We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wonderful staff, Masoud, Margreth, Jamu, Robert, Bernard, Omari, Tanda, John, chef Christopher, Victoria, Faustine and all the others whose names I can't remember. All the staff members were extremely friendly, happy and helpful which made the whole week that we were there a wonderful experience. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable and had plenty of packing space specially since we had taken diving equipment as well. We never had an opportunity to turn the TV on since there was so much to do. Bathroom was huge. Hotel also has a generator for when there are power failures and if there is a power failure during the pre-dinner drinks then the bar staff sing until the generator starts.
The Royal Zanzibar has a desk at the beach bar for East Africa diving who provided us with wonderful service regarding our diving. We had some great dives and they picked up our equipment and dropped it back at the hotel again.
We had our own fins, masks and snorkels so we went snorkelling off the beach at the hotel every day where we saw some awesome stuff including reef fish, lionfish and eels. A rash vest is recommended though if there are jelly fish. They are not poisonous but do sting a little. I would recommend taking your own snorkelling equipment if you have it.
The grounds and the pools are huge so you never felt that the hotel was full.
The food was great, lots of variety, most days there was a pizza, pasta and curry station as well as other fish, meat etc. The hotel dinner evening on the beach with the band was fantastic. The logistics of the evening were amazing. We also went for the additional paid for lobster dinner on the beach (not part of the all inclusive). It was well worth the money. The lobster was huge (1kg) and the personal service was exceptional.
Regarding the drinks - the beer and cocktails were great especially the Dawa (made with Konyagi rather than vodka). The wine varied - some batches were ok and others not so great but it didn't bother us.
Thank you to everyone at the Royal Zanzibar. We had a wonderful time. Hope to come back soon with the family.

Room Tip: B24 was a great corner, upstairs room - close to the pools, beach and the beach bar. Not far from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank raihattingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review and some terrific photos!

We never cease to be grateful for the kind words guests have for our hardworking staff. We're proud of them all and love sharing reviews like this with them. We post them for the whole team, but in this case we'll also be happy to thank Masoud, Margreth, Jamu, Robert, Bernard, Omari, Tanda, John, Chef Christopher, Victoria and Faustine specifically for making sure you had a great time.

We were sorry to hear that there was an inconsistency in the wine and have checked to ensure that they are all okay now. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we are already looking forward to meeting the rest of the family on your return!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    383
    96
    38
    32
See reviews for
267
798
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gauteng
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Beautiful Location, Best swimming Beach in Zanzibar, Extremely friendly and helpful staff....

Although 5 star rated, it is African 5 star standards from the rooms to the foods...
Use the Hotel transfer services for Peace of Mind and Safety... (ask for driver ABBAS)
Resort is Beautiful, clean and well maintained...
Rooms and esp bathrooms are basic and not 5 star...
Dining offers a large variety of foods to choose from except for non alcoholic drinks...
Activities and entertainment is limited...
Water shoes advisable although not necessary...
Great walks to the North but bear in mind the "High Tide Times"...
Yellow fever injections and Malaria tablets a MUST !!!
Use Mosquito nets when sleeping and use bug spray... both provided by the resort...

Hospitality and Friendliness by all staff members make up for any of the shortfalls at the Resort
(Rukiya, Juma, Niza, Margaret, Amina, Fatma, Issa, Robert, Christoper, Muhammed, Yusuf and all the Masai security personel and Garden staff) - wish i could remember all their names,
Great Job Guys, You made the stay memorable!!

Room Tip: Choose Blocks H or I for central location to Beach and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArabianNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort and the wonderful and practically iconic photo of the dhow passing our beach at sunset.

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and particularly proud of our staff for making your stay so special. We will be sure to thank them all but particularly Abbas, Rukiya, Juma, Niza, Margaret, Amina, Fatma, Issa, Robert, Christoper, Muhammed, Yusuf and all the Masai security personnel and the Gardening staff as well. Thank you so much for acknowledging the efforts of these groups that are often behind the scenes, but work so hard to ensure that they are also a positive part of our guest's experience.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent 4 nights in June 2014 at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort and we really enjoyed our stay.
It took a bit over one hour from the airport to reach the hotel. We used a taxi which I highly recommend. Cost was 60 USD. Police had many road blocks along to way, so make sure your driver has his paper work in order.
The hotel had amazing service, positive atmosphere, nice pools, clean / comfortable rooms, beautiful surroundings, nice beach, excellent bars, interesting activities & dinner on the beach. This place is suitable for couples and families.
If you feel like doing also something else than getting hammered and burning your skin, please try diving. The all inclusive packet even has an introduction to diving, i.e. trying the equipment in the pool. If one wants to take this experience further, you can do it smoothly with PADI professional in the ocean – cost 110 USD.
Things that we were not that excited about were; blackouts & sewage smell along some of the walkways.
Anyways, overall experience was extremely positive and I would recommend this place for everyone.
P.S.
Make sure you have an extra 50 USD / person when you a planning the fly away from the island, there is a ridiculous departure tax to be paid.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rholmandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, some photos and your kind recommendation!

What a pleasure it is to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I think our friendly staff provide a great atmosphere, but it's always nicer to hear it from our guests!

I am sorry about the smell along the walkways. We have unfortunately faced a delay in having the truck that drains the septic tanks come to the resort, they will be here this week and that should be fixed immediately. Our sincere apologies it was something you had to face during your stay. Unfortunately there is nothing I can do about the blackouts. We keep them under a minute for the most part, by immediately turning on one of our two generators, but the main power supply comes from mainland Tanzania and there appear to be a lot of technical challenges that are still being worked on to keep the power flowing smoothly.

We appreciate your kindness in recommending the resort in spite of these problems and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Each and every staff member was inviting, and happy to help with anything. Service with a smile, every time.
It feels like we left a few of our friends behind when we left!
The beach is absolutely beautiful, the many pools are well kept, there are always fluffy, clean towels for swimming and in the bathrooms.
The food is excellent, a real variety. The rooms are huge and airy, a massive and comfortable bed, and the cleaning staff really put in the effort to make your room special, with new flowers decorating the beds each morning.
The spa is a must! Amazing massages with the most beautiful view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Lauren,

Thank you so much for your terrific review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are always delighted to share kind words with our wonderful staff. I'm proud of all of them and their ability to make our guests feel so welcome. Of course, we're also happy that you enjoyed our beautiful beach, the food, the flowers that decorated your bed, our 4 gorgeous pools and the lovely ambiance of our spa! I tell our guests often that if you haven't had a massage in a place where you can actually hear the waves below you, you really must, as it's an incredible experience! We're so glad you enjoyed it!

Rafiki is the Swahili word for friend... so, our new rafiki, thank you for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Margaret, Emmanuel, Gloria,Khasim, Robert, Zainab, Victoria, John, Tanda and Masoud, amazing people.They treated my sisters and I like Royalty.They are really Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, such friendly people.They make sure we were well looked after. Not forgetting the 2 girls who cleaned my room every morning, amazing people indeed. Everyone was juz amazing.Worth every cent i spent on my holiday.What a blessing to have met Royal Zanzibar staff (with the exception of the boutique ladies - They should ask Margaret for tipz on how to deal with people).
Well deserved holiday in Paradise...Asante sana to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khutsiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Asante sana for taking the time to post your really lovely review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort and for sharing some great photos too!

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and will happily pass your thanks on to Margaret, Emmanuel, Gloria, Khasim, Robert, Zainab, Victoria, John, Tanda and Masoud. I'm very proud of all of our staff and it's terrific to be able to thank them for ensuring that our guests have a wonderful time when I can share reviews like this.

I am sorry to hear that you encountered some problems with our staff in the Gift Shop, I've spoken to our Supervisor for the shop and asked her to ensure that all of her staff focus on the same level of service experienced in other parts of the resort.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your vacation in Nungwi. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you and your friends back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We were in the hotel for 5 nights, and we even added one more nighr and ditched the other hotel we booked from home (worth the extra 135$ we paid for the other hotel on advance).
Beside the weather everything was perfect!
The room was hough and the bed was the most comfortable bed we ever slept in.

Beside a 20$ fine for loosing the room key, which is highly overrated, the room price is not that high for the amazing service, food and facilities you receive.

The staff is really friendly and it seems like they never ran out of new ways to entertain the guests if its with ball games, pool games, dinners on the beach with live bands or a Masai dances, you will always find yourself enjoying the place.

We never even went out of the hotel as it provided everything we needed.

A small issue with the hot water but not sure this is the case with the rest of the rooms.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Digiloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for your absolutely glowing review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

It's always an honour to be chosen as a honeymoon location, but for you to stay an extra night when somewhere else is already paid for is truly humbling. We will be certain to share your kind remarks with our team, particularly the animation staff, it sounds like they kept you very busy! I hope not too busy, we like our guests to spend lots of time relaxing too.

I am sorry about the lost room key charge, unfortunately the complications and expense of changing the lock and having new keys cut locally make it necessary to pass part of the cost on to the guest.

Unfortunately we did have a pump problem one day last week. I don't know if this is the day you had hot water problems, but if so, I'm happy to report that it's been repaired and sorry that it was a cause of concern during your stay.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, perhaps for a special anniversary?

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

excellent beach.
5 pools.
good eat.
good service.
good location.
if your room close to tree, so early at morning you will wake up by noislyץ
close to fisher village , so go to visit there trip, very beautifull.

Room Tip: I suggest you chose room far from free, because early at morning if you room clote to tree, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Serhio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to post your remarks.

We are sorry you were disturbed by the crows, I only wish I had a solution for them.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Property: Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel Nungwi
Seaclub Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing