We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jambo Brothers Bungalows
Ranked #10 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Nungwi
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

After a great stay in Stonetown my friends and I ended up in what I can only define as a barn. We are rugged and experienced travelers, been to inhospitable, off the beaten track places but by far Jambo Brothers turned out to be the worst of the worst. First and foremost the rooms were not clean at all, full of sand, dirty and water. The beds smelled horribly, so horribly that it was nearly impossible to catch some sleep. We stayed a total of 2 nights. The first night was manageable but on the second night, the power cut out. Not a novelty for any of us, but the heat was not manageable in the least and we all figured out why the beds were so smelly. We were at this point bathing in our own sweat. In the morning we requested that our rooms be cleaned and sheets changed, came back to nothing. The staff loves to hang out, chat in Swahili (I knew what they were saying and they were being rude to visitors), fix fishing nets but seem to always forget that courtesy and a clean room are part of a hotel agreement with the customer.
Overall I would rate Jambo Brothers beyond horrible. We were treated like farm animals. We live in Kenya and know about African standards but even for those standards this was way sub-par. Unlivable. For a stretch...the place is good as the location is right near the beach...but as the previous reviewer pointed out...treat yourself to Baraka since it is only 10$ more per night and it is not a barn (AND they have a generator that works!).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonZap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    27
    29
    6
    9
See reviews for
4
24
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Unbelievably rotten situation where we landed. We booked 3 rooms, and at arrival the rooms were shown to us: first thing that caught the eye and nose was a load of bowel content covering the toilet and parts of the bathroom. Also one of the rooms did not have bed nets resulting in many mosquito bites that have to be scratched till blood pours out.
Electricity was off the whole first day and night, and the generator broken or non existing. No fan in the hot wet season equals no sleep, add this up to the fact that showering your sweat off is impossible, as it does not work without electricity. After a horrible night, hoping for the electricity to come back, it was raining for some hours on end. Resulting in a flooded bedroom in 2 of the 3 cottages. The second night there was electricity till 10 a clock. Then the night begun, with in the head the horrific night before. The rooms were not cleaned, so you had to lay down in your own oozed out dirt of yesterday. On top of that, the matrasses reeked as if people had been decomposing on it. Unable to sleep there I dragged my holiday celebrating but already tired body to the beach, i had a fairly good sleep there.
After the second night we did not want to stay the 3rd planned night, and did not want to pay 2 nights either. We told the manager the story, and we suggested to pay 1 night, which is already to generous i think. But they did not want that and so they started to be aggressive and nasty.
In the end we payed 1.5 day, just to get rid of the situation and the people.
NEVER GO HERE, relaxing impossible! Very unfriendly people running the place!
For 10-15$ per cabin more one can go to places near that are very very good. Baraka bungalows for instance.

Room Tip: Pay 5$ per person more, and get a 800% better place. Sleeping is often impossible here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbuzisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nungwi hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I have stayed here 4 times before. It is cheap and serves as a place to sleep...you wont be in there much of the day anyway!
Check the toilet flushes and the lights/fan works beforehand!

Barter and agree on a price beforehand, one that both you and the receptionist is happy with. MAKE SURE YOU ASK THEM TO WRITE THIS AGREED PRICE DOWN. I made the mistake of not doing this on one of my stays and they made me pay an additional 50,000Tsh at the end of my trip.

This is right by the beach and is a short taxi ride away from Kendwa Rocks (where there is a decent nightclub on weekends)

There is a supermarket selling western items nearby, as well as hairdressers and local cafes. There are good snorkelling trips as well. Get advice off who other tourists have been with first though!

I would recommend it as a place to stay! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rezdez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ankara
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed 7 days in Jambo brothers. There is two part in Jambo brothers. We stayed in better part which was 5 usd more than the others. So when you open the door sand and sea is just like one step ahead. In room there is fan and AC together. So you have two option. Electricity outage is comman there but is not stay long mostly. We had always water was not so strong but it was quite enough for your need. Friendly and helpfull staff. I can say room was very clear. We stayed room 17.and as i remember room 20 21 14 also in same condition. The picture from travellers i guess from the other side of the Jambo Brother as i never see this bad situation in my stayement. And if you stay this part you will make your breakfast in a very nice view. Breakfast i can say was not so delicous. They serve fresh fruit juice, pineapple mango banana and dry bread(which is not so tasty), margarin, and not so tasty jam. And choice of egg. It could be better.

Room Tip: we stayed room 17. As I remember 14 21 20 16 are same condition. But you can ask first 17 and if not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

A bit of a strange place. On the one hand, cheap and close to the beautiful beach but on the other hand you get a very modest accommodation. Payment in cash only, breakfast included but very repetitive. Payment in advance, so do not forget to see the room first and then complain about a little and a bargain. We spent a lovely six days on Zanzibar and JB treated as a place to sleep. On the first day we've fixed mosquito nets (silver tape, needle and thread), then cleaned up ... but unfortunately in the bathroom - nothing can be done. The property is run down but the beaches of Zanzibar, restaurants and attractions will reward you. Nearby is a diving school, two restaurants, shops and bars. In the village you can do some shopping, eat and use internet (internet cafe also with wi-fi). To Stone Town you can get dala-dala or catch aa taxi (one or two stand in the morning at the entrance). Money can be exchanged in the next DoubeTree by Hilton.
ps
Hide your stuff at night because JB is the only place during our four-month journey where our shoes stolen :(

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaczarowana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

I stayed at Jambo Brothers for 4 nights and 5 days. We negotiated the rent down to 35,000 tsh per night for a double bedroom, since we visited Nungwi in November, which is off season.

All the rooms come with attached baths, there's no hot water, but considering the sweltering heat, you don't really miss it.

The room is basic but considering what you're paying for accommodation so close to the beach, you can't complain. The tariff includes a simple breakfast, which isn't bad.

I'd say if you are looking for budget accommodation close to the beach, Jambo Brothers would be a safe bet. It's definitely one of the cheapest places on that stretch of beach and the rooms aren't bad. Each room comes with a porch, with lovely wicker chairs.

However the rooms at Baraka Beach Resort (on the beach) seem way nicer, but cost a little more. So if you can afford it, I'd recommend Baraka over Jambo.

Room Tip: Make sure you check if you're fan is working well before you accept a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel_c719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed in the more budget bungalows for 10 nights. We arrived agreed on a price of 55000 Shillings for 3 of us in a tripple room with an ensuite (a giant stretch of the word). We had beds that had wafts of urine and vomit and the bathroom was horrendous like comparable to something akin to a prison.

But saying all this if you were like us and had been traveling over africa for 6 months then this will no doubt be a massive upgrade for you.

Its in a really great location the manager was really nice to us and at 4am when one of my travel buddies needed medication he went and woke up the pharmacist and brought it back to the bungalows for us. They can also hand wash your clothes for a reasonable cost which was great! Wouldnt we all want to take an african washing mumma back home with us!

My last note is Nungwi is such a beautifull place and if your short on cash then why stay anywhere else but Jambo Brothers. Its Cheap & is in a fantastic location!

Room Tip: Always look at the room first and check if the fan works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean_1989-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Mnarani Beach Cottages
#14 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.0 mi away
GOasis
GOasis
#4 of 24 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jambo Brothers Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jambo Brothers Bungalows

Property: Jambo Brothers Bungalows
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Nungwi
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Jambo Brothers Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jambo Brothers Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Jambo Brothers Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing