We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best paradise of Zanzibar”
Review of The Zanzibari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Zanzibari
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I spend few nights in The Zanzibari with my wife on our trip throught the Zanzibar Island. On our trip we were in few hotels, but only this one was absolutely perfect and looks like real paradise.

The hotel is very beautiful with smart details of pure kind of this country. All areas of hotel are very nice, comfortable, discreet and only for you of course :) Everytime was very easy to call staff, which were very polite and helpful (and this is sometimes problem in this country :)) and they help you with anything you want.

Restaurant of hotel is located in big local building and all tables are everytime perfectly prepare for lunch or dinner. For food next "star" for hotel management and staff, because food is amazing and services are like no other.

But the best thing (except very nice rooms) is the beach. The beach and pool area is the best in Zanzibar (and we saw a lot of them on our trip) and one of the most beautiful beaches where I ever been.

I recomend The Zanzibari for all travellers which want the best beach, service, food and accomodation in Zanzibar Island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

We are a familiy of 5 adults, and now in July 2013 we spent 7 days and nights at the lovely Zanzibari,- actually we extended our stay by 2 nights because it was so fantastic. The hotel is like a big tropical garden. The Frangipani Sea View Suite easily accomodated all 5 of us. Real luxury, nice and clean! Private pool ++. The staff was superb, always friendly and attentive, and although it is almost unfair to single out any one person in special, we have to mention Mr Rashidi,- thank you very much! Manager Paolo also did his very best to make our stay pleasant. Food was also splendid,- we never went anywhere else! We really loved it.
The only downside that you need to know about is that the beach, although beautifully white and sandy and wonderful to walk along and to watch the sunrise from, isn't really very good for swimming,- then again very few beaches on the north eastern side are, due to tidal changes of sea level. This is more than compensated for by the pools and jacuzzis within the hotel area!

Room Tip: Go for the Seaview Suites Frangipani where you have a whole house directly at the beachside for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank per erik e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Its a boutique hotel, very calm and relaxing with a staff "smiling all the time"! We have stayed in one of the two Frangipane suits which was fantastic! A very good choice for honeymooners. :) The chef has a fabulous taste in making food, they were all yummy !
Staff is very friendly and do their best to make you comfortable. They are very lovely people even sometimes they get anxious unnecessarily that they would do wrong.
Try the coctails, they are very well made, very tasty :)
By the end of June, season just starting, there are a very few people, so if you want romance away from people, its a very good time to go! Just a quick tip: Get out and explore Nungwi village, definately go to spice tour, for Stone Town, I recommend you explore by yourself. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YAGMUR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed at Zanzi 2 nights and wished could have stayed longer! Liked everything about it. As someone who travels around the globe and enjoys hotels normally but always has a comment...this one is just perfect. Manager Paolo gave me a good deal, staff was very friendly (john the best waiter I saw last 5 months, thx John!) food amazing, clean, loved the warm afternoon cookies and so on and on...first time that i write a review but so well deserved!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at Zanzibari with my family for four nights in July 2013 and had a truly wonderful experience. For me it was the attention to detail, the excellent and helpful management (led by Paolo) and all the staff were very good and the clean rooms, clear blue water and private area to sunbathe. The food was fantastic and management organised a personal masaai traditional song and dance with a meal around the fire place for the family to celebrate our honeymoon. I would highly recommend this Hotel and wish them all the best for the future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

In hotel Zanzibari we spent with my girlfriend a week after Safari in Tanzania, and I can say that we are well rested. I resort set in a large and beautiful garden, where you can browse and relax.Beach was amazing and we had plenty of privacy for themselves, including the excellent service from the staff was always professional, friendly and fast.
On the beach are several smaller whirlpools and larger pool with a bar. We had a wonderful honeymoon room with a private pool, girlfriend was very surprised when I woke up her the morning of her birthday with a big welcome puget their favorite roses which are then lined the path to the pool, where we drank a bottle of your favorite champagne. Staff can also arrange everything you need.Food was perfect, had a five-course dinner and a good cocktail.

I would recommend this hotel to all who love harmony, relax, exclusive services.There were young couples on their honeymoon,families with children, pensioners devoted to reading, everyone will come into their own, while you are not disturbed, in a huge complex moves maximum 25 people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Přemek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

i have been at The Zanzibari for few nights, such a place! Perfect located right on the beach, infinity pool, pool bar and amazing cocktails... The staff, especially Rashidi and Nzore were always around and helping with all our requests... The new manager Paolo, Italian guy, was just superb... always smiling, full of power and information... cant ask for more... Had a dinner with him and was really a lot of fun, nicve african stories and experience... He loves Africa!
the service staff, jonny and Rashid were very professional and never made any mistake with our orders... Food delicious and well presented! The chef is and artist...
i reccomend to all to stay at The Zanzibari as a perfect place to relax and enjoy life and new friends...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,759 reviews
1 mi away
Flame Tree Cottages
Flame Tree Cottages
#16 of 19 in Nungwi
233 reviews
1.4 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#8 of 19 in Nungwi
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zanzibari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zanzibari

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 10437, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £113 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zanzibari 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibari is located in Nungwi on the northeastern tip of Zanzibar. Set above the beach on a low coral cliff with easy access to the sea you are offered privacy, peace and tranquility while taking in the stunning views of the Indian Ocean. The hotel has many high quality facilities, including our infinity pool, spa and famous Dhow Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Jovago.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Zanzibari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zanzibari Hotel Nungwi
The Zanzibari Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing