We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$660
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$560
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$437
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$442
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$731
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,572)
Filter reviews
1,572 results
Traveller rating
918
453
115
47
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
453
115
47
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssamaki restaurantcoco barspices restaurantcaptain marcohuge bathanimation teammain restaurantpool barlocal spiritsmasai guardsstone townhakuna matatabuffet styleall inclusive packagelounge areaour honeymoonwater aerobics
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 1,572 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2015

This was our second stay in Zanzibar this year ( first time on the North of island) and this hotel really fulfilled all our expectations: not too big yet not too small, various food ( wine could be better for the price), chefs from Holland/India and Italian corner are just great. There is absolutely choise for every client. Music is discrete and both singers have a great voice. Beach is clean and, yes - you can swim! Visit to the neighbouring village was a great opportunity to help local community. Our thanks to all staff for their welcome, friendliness and help in any way.

Room Tip: all rooms face the pool or beach
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nadja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your excellent experience of your vacation at our resort! I'm very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the varied food, great music, our incredible white sand beach but your kind words about our warm and friendly staff is always at the top of my list! We will ensure to share this review with them!

We hope you will come back and visit us very soon.

Kind regards,
Jordon Ozero
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Cannot fault a single thing.....staff very commendable....despite other reviews food was impeccable in spices....ocean view is to absolute die for. Welcome and porters are fantastic, despite buffet meals at spices staff really help with everything. Pools are great and beach is amazing. The chill out areas throughout the entrance area and near spices are fantastic, with WiFi available everywhere

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Riyaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thank you for sharing your comments. It is a true pleasure to read about your wonderful experience with us here at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort. Your compliments have been shared with our whole team which has put big smiles on their faces.
Thank you for choosing us and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Jordon Ozero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

This was an all-in stay.
Very friendly personnel, accomodation complete, huge bathroom.
Room is 80m2. A few 100 m2 rooms also available for families.
Different interconnected pools
free towels for outside
nice, good prepared cocktails
Diverse foods and snacks.
wifi in room could be better.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilbertdesmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice five-star review regarding your stay with us!
We are delighted that you had such a good experience at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort and it is great to hear you particularly enjoyed our spacious rooms, pools, food and drinks and most importantly our warm and friendly staff and about your comment regarding the wi-fi we would like to let you know, that we are already working on that.
'Asante sana' and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regard,
Jordon Ozero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

First of all I would like to thank all staff at the hotel who made our vacation amazing (almost 10 days). Service was excellent, room is spacious (thanks for manager who changed our room with the view to the ocean). Very friendly staff which is working very hard to make for us pleasant stay. Food was excellent in all restaurants. Before to come to this hotel I red that staff cannot speak English. This is wrong information. Everybody at the hotel speaks English and Italian. No problem. Entertainment during the day as well is very good. Everything related to the resort is excellent.
Now I would like to tell to everybody about arrival to Nairobi. We came from Holland in the morning and was waiting for our flight to Zanzibar. After two hours we realised that our plane gone without us. No announcement to proceed to other exit, no names (because we had our suitcases on board), silence. To have a new ticket for the next flight (7 p.m.) we had to pay extra money without any receipts. I advise everybody who comes to Nairobi to ask several times where is the plane of your destination. It helps.
And last advise: take cash money with you, because you can find ATM only in stone town.

Room Tip: Room with the ocean view
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your amazing vacation experience at our resort! I'm very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the excellent food, spacious rooms, great entertainment, but your kind words about our warm and friendly staff is always at the top of my list! We will ensure to share this review with them!

We hope you will come back and visit us very soon.

Kind regards,
Jordon Ozero
General Manager
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

Good resort on a lovely strip of beach. Photos of resort are accurate. Staff are friendly and rooms are very spacious and clean. The all inclusive buffet is actually ok. There's a good selection of different mains and desserts. Resort is well maintained and has a great view of the sea. Room care packages are basic which was an issue for us as the airline lost our luggage. Most 4* plus hotels are equipped to deal with this and usually have curtesy toothbrush, toothpaste and combs on standby. The resort doesn't have this and instead offers you the option to buy a $5 toothbrush from the gift shop... Overall a good choice of resort with friendly staff, clean pools and easy access to the beach.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank YellowFlamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2016


It was our sincere pleasure to have you stay with us during your honeymoon. Thank you so much for your kind words about our friendly staff, clean spacious rooms, good food, amazing beach and spectacular view.
Thanks also for your constructive comment. We will definitely revisit the curtesy care-package idea and do our best to become even better for your next trip here!

We hope to welcome you back to the Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort on your 1st and many more anniversary celebrations.

Kind regards,
Jordon Ozero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews