We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, needs a facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Yorktown, NY
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old hotel, needs a facelift”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here for two nIghts because we got a great price, $130 total a night with breakfast. BUT, the food was awful, rooms old, towels torn, and the floor in the rooms were red and wore off on your feet and socks. The bed sunk in in the middle. The ac was noisy. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCookie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear NYCookie3,

thank you for the effort taken to share your experience with us.

I'm sorry that we didn't met your expectations. I hope that overall you will keep a good memory
of your Africa Trip!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    517
    168
    67
    39
See reviews for
281
739
89
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I would just like to commend the staff and management for the excellent service I received during my stay at the Double Tree Hilton (Zanzibar). The food and the service was exceptional and the staff made it a very special holiday for all of us. I have recommended The Double Tree Hilton to friends that have booked for December and I look forward to my next stay. Many thanks , Laura

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Laura M,

it was a pleasure to have all of you with us!
Thank you very much for the praise and we are grateful to welcome your friends soon.

Hopefully we don't have to wait too long to welcome you again!!

Sunny regards from Zanzibar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

There are some really fabulous Zanzibar resorts. The Doubletree Zanzibar might not be one of the top resorts, but it does have its upsides. The standard is somewhat of an average Hilton standard. The bathrooms are in need of a small touch-up, and a modernization of the rooms would be welcomed but a part from that there’s not that much negative to be said about the rooms. Your room is covered in fresh flowers every day, and the beds are large and comfortable. The pool area is nice, and there is a bar sunken down to the level of the waters edge so you can order up drinks while swimming. Beautiful white sand lines the ocean side of the resort. At night they offer dinner on the beach, grilling fresh fish and serving a buffet of international and local cuisine. It is romantically lit by fire and candles, and a not so romantic intrusive florescent flood night (please Doubletree, kill the neon.)
The road leading up to the resort however is so bad one might assume one is being kidnapped rather then taken to one’s hotel. But no worries, you get there eventually, assuming you’re in a SUV.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModernTravellerCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear ModernTravellerCom,

Thank you for your nice review! After almost a year after your visit being still positively in the memory is taken as a praise :-)
Good news: we have killed the big neon light on the beach!!!

All the best and Karibu!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I think the hotel is really nice. Some misunderstanding when book rooms. It says Ocean view so we thought we actually got rooms at the beach with Ocean View while in fact it was the name of the rooms. So it would help guests when ordering that it actually explains the meaning of "Ocean view" and "Sea View".

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
3 Thank Solveig Solheim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Solveig Solheim H,

thank you for the great review and bringing up a difficulty that you have experienced.
It is really hard for us to describe our categories and we have tried by naming them after
their location. Meaning that from the Pool/Ocean View Rooms you can see the sea while the Ocean Facing Category is directly located at the beachfront.

We are grateful that you have enjoyed your stay! Hopefully it is in your mind to visit us again!

Sunny regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We booked at the Doubletree due to my Hilton Honors membership. It is a lovely resrot very difficult to find through the small windy and bumpy raods of Nungwi Village, about an hour by car from Stonetown. The resort is lovely, right on the beach with plenty of beach chairs and a refreshing pool. The staff was great (except for the front desk lady who wanted to charge me $6 to call a cab, I did not accept). They offered free wahili lessons and a village tour too. The food was local cuisine. They had fresh coconut milk and water availabe (free) when they prunded the palm trees.

The only con was the distance to the airport and Stonetown - about a $70 USD cab ride that takes an hour. It was fine for us since we only wanted to stay on the beach. The local village had a few restaurants that were walking distance so we were not confined to the resort.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 3rd floor facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_law71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Ali_law71,

thank you for the positive review and the effort taken to share your experience!
It is always a pleasure to welcome our Hilton Hhonors Members even in secluded locations as we are one.
That implies already one of the shady sides as you have described it is an effort to reach out to us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to hopefully welcome you again!

Karibu sana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is a high class hotel. We stayed for three nights during our honeymoon and really didn't want to leave. They greet you with a smile, a very tasty cookie and a cold drink. And the high level of service never stops until you check out. Since we mentioned we're on our honeymoon we got free bottle of wine, a fruit basket, a cake and free massage. Couldn't dream of better attention.
I imagine some of the other hotels nearby are even more luxurious, but for us, this hotel was as luxurious as they come, with all amenities necessary for a wonderful vacation.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are no-doubt worth it - excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Ori P,

great to hear from thank you for your review. After several month it's a good sign that we are still in your memories.

All the best to both of you!!!
Hope to see you again for the first anniversary :-)

Sunny regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hi,

We've stayed 8 nights at the Double Tree and I'm writing this review on our last morning over here. All in all our stay was very good. We chose this hotel as my wife is six months pregnant and we wanted a certain standard which we definetly got here.
The rooms are very sizeable with a very comfortable queen bed and everything you would expect in a room. Wifi was amazingly fast and I could even do a online based global conference call with 80 participants on our first day. (Yes I had to work for one day..how sad is that? ;-) ). The hotel's IT Manager was very helpful and spend some time on my laptop to improve the speed of the internet connection further. So I was very impressed by that personalised and dedicated service and the very fast speed of the wifi connection.
The breakfast is quite good with freshly baked croissants, pan cakes, omelettes etc. Juices are freshly squeezed and there is a very nice selection of local fruits. The coffee we've had here was without a doubt the best coffee I've had in a hotel and trust me I've travelled quite a lot around the world. I've asked for the name of the coffee and we will buy it in Stone Town as we want to enjoy the taste of Zanzibar back at home as well.
The staff is just excellent. They always greet you friendly and have a great smile. It's difficult to pick out anyone and hard to remember all their names. So thanks to all of you guys, but in particular to Jumaa, Bertha, Abdul Mohamed, Ali (bell boy) etc.
Dinners were delicious. There was always a great variety of seafood, curries, pasta, salads, beef etc. and the staff is very flexible and does the cooking according to your little special requests. Desserts were also very nice. On certain days the dinner would be at the sand beach, which made it much more enjoyable and romantic.
The pool is well maintained, clean and has a good size.
The "hotel" beach is not very big, but at this time of the season it was big enough to have sufficient privacy.
The public beach is also very nice and there is low and high tide every day, which provides a great variety. During low tide you can do a jogging or walk out and collect things and during high tide you can have a nice swim in addition to the pool. The local beach boys offer a lot of activities in addition to the hotel's standard arrangements. So you can do quite nice deals through them, but sometimes they can also get on your nerves.
We did a couple of snorkeling and scuba diving tours. Compare the prices as you can achieve quite a discount.
The hotel has also a nice spa, which one of the othere hotel guests from Scotland used. She really enjoyed it. We used the "local" massage facilities and they offer you a great bargain, excellent massages and it also helps the local community.
The hotel is located in the local village "Nungwi", which has only a few shops. It's nothing for great shoppers. Those have to go to Stone Town, which is about an hour drive from Nungwi. So this hotel is a great place for people who want to be in a quite place, which is exactly what we were after.
There is a also the local mosque close by for those who would like to pray with the local community (2-3 min walk). As Zanzibar's population is 95% Muslim, you can expect the food to be halal. Unfortunately, the hotel offers also bacon, but if you speak to the staff the make sure that your food is cooked in separate utensiles. Perhaps the newly appointed and very very friendly Foods&Bevarage Manager can consider whether really bacon has to be offered in the hotel. There are so many guests who don't eat pork and I'm sure thet staff would also prefer not to handle pork. Above all, there is soo much other food choices available so it wouldn't harm anyone not to eat it for a week. The seafood you offer is fresh and so much healthier anyway.

Room for improvement:
The gym is a joke. Very tiny and with equipment which pose a health hazard. I was very disappointed. In fact the gym was one of the reasons we had booked this hotel.
The pool tables are not even. So when you play the balls roll into the middle. Not very amusing when you are trying to play properly.
There are no balls for the pool to play with the other guests in the pool.
Also there is a great beach and we coudn't play any beach volley as there was not ball offered. I asked several times. It really doesn't take a lot to source a beach volleyball. Very disappointed about that as well.
Also we couldn't find any board games, which you would also like to play during a beach holiday.
There is noisy chats in the morning at around 7-9am when I believe the staff prepares in their staff quarters for their working day. Their staff building is behind the hotel rooms, which is great to see that the hotel offers its staff accomodation, but perhaps they can be made aware to be a bit quiter in the morning. But that's really the only complaint I would have about the staff.
The bar's music in the evenings could do with some better choices.

So as said at the beginning, all in all it's a great, calm hotel with excellent staff and brilliant food. With the few improvements on the equipment mentioned above, it could become an amazing hotel, which I'm sure the manager will sort out soon as I believe the management is striving for excellence.

Actually, we've just changed our flights with Turkish Airlines to Sunday morning so that we can stay 2 days extra in Nungwi. Precision Air was also very flexbile in changing our flights with no extra fees charged. So we'll probably stay in the Double Tree for two more days as it was just a very nice holiday, especially with my beloved six-months pregnant wife.

Best regards from Ufuk and Fazilet from Turkey....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UfukFazilet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Ufuk & Fazilet,

thank you so much for the praise! I know the staff will really much appreciate reading your review.
I can only repeat what you have said already as we know our weaknesses. Our new gym equipment has left the US and is on it's way although the shipping may take some time.
our staff is actually well aware that the guest rooms are very close and we will surely repeat our reminders of quiet preparation in the morning hours!

Your are going now to your last night in Nungwi and I wish you another pleasant one.
See you tomorrow morning!

Ahsante sana!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,087 reviews
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
1,019 reviews
1.4 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing