest order when guests are eager to return. It was a pleasure to read your entire review, but my favourite point was the "genuine" friendliness of our staff. I'm proud of each and every one of them and I love being able to share reviews like this with them. I generally leave out bits about me when I'm reading them out loud... but I'm very touched to be mentioned and thank you very much for your kindness! Of course, we also love knowing that you took some hakuna matata home with you and hope that that and your memories of your stay will keep you relaxed and happy until you return.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, do let us know when you're coming back!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,661 reviews
1.3 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.2 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £206 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel Nungwi
Seaclub Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing