We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is about an hour's drive away from Stone Town with some dirt tracks and some very bad humps along the way, but once you get there you forget about all that! The big wooden gates were opened as we approached the entrance and the reception to the hotel looks brilliant. We were greeted by smiles and plenty of hi's/hellos/jambos. We were given a hot cookie and a tasty little glass ice tea as we waited for the check in procedures.
The rooms were fantastic, with fresh flowers being put on the bed everyday, and room service which was a little bit early for my liking but I do like a good lie in and I did not make use of the signs for outside to let them know we did not want to be disturbed.
The hotel itself is was beautiful, and well equipped. We stayed in a twin room, in which we had three people staying so we asked for another bed. The single bed was sturdy and looked relatively comfortable. The bathroom was clean and spacious, with proper hot water (the first time in 5 days I managed to have a proper shower). The room itself had a TV in it, and a small balcony with seats for two people. The view from the balcony was amazing, with a good view of the private beach, the pool, as well as the rest of the hotel.The beach was a dream come true, breakfast was pretty damn good, and the facilities were nice.
The best aspect of this hotel were the staff. Quite possibly some of the friendliest staff on earth, everyone smiling and greeting you well. They always arrange little things for everyone to do (we played a football match against some of the others staying at the hotel on the beach).
The surrounding area is very non-touristy and that just adds to the charms of the hotel, and you feel like you have found a diamond in the middle of the nungwi desert :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbidAfinwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear AbidAfinwala,

thank you so much for the top rating with your review.
We are pleased that you are extremely satisfied with your stay!!

We hope to welcome you again!!

Karibu sana!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

if you like all inclusive and don't want to live what zanzibar is, then is your place.

No traditional food and anything special at this place, you can find the same on any other hilton around the world

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Corleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Alex_Corleone,

sorry to hear that you had different expectations from our property.

Yes we are an international hotel in the four star category and we are
not copying the real life of Zanzibar which is the life in a third world country.

On our lunch and dinner buffets you might have missed our East African Pots
which are showing the local dishes of the region.

Anyway I would like to thank you for your contribution to the community!

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Resort is located at the north tip of the island with a beautiful view of the sea and traditinal fishermen ships. You can watch the people from the nvillage fetching the daily catch from the ships while resting at the resort's oceanview area.
The cuisine is fantastic and a real multycultural experience. We had the all-inclusive package - used only the spa service as extras and were very pleased with the food and wine.
The room service excells and all staff is very helpfull an nice.
Great place for relaxation and a calm holliday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Popotniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Popotniki,

we are grateful that you had a great time at Doubletree Zanzibar!!!
Thank you very much for the review and sharing your experiences.

We hope to welcome you again.

Karibu sana!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Absolutely amazing and highly recommended!! Staff are the friendliest I have ever experienced. The beach is an absolute dream as are the facilities in general. Highly recommended for anyone searching for a get away in paradise. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank MS Chantelle Ja... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear MS Chantelle Ja... M,

thank you so much for the great review. We are extremely happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
And of course it would be a great pleasure if we can welcome you again.
Hopefully soon!!!!

Sunny regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay with the activities and amenities offered. Extremely close to all attractions and other hotels. Perfect location and excellent staff. Food services were highly satisfactory. We were on an all-inclusive package which was certainly nice but would have been fine without since there were ample of options around the resort. Make sure you explore the nearby places for food and activities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Smitesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Smitesh B,

thank you so much for the great review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay!!!
It's a great idea to engage the community to explore other establishments in our surrounding.

All the best!!! and hope to see you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We recently spent a few nights at the hotel. The setting is out of this world, it really is beautiful and very tranquil. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Lovely pool and deck chairs overlooking the sea. The rooms are a bit old and they could do with a touch up. Dinner and lunch was really good, however the Breakfasts were not up to scratch for the amount you pay and would suggest going to eat breakfast elsewhere in the village. You have one guy trying to make pancackes and eggs for everyone (The eggs taste like pancakes as they are made out of the same frying pan) and the options are very limited. Food is incorrectly labelled and tasteless for breakfeast. The hotel is a bit quiet and would not recommend for younger couples (we got a bit bored). The entertainment and music at the bar at night is non-existent and you need to go to the restaurants and bars along the coast. No hotel transfers they will organsie for you at 70 us dollars which is the going rate but you would think the hotel would offer a service or at least discounted rate to get to them.

Room Tip: Book a room on level two or three overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear SaLouise,

thank you very much for sharing your experience and also for your hint in regards
to the breakfast buffet. We are in the process of widening our variety but in a third world
country the organization of a supply chain is one of our daily challenges.

As mentioned in other reviews before, the transportation has to be executed by our partner
company and our aim is to provide a steady and high quality service.

We hope to welcome you again!!!

Sunny regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Situated on the pristine Nungwi Beach of Zanzibar, this Hotel is all name with no fame. Approach road to the Hotel is full of little swimming pools (read: potholes) which test the off-road capability of your vehicle. Rooms are generally not ready when you arrive. If you are feeling thirsty upon arrival, the Hotel will charge you for a "welcome glass of water" while you wait for the rooms to be ready. Food might have a cockroach (just like our Jozani Veg Curry!) and the staff will neither acknowledge nor apologise. "This can happen anywhere" is the comment from this Hotel's F&B Manager! Rooms have a strange red-paint on the floor that clings to your feet as it was in love with them. Breakfast is exactly the same every day - I mean EXACTLY. No variety to pamper your taste buds. And for the Vegans, this Hotel is a tough luck. No Vegan food choices at all. Worse - beware that the staff may ask you get salt and pepper for them. Be prepared to serve and not be served. Hotel's General Manager is on a trip - refuses to meet leave alone acknowledge a problem. Last but not the least - take at least an hour, if not more, for check-out formalities. In-room dining or Restaurant bills will be missing but you will be asked to pay! Is this really Hilton? or Hell-ton?

Room Tip: Choose a room that has no red-paint on the floor. There are few rooms that face the Indian Ocean - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deejay1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear deejay1973,

I'm sorry to read that you were this unsatisfied with our property. Anyway I would like
to thank you for choosing Doubletree by Hilton Zanzibar.

All the best to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,755 reviews
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
678 reviews
0.8 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#8 of 19 in Nungwi
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 174 in Zanzibar Island
541 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,828 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £80 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing