We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had better things to say”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I were booked into the Royal as part of a safari package. I must admit, we had never been to a all-inclusive resort and did not know if we would enjoy it. While I learned that resort livening is probably not for me, a few things might have improved my stay. All meals were a buffet as the a la carte restaurant was under renovation. The beach was hard to use as you were consistently harassed by "island boys" trying to sell you something. One night they let the Island boys onto the grounds to sell their wears, which would have been ok, even fun, if they were not set up like a gauntlet to be run before entering the dining room for dinner. Very uncomfortable. If you want to do any sightseeing in Zanzibar, most of the attractions are an hour or more to the south, so there are added charges to all the tours available. We asked the hotel to get us on a tour to the butterfly preserve and colobus monkey colony and they got us a taxi. $120 and we didn't have a guide giving us any information. Clearly he was a friend of the staff on that day. The masseuses were awful. Food was "meh". Room was great, big, comfortable with lots of outlets to charge electronics. Enjoyed the plantings, lizards and ravens that roamed the place. Pools were wonderful and usually empty. If you shop in the gift shop, bring your own materials to wrap things in, as the staff were careless and stingy. Almost everything we purchased was broken by the time we got home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank comicbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and some lovely photos of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We work hard to try to offer an experience that everyone enjoys and are disappointed when we fail. Unfortunately our a la carte restaurant was wiped out in a storm and the reconstruction has taken longer than originally agreed to with the contractor. I'm also sorry that you felt our African Market felt like a gauntlet, it's certainly not intended to, in fact the whole idea is to offer some of the same items available from the "beach boys" without the hassle of being harassed by them. Within our confines, they're not allowed to use the pressure tactics they use on the beach, generally making it a more pleasant experience. I was surprised to hear that your tour day was so poorly arranged, Our staff are required to use recognized tour companies for these excursions, I wish I could have spoken to you about it to determine who made the arrangements.

I trust that you enjoyed the safari you went on before staying with us and wish you pleasant journeys in the future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Everything about this resort is awesome. The one hour journey from the airport was eye opening and fascinating. And then you turn down a track and this resort appears. Magnificently designed and laid out. Space everywhere: the delightful manicured grounds and gardens, the very impressive and multiple infinity pools, the communal areas, bar and restaurant areas, the private beach and pool areas with an abundance of shades and loungers ( no need for a 6.00 a.m.securing of positions !). I can't imagine this resort ever gets the feeling of being overcrowded.

Our room was in Block L. Fantastic. Perfect views of the sea, the glorious sunset and close to the beach and pools, and a pleasant walk to the main restaurant and bar area ( this block will be closest to the new al la carte restaurant in August). Huge, spacious ( bedroom, lounge, bathroom and balcony), well furnished, spotlessly clean and a splendid maid ' mosquito net service' at night. Remember to keep all doors and screens shut at night to avoid bugs 'n' bites.

Although no al la carte when we went, this was not a problem. The hotel varies the theme and food every night. 2 nights the whole hotel ate on the beach, one to a very entertaining band ( cue a chance to dance on sand, badly), the other a Masai dance night, with disco. the food and setting has to be experienced to be believed. We also had 2 private beach dinner nights (Seafood/ Beef). the beef was the most immense piece I have a ever seen, and cooked to perfection. Other nights, buffets included an African Market, gymnasts and African dancing, with live background singing in the bar most nights.

There were a wide range of animation activities available, and anyone could do as much, or as little as they wanted. We also found that the mix of nationalities was just about perfect, from all parts of the globe, and every one was genuinely friendly and mixed exceptionally well ( Hi A&E, G&K). Much of that is down to the atmosphere created by the hotel and their personnel ( I won't call them staff).

No name checks. Every single gardener, porter, cleaner, restaurant, bar, chef, receptionist, animator, supervisor, manager, beach/pool person makes this resort so fantastic. And a huge credit to their wonderful General Manager Kim. Every one consistently smiling, engaging, incredibly patient, attentive, polite and good humoured. My usual plea, please learn some of the language. I learnt basic Swahili words and by the end of the holiday was holding conversations with the hotel personnel and locals in Stone Town. Just say you have read choka cheka man's review and they will know who you mean :-).

We did 2 excursions to Stone Town and Prison island, both are worth the journey and it's not every day you can get close up and personal with giant tortoises. The walks along the beaches immediately outside the hotel are relaxing and very pleasant.....yes there are beach boys selling things but none ever became too pushy ( a few pleasant Swahili words in response bring smiles and good natured declining).

I could go on, but think you have the gist by now. Fantastic resort, wonderful people. Stay there.

To all at the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, Assante sana, waheri, tuweze kuona tena.

Room Tip: Block L....stunning views of the Indian Ocean sunset, close to the beach and pools and no disturbanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ABplusAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Jambo Choka Cheka Man!

We are so grateful for your amazing review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

As you know from our discussions, I am proud of each and every one of my team and it's such a pleasure to be able to share reviews like this with them. I love knowing that not only the usual "guest-facing" personnel are taking care of our guests but that they entire group is conscious of their impact on the guest experience! We can teach it and check it all we want, but it is comments like yours that impress the importance of their actions on every individual and that drive them to continually improve as well. Of course, it helps that they love teaching Swahili to our guests and that you were such an excellent student!

Asante sana for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your Zanzibar Safari, we look forward to welcoming you back... raka raka!!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I had just the best time at this resort. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Nothing was a problem to fix. The rooms a big and clean. We thought that the bed was a little too hard for us, so the added a "pillow top" mattress. Plenty of great food and there is something different on each night. Kapi, Robert and Margarette always had a smile on their face. The Massi are also great guys. If you want to go snorkeling go to the beach and look for Captain Marco Polo on his boat "TATA". He is just wonderful. He also took us to dolphin bay to swim with the dolphins. His trips are great value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hazz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and will share your kind remarks with our team, particularly Robert, Kapi and Margareth and of course the team in the kitchen and our Masai Security Team!

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It's not easy for us to describe the place where we've been a month ago. The contact with the culture, the people and the nature was amazing!
The hotel was awesome, near the beach, with an excellent service, good, big and clean rooms, nice food and top level staff. Everyone has been friendly and always available to help.
We've had animation all day: aquagym and stretching in the morning, boccia and volley in the afternoon and shows at night... some party's at the beach and a lot of local music.
It was even better than we expected! Althought we were afraid about the first reviews we saw here, it seems that Kim (General Manager) have done a great job to get the actual reviews.

Africa is calling us back again :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DuarteLopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Duarte,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I shared your kind remarks with the team. It sounds like you kept up well with our Animation Team, they do a great job with the activities throughout the day and the early evening!

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, when the call to return to Africa pulls you back, we sincerely hope you'll come stay with us again!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wow, what can I say? If you are looking for pure relaxation in a stunning location then this resort is for you! The all inclusive package is very indulgent and means you don't have to worry about carrying money on you or paying charges at the end of your stay. There is always plenty to eat and drink plus cocktails and house spirits are even included. There's also a great range of food for vegetarians.

The resort is large and has plenty to do if you want to be a bit more active including table tennis, water polo and beach volleyball. The multitude of pools are each stunning including an infinity pool and one with a swim up bar - there are so many pools that we often had one to ourselves! We were staying during Ramadan so not sure if that affected how busy the resort was... If you just want to laze about then there are always beach loungers available and large beach towels free to use. It is absolute perfection lying on the couches upstairs at the beach bar watching the sunset over the water.

I would also highly recommend a snorkelling/diving trip as we even got to swim with a pod of dolphins but take motion sickness tablets with you if you have a really weak stomach as a few people on our boat got seasick.

The rooms are very, very spacious as is the bathroom and deck.

I would also recommend getting a henna tattoo from the ladies on the beach, they were friendly and we managed to get the price down quite a bit.

The only downside is that the resort is at the Northern tip of the island, meaning it is 1 hour drive to Stone Town and the resort is so lovely that you may not want to leave.

Lastly, if you are lucky your stay will coincide with the main restaurant moving to the beach for an evening (for us it was a Monday night). They set up everything right on the sand including a live band and dance floor. It is like a full-on wedding reception but all included in the package and was a magical last night for us. I was really blown away.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor corner room as you get 2 balconies which is great for drying clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and loved your line about "pure relaxation in a stunning location"! The owners who bought and built the property will be delighted to know that the property continues to WOW our guests and we're delighted to know that our goal of being the most relaxed place you can stay was so well met for you.

Just as a comment regarding how busy the resort was, we're fortunate to have enough space that even when the resort is full, guests still ask where everyone is. We're so glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet!

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We're sorry that you did have to leave but would like to assure you that you are welcome back any time!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just back from spending a week of our honeymoon at the Royal Zanzibar. What a lovely place and what friendly staff, especially Tanda in the cocktail bar. One night we had our dinner on the beach and our chief Christopher cooked us up the nicest and largest steak I have ever eaten. On the down side one cold not walk along the beach in comfort without being hastled by the beach boys to buy one thing or another, was accused of not supporting the local economy, we did buy our pesents on the beach, however you cannot buy something from everyone, this may have been exaggerated by the fact that we were there during a quiet week.
Also be careful when going on tours, on tour we took, we had a driver, then a tour guide, then 2 helpers came along all wanting tips....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely and informative review regarding the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will be certain to thank Tanda and Chef Christopher for making it special.

I am sorry that the beach boys were such a nuisance. Unfortunately with the lower portion of the beach being a public area by law, we are unable to remove them. We're grateful to have a space on the upper portion of the beach that is our private property so that they at least can't bother our guests there.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future, perhaps for a special anniversary?

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Simply amazing - I didn't think this place would be as good as it was. The place was beautiful, the rooms were clean and spacious, the staff were friendly and very very welcoming. The food was great! Would I go again? Most definitely. Please don't let the bad reviews stop you from going to this wonderful place - you will not regret it.
The manager, Kim is so passionate not only about the business but about her staff, the locals & the environment. A great woman! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Block B - which gave a part view of the beach, beautiful pool & garden. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mango_Skittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you so much for posting your amazing review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort!

It's hard to know how to say thank you for such kind words and such enthusiasm for our lovely property. I always love sharing reviews like this with our management team and staff, but don't know quite what to do when I'm mentioned so prominently... thank you for your kindness, I love the resort and Zanzibar very much and I'm pleased that passion shows through.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we're really delighted to have been such a positive surprise and are already looking forward to your return!

Kind regards,

Kim Elizabeth Bird
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,681 reviews
1.3 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.2 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £203 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel Nungwi
Seaclub Royal Zanzibar Beach Hotel
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing