We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located .....budget option”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nungwi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jambo Brothers Bungalows
Ranked #11 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Nungwi
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Choosing Nungwi was easy from the reviews and feedback received from fellow travelers as its one of the most beautiful beaches in Zanzibar.....where the water is pristine .....and the views are mesmerizing.....well we choose Jambo brothers as we were on a budget and the location and price suited us perfectly ....our room was 30 meters from the beach and it was like an extended part of the accommodation ....the bathrooms were clean and the room was of decent size with lots of space and comfortable bed....breakfast was included in our stay and they served some pretty good meals too.....i would definitely recommend it primarily because of its location.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget and need a place right next to the beach..this one is for you...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OSCARDAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

When we arrived there were no sheets, towels and not enough pillows for everyone. No toiletpaper, no soap and there were excrements in the toilet. Several spiders, moist and cockroaches. We asked the staff to get us what we needed, but it took a really long time before we got it. And then everyone didn't even get sheets and towels. When we were leaving, the staff pretended we had not made an agreement on what we were going to pay, which we had (we were six people who had all been a part of making the deal), and they threatened us to call the police if we didn't pay more. When we left, they were laughing in our faces and yelling "fu** you" after us. This is the worst place I've ever stayed, and I would NEVER reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank imarcussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Arriving to Jambo Brothers you are welcomed by the friendly staff who assist with your luggage to the room and offer their help any anyway they can.
The first room we were put in did not have an aircon and the toilet did not flush properly, upon pointing this out they quickly changed us to another room, that night our aircon did not work which called for a rather sleepless night. The next day we were changed again and couldnt have been happier with the rest of the nights sleeping in peace. The bungalows have all the basic requirements; bed, mosquito nets, en suite bathroom - just make sure you get a room with everything in working order!
It is locally owned therefore you cannot expect much as it is a pretty laid back island. If you are looking for something basic where most of your time will be spent on the beach and at the bars then this is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel-Afrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The rooms are basic (there are no closets) but they are fairly clean an have big beds. There was hot water every day of our stay (7 days) which is rare for this part of the world. There was no electricity between 8:00 and 9:00 pm so a torch comes in handy. The price is negotiable but you shouldn't pay more then 30 dollars a night. The location is great only about 100 meters from Hilton hotel. When you come out the door you have only a few steps in the sand to the amazing beach.
The receptionist was also very friendly and helped us with all our queries. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlitosJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

After a great stay in Stonetown my friends and I ended up in what I can only define as a barn. We are rugged and experienced travelers, been to inhospitable, off the beaten track places but by far Jambo Brothers turned out to be the worst of the worst. First and foremost the rooms were not clean at all, full of sand, dirty and water. The beds smelled horribly, so horribly that it was nearly impossible to catch some sleep. We stayed a total of 2 nights. The first night was manageable but on the second night, the power cut out. Not a novelty for any of us, but the heat was not manageable in the least and we all figured out why the beds were so smelly. We were at this point bathing in our own sweat. In the morning we requested that our rooms be cleaned and sheets changed, came back to nothing. The staff loves to hang out, chat in Swahili (I knew what they were saying and they were being rude to visitors), fix fishing nets but seem to always forget that courtesy and a clean room are part of a hotel agreement with the customer.
Overall I would rate Jambo Brothers beyond horrible. We were treated like farm animals. We live in Kenya and know about African standards but even for those standards this was way sub-par. Unlivable. For a stretch...the place is good as the location is right near the beach...but as the previous reviewer pointed out...treat yourself to Baraka since it is only 10$ more per night and it is not a barn (AND they have a generator that works!).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonZap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Unbelievably rotten situation where we landed. We booked 3 rooms, and at arrival the rooms were shown to us: first thing that caught the eye and nose was a load of bowel content covering the toilet and parts of the bathroom. Also one of the rooms did not have bed nets resulting in many mosquito bites that have to be scratched till blood pours out.
Electricity was off the whole first day and night, and the generator broken or non existing. No fan in the hot wet season equals no sleep, add this up to the fact that showering your sweat off is impossible, as it does not work without electricity. After a horrible night, hoping for the electricity to come back, it was raining for some hours on end. Resulting in a flooded bedroom in 2 of the 3 cottages. The second night there was electricity till 10 a clock. Then the night begun, with in the head the horrific night before. The rooms were not cleaned, so you had to lay down in your own oozed out dirt of yesterday. On top of that, the matrasses reeked as if people had been decomposing on it. Unable to sleep there I dragged my holiday celebrating but already tired body to the beach, i had a fairly good sleep there.
After the second night we did not want to stay the 3rd planned night, and did not want to pay 2 nights either. We told the manager the story, and we suggested to pay 1 night, which is already to generous i think. But they did not want that and so they started to be aggressive and nasty.
In the end we payed 1.5 day, just to get rid of the situation and the people.
NEVER GO HERE, relaxing impossible! Very unfriendly people running the place!
For 10-15$ per cabin more one can go to places near that are very very good. Baraka bungalows for instance.

Room Tip: Pay 5$ per person more, and get a 800% better place. Sleeping is often impossible here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbuzisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I have stayed here 4 times before. It is cheap and serves as a place to sleep...you wont be in there much of the day anyway!
Check the toilet flushes and the lights/fan works beforehand!

Barter and agree on a price beforehand, one that both you and the receptionist is happy with. MAKE SURE YOU ASK THEM TO WRITE THIS AGREED PRICE DOWN. I made the mistake of not doing this on one of my stays and they made me pay an additional 50,000Tsh at the end of my trip.

This is right by the beach and is a short taxi ride away from Kendwa Rocks (where there is a decent nightclub on weekends)

There is a supermarket selling western items nearby, as well as hairdressers and local cafes. There are good snorkelling trips as well. Get advice off who other tourists have been with first though!

I would recommend it as a place to stay! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rezdez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0 mi away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
0 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,124 reviews
0 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jambo Brothers Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jambo Brothers Bungalows

Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Nungwi
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Jambo Brothers Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Jambo Brothers Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing