We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$381
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$535
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$460
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$788
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,737)
Filter reviews
1,737 results
Traveller rating
803
609
193
83
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
803
609
193
83
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treepool barfisherman's grillall inclusive packagedifferent themestone townfront desk managerbeach frontlow tidelocal villagebeach boysspecial thankshotel groundsthe hotel managerocean viewevening entertainmentour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
917 - 922 of 1,737 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Chose the double tree as I heard the North is the place to be. Turned out to be the best choice we could have made. We were a family of 4 and had a fantastic time. From the friendliness of the staff, to the natural beauty of the surroundings all made for a wonderfull holiday. The trek to the South can get tiring so I would recommend a day or 2 in the South to get the Tours (Spice Tour, Stone Town Tour, Blue Safari tour) out o fthe way. Use the North for relaxing and other water sports activities.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Adnaan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_garoute, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Elena D

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the detailed comments related to your stay

We will definitely be acting on your observations and erradicate the cockroaches in the rroms; Africa offers a permanent challenge when dealing with pests but this a task that we relentlessly tackle and will continue to do so

We are happy that besides that inconvenience you had a great stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the future

Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We Loved this hotel and especially its staff!The best staff we've ever seen! Want be back! Only one thing keep us away: bad drainage in the shower and the couple of cockroaches, that we killed during our stay. Now are waiting for another couple of cockroaches from our suitcases : had this kind of experience last September from Sardinian 4* Hotel Capo Boi. Hope threre will not be the same again! By the way, I did not say about this problem to staff just because afraid of poisons and chemistry more then cockroaches. May be it's only my own problem, but I really hope that it will not be in the other hotel Doubletree by Hilton, which I certanly will choose for our next New Year trip because we realy loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_garoute, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Elena,

We thank you for bringing some of the roblems you encountered duriing our stay and which are quite commeom to this region of the world
We do endeavor to treat our rooms and fumigate for rodents regularly but it is quite impossible to eliminate; I want alos to stress that there is absolutely nothing to worry in terms of staff behaviour if you bring these issues to them or the management
However, we are pleased that it did not deter you from enjoying your vacation in the resort and look forward to welcoming you again

Sunny regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel is located in the best beach in Zanzibar and they have excellent services. It was a great choice to stay in Double Tree Nungwi !!! I loved the swimming pool with Bar and the hotel entertainment during my stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank diogo_donadoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_garoute, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Diego,

THank you for the very positive feedback; we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to a return visit

Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Beautiful hotel with a superb view. The staff of Hilton Doubletree always smile and are very helpful. We had four rooms during this period of our stay. In our one room the TV became faulty and it was replaced within minutes. All the rooms had a seaview. We got beautiful flowers in every room. Food and entertainment was good. We ate on the beach every second evening. People complaining is just looking for a reason to find fault. The village walk was special and very interesting. We had a wonderful holiday and will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ms Stacey Dantu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_garoute, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Mis. Stacey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Doubletrer by Hiltom Nungwi and are delighted to hear that you had a great time
I will pass on your comments to our staff to motivate them even further in providing the best service we can afford to our guests and continue improving in areas where we need to work harder

We hope to see back in Zanzibar soon and wish you a Happy New Year 2014

Sunny regards

Roland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I think the level to which one will enjoy their stay at Doubletree Nungwi depends very much on the expectations you have considering its part of the Hilton group and therefore its easily compared to other Hiltons, which is a standard it wont reach. If you have lower expectations and consider its in Zanzibar I think you'll be more inclined to enjoy the place for what it is, instead of comparing it with its other Hilton counterparts,

After staying there for 7 nights, here is my take:

The good..

1. Check in was fast and efficient, with the chocolate chip cookie being a nice added touch

2. The rooms are nice. However dont ever go for a pool room as you will have zero view and all the noise from the pool. The sea view rooms are a must. TV has a proper selection of channels and there is a well stocked minibar

3. The private beach is not directly linked to the main beach, but the benefit is that it keeps the hawkers away

4. The staff is very friendly, and tries hard to make your experience pleasant

The bad

1. The food is really not great. Especially if you re on an all inclusive package you will have plenty of meals at the Hilton and I found none of them standing out. Also i feel that hygiene is not great. You can always blame the flies on the climate but there are really better ways to handle this. Insect repellent, covered food and an aircon should help?

2. Although the staff is friendly, service can be lacking. We had to call house keeping several times as the room wasnt cleaned, towels were not delivered etc. Also when sitting at the beach or at the pool, service wont be great. We had days without someone asking if we wanted a drink/ food.

3. The pool is nice, but can be overcrowded with drunk and smoking people (in the pool!?) which really is not a great experience if you want to go for a relaxed swim

4. The aircon in your room can only be set to "freeze your balls off" and no other setting. This means you'll either sleep without aircon or have a guaranteed cold after a week. Dont expect any water pressure from the shower, although no issues with getting hot water.

5. What i found weird is that some very basic things were missing. The surroundings of Nungwi dont offer a whole lot to do next to the beach so one would expect a good fitness (this was truly a let down - pathetic), a tennis / basketball court, and maybe a game room. Next to the pool you have two disfunctional pool tables and two tables to play table tennis, but thats it. What we specifically found strange is that you couldnt even buy a ice cream at the resort and that the pop corn machine was out of the order for the entire week. Surely it cant be that hard to get ice cream and / or pop corn?

All in all, I am a bit mixed in my review of The Doubletree. I wouldnt say its bad, but surely its not great either. I think next time ill stay at a smaller hotel with better food.

Two more practical tips, if you dont go on an all inclusive package, expect to pay a lot for food. Zanzibar really isnt cheap. Next to that Nungwi is far from Stone Town. If you want to be active and make lots of trips, stay somewhere else as its quite remote.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SBO81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_garoute, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Steven,

I want to thank you for your constructive comments on your overall experience et the Doubletree by Hilton, Nungwi
We appreciate being made of the ares where we need to work harder and train our staff in order to improve our standards and raise the guests satisfaction level

The points you have made are valuable and legitimate and i Hope that you might take the opportunity to come back to Zanzibar one day and see the difference

The roudiness of some of out guests is somehow difficult to control and I understand that they might infringe on other guests' quest for peace and quiet; I am sorry if occasionally it was a disturbance for you

In the meantime, we wish you a very happy New Year

Sunny regards

Roland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews