We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and cheap but stupid manager” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jambo Brothers Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jambo Brothers Bungalows
Ranked #10 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Nungwi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good and cheap but stupid manager”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

It was a fine place compared to the price (It's possible to discuss the price). We had some problems with our toilet and shower, but we did not expect much since it was so cheap. There are many young people staying there, and it's close to everything.
The manager, Jimmy, told us that he wanted to help us book tickets for the ferry back to Dar, but he needed to give 20$ for the booking, and then we could pay the rest when we arrived to the ferry. When he came back he told us that everything was fine and he had made the reservation for us. The day we were leaving I had to make sure again, and then he told me that he had not booked any tickets and he came up with lots of stories. I asked him about my 20$ and he said they were in a hotel in Stonetown (where some of my friends were going to stay), and he had used the money to book the room at the hotel, and we would get the money in the reception. When we arrived to the hotel -of course- there were no money and when we called Jimmy again he said that the money was still in Nungwi with him. It was so sad that he cheated us like that, because besides that we were very happy with Jambo Brothers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    27
    28
    6
    9
See reviews for
3
24
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

For the price you pay, you can't really moan about it! $30 per night per room with nice big bed, fair size bathroom and generally clean.
We spent all day everyday on the beach which was a stumble outside the front door and was just everything as perfect as you can imagine.
Can't go far wrong really not too bad. Although try not to leave your stuff hanging on the line outside, we had a one pair of shorts pinched the one time we forgot to bring it in. No big deal though!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

cheapest place I could find(last week of travels..)
Very nice spot still, close to the beach, sweet owners: I was in sick for a day, they came asking if I was alright because I didn't show up for breakfast.
About the breakfast: nothing special. Rooms okay, not more than you need.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The rooms are bare, the pillows hard and breakfast leaves much to be desired but hey you are in Nungwi and practically on the beach for only $30 a night! You are paying for location here, no doubt about it. Close to the restaurant and bar strip, plus the massages, souveneirs, food and activities are all cheaper down that end too! Might I just suggest you may like to bring your own linen.....

Room Tip: Check the facilities before you agree to the room, our hot water never worked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allycat03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinshasa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Choosing Nungwi was easy from the reviews and feedback received from fellow travelers as its one of the most beautiful beaches in Zanzibar.....where the water is pristine .....and the views are mesmerizing.....well we choose Jambo brothers as we were on a budget and the location and price suited us perfectly ....our room was 30 meters from the beach and it was like an extended part of the accommodation ....the bathrooms were clean and the room was of decent size with lots of space and comfortable bed....breakfast was included in our stay and they served some pretty good meals too.....i would definitely recommend it primarily because of its location.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget and need a place right next to the beach..this one is for you...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSCARDAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

When we arrived there were no sheets, towels and not enough pillows for everyone. No toiletpaper, no soap and there were excrements in the toilet. Several spiders, moist and cockroaches. We asked the staff to get us what we needed, but it took a really long time before we got it. And then everyone didn't even get sheets and towels. When we were leaving, the staff pretended we had not made an agreement on what we were going to pay, which we had (we were six people who had all been a part of making the deal), and they threatened us to call the police if we didn't pay more. When we left, they were laughing in our faces and yelling "fu** you" after us. This is the worst place I've ever stayed, and I would NEVER reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imarcussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nungwi hotels

Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Arriving to Jambo Brothers you are welcomed by the friendly staff who assist with your luggage to the room and offer their help any anyway they can.
The first room we were put in did not have an aircon and the toilet did not flush properly, upon pointing this out they quickly changed us to another room, that night our aircon did not work which called for a rather sleepless night. The next day we were changed again and couldnt have been happier with the rest of the nights sleeping in peace. The bungalows have all the basic requirements; bed, mosquito nets, en suite bathroom - just make sure you get a room with everything in working order!
It is locally owned therefore you cannot expect much as it is a pretty laid back island. If you are looking for something basic where most of your time will be spent on the beach and at the bars then this is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-Afrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.0 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amaan Bungalows
Amaan Bungalows
#2 of 40 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baraka Beach Bungalows
Baraka Beach Bungalows
#28 of 40 in Nungwi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sazani Beach Lodge
Sazani Beach Lodge
#3 of 40 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jambo Brothers Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jambo Brothers Bungalows

Property: Jambo Brothers Bungalows
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Nungwi
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Jambo Brothers Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jambo Brothers Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Jambo Brothers Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing