We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Zanzibari
Nearby Hotels
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$447
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$295
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$535
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$788
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
258
65
22
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
65
22
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrangipani suitelow tidesmall hotelprivate poolspice toursand beachnungwi villagethis wonderful hotelevery mealsea urchinsdecorated with flowerscleaning staffstone town tourwe loved our staymain beachour honeymoonbeautiful garden
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I went to Zanzibar 26th April 2014 hotel is a 60 minutes drive from the ferry when I arrived my room was ready and dinner was ready they service a course meal small portions but very very tasty also the manger asked me if I have any dietary requirements and I told him that I am on a gluten free diet so they made me gluten free toast every day
There was a problem with electricity in my room so we slept 1st day with out any electricity and so no AC
Second day manger told us that there was a problem with building electricity and upgraded us to suite the suit is amazing right on beach very nice furniture much nicer then our original room very relaxing view
The beach is nice to walk on but not for swimming and no snorkeling or diving on site so if you want to do anything else except lay around in the pool or in front of beach all day then you have to book snorkeling or diving
The manger and the staff were excellent very friendly people.
So if you are staying for a longer time I would advice you to book some activities because there isnt much to do in hotel

Room Tip: Suite is far better then room and can take up to 5 people
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aya_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights as an extension option to a VJV holiday. The journey from Stone Town took about 90 minutes by road and gave us the opportunity to see more of the island and its activities.
At the hotel we were given a lovely welcome by the manager, Mrisho. He like the rest of the staff was very friendly, attentive and considerate throughout our stay. He worked hard and was an asset to the hotel.
The grounds are attractively landscaped and well maintained. The seaward edge, overlooking a small cliff, is covered in deep sand so whilst there is not a traditional beach, it feels very much like one. The site is dotted with different types of beach furniture (loungers, seats, hammocks, sunshades etc).
The view over the sea is beautiful. The water is relatively shallow and warm. When the tide is low or out, it is possible to walk some distance along the coastline and out to the sea edge. However, due to the large number of sea urchins, it is advisable to wear beach shoes for both activities. The swimming pool is an adequate size for a leisurely swim and is clean and warm.
Our accommodation was clean and comfortable. It was replenished daily with fresh water and towels.
All the food was fresh, well prepared and presented. The choice of foods at breakfast and lunch was limited. This was fine for a few days but could have become monotonous for any longer. The five course dinners were varied and the food was excellent. The bar, whilst expensive, had a good selection of local beers, African wines and International spirits.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MgtAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were a group of 19 people who stayed at The Zanzibari 9 days in February.

The hotel is nice, with a beautiful garden and great room.

Facing the sea but it is bad for bathing because of tides and lack of beach.

The location is far from the most important attractions of the island which provides increased travel time on excursions.

The service at the Restaurant could clearly be improved as we experienced it. Part of the reason was probably that it is a small hotel and that they were not accustomed to deal with large groups.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We spent a short holiday here (Feb 14) which was perfect due to the hotel staff, the cuisine, location and facilities. Everyone from the gardeners to the manager gave full attention to ensuring all guests had the perfect holiday. Nothing was too much trouble and many things were a lovely surprise. The food was amazing and I'm sorry we never saw the chef to personally congratulate the kitchen staff on the wonderful 5 course dinners. There was forethought to little touches such as providing a beach basket in our room to take sunscreen and bits to the pool/beach area. Lounging on the sunbeds; swaying gently in the hammocks; paddling in the sea at low tide or swimming in the hotel pool... the perfect relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We had a suite from where you could see the sea. Idyllic for that something special!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We spend 6 days over Christmas time at the Zansibari and can conclude it in a few word, " wonderful holiday, with superb service and excellent food.
We stayed in one of the rooms in the main building with a garden and Ocean view. The rooms are spacious, bathrooms are large with a nice terrace. Housekeeping done a terrific job and surprised us every day with new towel- sculptures on the bed.
The best about this hotel is the size and private touch because every guest feels very welcome , the staff really focuses on an excellent service experience and almost a relationship building. We got to know all staff personal and each of them was extremely nice, always smiling and very caring.
The chef cook and his performance was fantastic, especially the sea food dishes and dinners were amazing. Fresh, quality see food with interesting and very well matching side dishes and or arrangements.
We already miss the place and would certainly return back to the Zansibari.
Last word goes to the mangers and all staff, they made this holiday an experience and took care of us on any occasion and throughout the entire stay and made the holiday very special.


Patrick & Andrea

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews