We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,864)
Filter reviews
1,864 results
Traveller rating
862
652
211
85
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
652
211
85
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree pool bar fisherman's grill all inclusive package different theme stone town front desk manager beach front low tide local village special thanks beach boys hotel grounds the hotel manager ocean view our honeymoon evening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,864 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018

The hotel was fantastic! Safe and friendly, yet right next to the village. Took the walking tour, took a snorkle boat ride, spent time on the beach, got a massage - everything we were hoping for! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank michellerM9553AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

My overall Zanzibar experience was magical and the hotel added to that experience. Amazing buffet with a wide variety of food (all superbly delicious), sea-facing rooms with amazing views. Some days I'd just sit by the beach and read a book (cool drink from the bar in hand), other days I'd take a walk on the beach or go on a boat cruise (take off point was from another hotel within walking distance). The massage in the in-house spa was also awesome.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to Zanzibar visitors

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ade703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

The Road to the hotel is terrible. We received a warm welcome. Our room looked beautiful but there was a giant cockroach and a few more during our stay. Rooms need fumigating. The bathroom could do with more cleaning and a shower curtain.
The restaurant is beautiful but the food was not nice. Sometimes overcooked. It was not pleasant having cats roaming the restaurant. We suggested that boiled eggs should be made upon request as they had always turned colour due to being overcooked on display. Staff Martin Mtuta was very humble and polite. The staff at the beach could be more attentive. It felt as if they selected who to serve.
Overall great stay but more cleaning needed.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank FranBob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherif A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Franbob2, thank you for taking the time to review your holiday experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Nungwi, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. Allow me to apologize for any inconveniences caused, I have noted down your feedback and shared then with the team for rectification. On behalf of us all, we look forward to welcoming you back for a much better holiday experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

I came with my husband and 5 month old baby. Everything was perfect, I never was given a chance to complain everything was superb. As a diamond member there were some really good benefits afforded to me...so of the best out of the Hilton portfolio that I have stayed at. We were upgraded to a beach room, baby cot was inside on arrival...location and beach were great...good security and food is good

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherif A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Stacey, thank you for taking the time to review your holiday experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Nungwi, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your excellent feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back on future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We stayed in a sea view room right on the beach. The resort was very well maintained and all of the staff very smiley, friendly and welcoming. The waiting staff come around regularly to ask if you have everything you need and to clear any used items. The beach is beautiful and there is far less seaweed here than in other parts of the island.

The food was ample but not anything outstanding. There is a themed night each evening at the buffet so it is a little bit limited if you are not a fan of a certain cuisine and that happens to be the theme for the day. Having said that, there is a menu available from 1pm to 4pm to order from that is included in the all inclusive package that many people are unaware of. We were not informed but read it on a menu pinned to an umbrella so opted for this for lunch for one of the days, which was a welcome alternative to the buffet.

We opted for all inclusive but we found that the drinks menu was rather limited, such as the cocktail of the day not being included.

The pool was very quiet and the beach area a lot busier. There is a notice to say that any sun beds reserved for more than 20mins without use will have towels removed but this was not adhered to. There are lovely hammocks on one part of the beach which are great to relax in but people often put towels on them all day to reserve them which were not removed and so it was a challenge to get the chance to use them. It would be better to implement the bed reservation rule more forcefully and have a no reservation rule for the hammocks so that everyone can enjoy them.

Overall a lovely resort and would come back to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewer41289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherif A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Reviewer41289, thank you for taking the time to review your holiday experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Nungwi, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your valuable feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back on future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews