We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great pool, great staff, great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Me and my wife spent 3 nights here on our honeymoon. The resort is very beautiful but what was really impressive to us was a few things that stood: the food here is probably some of the best in Zanzibar, and that's saying something because its all served buffet style. The pool is excellent and has a great pool bar serving drinks and delicious pizzas all day. The staff were quite simply amazing to work with, everyone from Abdul at reception to the manager who came to personally great us after we checked in to make sure everything was in order. The security is very good and makes sure the local beach boys that are very common in Zanzibar do not trouble residents. Two things to keep in mind before you stay here: the dive center on site is poor (we had probably the worst dive trip ever) and I would suggest you use a different dive center if you are staying here. Second the Nungwe beach is not much of a beach although when the tide rolls back, you can walk all along the coast as local Zanzibaris fish for octopus and crabs. If you're looking for a nice beach, I would stay at Kendwe instead (however we didn't find a hotel of this calibre in Kendwe).

Room Tip: there are very few sea view rooms but we enjoyed our pool side room which had a view of the sea in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhatinda281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

I have just came back from a trip in Zanzibar. I stayed at Double Tree, I really recommend this place to anyone looking for a bit of paradise. The hotel is idealy located in front of a very nice beach (fantastic sunset), with a huge well kept garden and a nice swimming pool. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and well decorated. The food is great with delicious breakfast and dinner buffets.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kende972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were two out of six guests during low season and we almost had TOO much service;) They were so nice and gave us a good deal as well. We had been staying at a quite dirty place before coming here so we were ecstatic. Nice beds, clean rooms, LOVELY food and the beachboys (selling stuff and trips) were not allowed to hustle us which was nice.

So, if you are going to Zanzibar during low season I really recommend a few relaxing days here.

Room Tip: Super clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annoeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This is a bit of a disappointment, especially given it's a Doubletree (or maybe that's par for the course). There is minimal to no service - no-one offered to help us with our luggage when we first arrived and this permeated to virtually all parts of the hotel. One of my friends who had stayed here previously reported similarly, including a bizarre incident which I'll recount at the end.

The food is overpriced and average - go left along the beach and after a while you'll find no shortage of restaurants. Even the next door hotel has a better restaurant. They do have a decent recreation program if that does it for you, easy to feel like you're on holiday after a game of table tennis I suppose.

The rooms are small and old and the bathrooms are a bit unwieldly with showers that spray outside of the recess and get half the floor wet.

The only saving graces are its seafront location and an outstanding pool.

Word of warning - there are no ATMs nearby as per the entire area so prepare for that.

My friend actually gave the waiter a tip and said "could you please split this with the cook". The waiter took the tip and left, and then later returned to say to my friend "Actually I've thought about it long and hard, and I'm not going to give any to the chef. He won't know any better and I deserve it all. I'm going to go and spend this on myself". Just in case you might think that might trigger better service, after he ordered two beers, the waiter was bringing them back to his table when another guest asked for a beer - so the waiter just gave him one of the two and brought my friend just the one... fairly representative of the service you might expect.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divvy_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Spent two nights at this resort with friends, having only booked rooms 24hrs prior to arriving. The drive up to the resort is quite rough and uninviting, but once beyond the gates this resort is a blissful place. Tastefully decorated in a manner that reflects Africa and the Indian Ocean, but comfortable enough and with the right amenities to make it feel like home.

Welcome at reception desk was warm and front office staff were very helpful throughout our stay. Rooms are comfortable and well sized, with well equipped bathrooms. Breakfast is plentiful (though the numerous flies at the open-air restaurant can be quite annoying - sit under a fan!). The pool-side area is relaxing and the bar quite nice to chill at. Though be aware drinks can easily take 30mins to be prepared! There's a small bar on the beachfront for evening cocktails / drinks and shisha as well. For the business-minded, there's a decent business centre with reasonably fast internet access, though wi-fi in the rooms can be a bit of a pain (not always accessible inside room).

Finally, don't miss the sunset from the beach!

Room Tip: Ask for pool + beach view rooms on 2nd or 3rd floor! (but no lifts..)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I dont think anyone on earth could fault the location of the hotel and the weather of Zanzibar. Unfortunately the hotel itself left us in complete wonderment, as never before have I paid so much for a hotel room $00+ per night, and recieved such poor service and lack of "Hilton" brand.
There is only one retastuarnt - an it's buffet or nothing. They try to sell the pool bar - with it's hundreds of flies as a restaurant, and an area above the restaurant (4 tables) as al la cart...but we werent convinced. As for the rooms, whilst clean and spacious (we had a suite) there is no mini bar, the power is intermittent, and the tv is unreliable at best. As for service - forget pool side service, we struggled to just get a towel from them. If you need a drink anywhere be sure to order an hour before hand as things seem to be on a whole other time zone.
In summary, we loved our stay, but for the price we paid, Ive had better value in travelodges...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theblondedahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The moment we stepped into the foyer we were greeted with food, drinks and kind smiles. The Hotel manager Stanley greeted us himself, he showed us around the picturesque hotel and excitedly explained the plans he had made for our wedding the following day. Anything we wanted or needed was no trouble at all, we felt like royalty. The bouquet of red roses, not common in Africa was organised to be ferried in from the main land; backpacking I wasn't able to carry the essentials that I needed to do my hair for the big day, i was walked by a staff member to a nearby hairdresser to borrow everything i needed. The foolish request of a 2:30pm wedding (for the good lighting in the photos), was no trouble to reorganise the photographer and celebrant to a sunset ceremony so that i didn't die from heat exhaustion, or have my makeup run in my dress. We awoke on the big day to a chopping sound, we looked out to see a man metres high up in a palm tree cutting down the palm leaves; we watched 8 staff spend 3 hours platting and trimming and building a huge gazebo from the leaves and flowers for the ceremony. Stanley continued to surprise us with flowers and food and 6 traditional Masai Warriors to give the most authentic African wedding experience. Then a romantic 4 course candlelit seafood dinner! We truly could't ask for a more magical time, a more romantic setting or better more personalised service. We felt like we were the only ones at the Resort! After 3 weeks of being violently ill, I felt rested, safe, calm and taken care of. Thank you Stanley and Doubletree staff, you made my dream wedding come true, forever indebted, Melissa and Justin

Room Tip: you receive a huge discount for booking 3+ months in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#4 of 19 in Nungwi
655 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,112 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
1.6 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £126 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing