We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, not the best, but no worries”
Review of My Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
My Blue Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed there in march 2013, Hotel is little worn, but it fits with it's African style. The hotel was half booked due to low season, was very quiet, staff was friendly ... even too friendly, everibody was friendly....
We had ocean wiev room - room was roommy, nice and clean, room service was OK. Pool is small and water was somethimes even too hot :) , beach is very nice clean and good for swimming.
... And some minuses are from breakfast - was'nt enought food somethimes and from locals on the beach - they just need to sell something...

Room Tip: Ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reinuvader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OraHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at My Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your friendly writing.
Breakfast always offers some different selections of English and Continental menus in a large amount.
Everywhere it is normal to find less choice in the last few minutes of the breakfast time, even if the buffet had been regularly replaced.
However it is really good if our guests are able to relax in spite of few minus.
Best regards.

Manuela Nascimbene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

The beach here in Nungwi is more beautiful that your imagination can perceive. Therefore you have to see it. We stayed in the front bungalows (1st floor), which are more expensive, but worth every cent.

Room Tip: front bungalows, 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anietta18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed at My Blue Hotel for 2 nights on an Educational. I liked the rooms which were very spacious and was located right on the beach, the overall cleanliness was not up to standard. The shower could not close so therefor the water kept filling up the bathroom floor. The water tap had mould on it and was disgusting to touch it. The rest of the room was fine and very nice.

The meals were very average and very selective and not a big variety for dinner and breakfast. We did not feel the warmth of the Hotel and the friendliness of the staff was lacking. Such a great hotel with a beautiful location but service delivery is the most importance.

The last thing was when I slipped and fell while walking to the other rooms. Another lady and I slipped and fell while walking to the other rooms because of the tiles being very slippery as it was raining the most of the day. We luckily did not have any injuries however we felt no sympathy from the Manager which is something that is very very important.

Overall it was an average stay but the overall ambience that one looks for while on holiday or business was lacking.

Room Tip: Rooms that are on the beach are large and you are right at the beach. Be careful of the tiles when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alli295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OraHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at My Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Colleague,
first of all we are really surprised to read you only on these few lines. We did not receive any complaint during your stay, not statements or verdict.
Referring to the bad working on the shower we point out that we did not receive any complaint before, during and after your stay. If so the shower would be promptly repaired by our maintenance staff available h24.
The meals are usually appreciated. Our Italian style does not miss to offer various choices of English and Continental breakfast. Hors d’oeuvres, pasta station with different kinds of sauces, minimum two main plates with vegetables, fruits and cakes are always offer in our buffet for lunch and dinner.
We are sincerely sorry for yours and the lady’s slipping. The bad weather conditions of the morning of your group site (we should remind that it is raining period in Zanzibar) made the floor be wet in an extraordinary way. Let’s image how it could be with the whole guests together in the same place with wet shoes, wet dresses and wet umbrellas.
Tourist agents know that educational are often organized in period where it is not possible to experience the hotel the same way as with sun, fun and a lot of guests.
Best regards.

Manuela Nascimbene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Very friendly staff, excellent food, the best location ever. Service is above average, the rooms are not as well furnished as one would expect (for instance there areno drawers in the room or bathroom at all), but everithing else compensates for that. So, all in one, a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbyGregi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Camera deluxe che in linea di massima è al 1° piano e ha terrazzino. Non soffre dell'umidità che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Vincenzorec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Giada_Verona26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Берите с собой косметику, шампуни. В номерах мало что есть.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marry_vrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.3 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,636 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Blue Hotel

Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#12 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £121 - £1,043 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — My Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Blue Hotel is situated in a splendid scenario in one of the Island's most beautiful spots, Nungwi, famous for sunsets and for the sea. It is about 50 km from the Stone Town airport. My Blue is developed in longitudinal manner and is characterized by an elegant and original tone to allow a relaxing and peaceful vacation. As you get closer and closer to the beach you are overwhelmingly stunned by the many enchanting different shades of blues of the Indian Ocean and of the splendid white, very fine sand. At only 200 km from the Hotel you can find Nungwi's fisherman's village, where you can admire the local craftsmenship and see the many local characteristic bars along the seaside in the vivid Nunwi area famous for nightlife. My Blue Hotel has 97 rooms divided in 5 different categories: Standard rooms, located on the ground floor Deluxe rooms, on the first floor with balcony Mini suite, on the ground floor and first floor with 1 extra bed Ocean View rooms, located on the ground and first floor, sea facing, with 2 extra beds. Every room is furnished in a boutique like decor and has one or more beds with: mosquito net, wardrobe, mirror, desk, luggage holder, air conditioning, internal telephone, digital safe, LCD Television with international channels, mini fridge, hair dryer and make-up mirror. My Blue Hotel offer a lounge area to relax, billiard, darts, equipped open gym and a little Spa with 2 cabins massage. There are different restaurants available for the Clients: MAIN BUFFET RESTAURANT that includes selection of Italian and international cousine with 7 evening themed dinners "MWEZI" BEACH RESTAURANT at extra charge: open from 10am to 10pm offers snack menù , menù light and pizza. Seafood menu, lobster, sushi and sashimi are also available upon reservation. "ALI BABA" RESTAURANT at extra charge: sophisticated Indian, Arabic, Zanzibarian food served in a typical atmosphere comfortable seated on cushions, pool view surrounded by candlelight with opportunity to smoke traditional Shisha pipe. Open for dinner, reservation is required. Moreover it is possible to arrange all kind of excursions and we have a Diving Center where you can go diving, snorkeling, organize sunset cruise and other water activities. External medical service is available. Mastercard and Visa Credit Cards are accepted, 5% surcharge will be applied. Currency exchange is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your My Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myblue Zanzibar Boutique Nungwi
My Blue Hotel Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing