We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$481
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$535
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$789
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,735)
Filter reviews
1,735 results
Traveller rating
802
608
193
83
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
802
608
193
83
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treepool barfisherman's grillall inclusive packagedifferent themestone townfront desk managerbeach frontlow tidelocal villagebeach boysspecial thankshotel groundsthe hotel managerocean viewevening entertainmentour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
1,169 - 1,174 of 1,735 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2010

just too good...from staff , to service, to tasty food....great beach and pool...very peaceful and serene... Had an amazing anniversary ..

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakadsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Quick notes:

stayed there two nights. the facility is ok and nice. when saying nice, one must compare it with the counterparts in zanzibar (and not with the hiltons in western countries, which would be a disappointment). Yet, if I go to zanzibar again, I would not stay in this hotel.

good things: modern hotel in zanzibar.
the restaurant was also ok and nice.
they dont charge credit card commission unlike many other hotels in zanzibar.
the welcome drinks part is nice.

bad things: 1.the beach/sea of the hotel is probably the worst in nungwi. walk a bit toward the other facilities from the beach ( walk left when facing the sea) and you will see that all other hotels in nungwi have better seas, located in better places. this is not the fault of the hotel but a traveler willing to stay in this hotel should know about this. if you want to stay in your hotel and swim in front of your hotel all day long, then this is not the right hotel. if you want to use the hotel as your base camp and then visit/walk to the other hotels/beaches then it is ok staying in. but keep this in your mind, as it may be important.
2. We arrived to the hotel around 13.30 but had to wait for approx. 1.5 hours to check-in because our room was not ready, so we could check in around 15.00. from the very beginning we were told that our room would be ready in 10 minutes and I kept checking back in each 10 minutes but it never was ready!!.. we were tired and the time was passing and the weather was hot and this was the most unpleasant 1.5 hours we had in zanzibar! the smiling positive bellboy kept offering us cookies to calm us down when waiting and I should thank to him for doing so, because his smiling face made that 1.5 hours waiting time more tolerable. Yet, what happened was def. unacceptable. and if we were told that it would take 1.5 hours from the start then we could have had lunch but because we were always told "10 minutes, 10 minutes" we had to literally wait there and it was very unpleasant..

3. in tanzania we stayed in 3 hotels and the staff of this hotel was the worst. I mean, there are no specific terrible examples we experienced, but generally and in comparison to the other hotels in tanzania the staff was not very helpful, they did not really understand what we asked/said, they did not have sufficient information re the region and they were slow at various instances (the coke I wanted came literally 25 minutes after the order. the bread we asked never came, etc..)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YALIN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtzanzibar, Resort Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar.

We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We will review the processes within our Housekeeping and Reception teams to ensure what you experienced upon check-in is not repeated, this will also be incorporated into our training program. We do aim to keep our service standards to the highest levels possible, your comments will be shared and reviewed with all management as an opportunity to continue to grow.

Whilst we understand it is not always possible to be able to swim right from the beach at our hotel I would like to mention that we do also offer a pool within our resort and we encourage people to take advantage of the low tide and walk out to the sea – the marine life you can discover is amazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Having stayed at other hotels in ZNZ the doubletree by hilton is far superior in so many aspects. Here are a few of my points...
Cost alone is worth it, have stayed in other more than double the price of dbltree and cant compare.
The staff are awesome and so helpful and friendly.
The food is way better than other "good"resorts we have stayed at. Pizza at poolbar is nice, and they have shisha! Had room service, called and lady brought us the menu, food came quickly after we ordered. Had the buffet dinners on the beach and there was plenty of variety for all.
Pool and swim up bar is nice-however they could use more loungers by the pool. Security guard to keep hagglers away.
Zanzibar watersports is the dive center associated with hotel and they are great, had some lovely dives with them.
Our room was nice, on the beach and saw all the fishing boats coming in and out and kids playing on beach at sunset. Super comfy bed and free internet usage for my workaholic husband, They also have a kettle and tea and coffee in the room.
I def recommend this hotel and you just have to remember..this is africa!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBNCLTDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Just returned from a 4-day stay at the Doubletree with two friends after a safari and Mt. Kili trek. The rooms, value, location, and genuine friendliness of the staff cannot be beat! The rooms are updated and fresh, with the most comfortable beds around, decorated in a nice authentic Zanzibari style. The food was fantastic - (especially the grilled fish lunch special at the beachside restaurant - incredible!) The night we arrived, there was an African buffet dinner on the beach, complete with entertainment and delicious food. Cocktails (though a little pricey!) were made with fresh squeezed fruit juice and served with a smile. We used the on-site watersports company for scuba diving and snorkeling. They were a top-notch operation, very safe and provided us with a wonderful day trip out to Mnemba Atoll.

There are a few very minor glitches, but nothing that could possibly ruin your stay. The spa services, for one, were still being fine-tuned, and were certainly pricier than other areas on the island. That's to be expected, though, for an on-site spa. The low tide (which occurred in the morning during our stay), made ocean swimming impossible. Not the fault of the hotel, of course, and it's the same all over Nungwi. We used that time to do other things (walk on the beach looking for seashells, get spa treatments, enjoy cocktails at the pool).

I really can't say enough good things about this place --- there are relatively few reviews on Trip Advisor, so we were a little skeptical given the low price. Don't be! You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surdatedda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

The Hilton Zanzibar was exactly what I was looking for to spend 3 lazy days living a hedonistic life of lazing, drinking, eating, swimming, and sunbaking. At the northern end of Zanzibar, the Hilton is a world away from the hustle of Stone Town (which is also a lot of fun and only an hour away by taxi).

The pool is beautiful, complete with swim up bar and a decent range of snacks throughout the day. Prices for food/drink are very reasonable both poolside and in the restaurant. Dinners in the restaurant are a set menu (with choice) which I usually don't like but the food was of a good standard. You can finish off in the bar next to the restaurant with some drinks and a shisha. The rooms were brilliant with good a/c (not sure if that is in all rooms though) and fan. Bathrooms are large with good shower pressure and hot water. All tvs have the usual satellite channels for those escaping the sun. The bed is super comfortable which makes getting up in the morning that bit more difficult. Touts are not a problem as there are security guards which seem to do a decent job at keeping them away. Yes you drive along a bumpy path through a village for no more than 5 minutes to get to the Hilton, but this is Africa - villages are everywhere and if you have even a semi-open mind, you'll love the experience and feel perfectly safe. I found all but one of the staff to be super friendly and keen to help. Whilst they may not always get what you were after, they certainly try hard and are generally very good, complete with big smiles. The free wifi internet was very fast around the pool area and whilst most rooms should have coverage, ours did not - this just meant more time spent poolside for those moments of internet need! The beach was really nice with almost no seaweed (there are 2 months of the year worse than others but don't recall which - sorry!). Nungwi Beach to the west is a pleasant walk (best at low tide if you dont want the water up to your chest) and has a variety of bars and restaurants for alternative meal options.

Overall, I loved the place and would recommend it to anyone, particularly couples. Great value for money - you can pay a whole lot more for a whole lot less at many of the other resorts.

Hope others enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hurricane0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews