We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We organized our wedding there this past month of December and everything was PERFECT! The food, the drinks, the service...The staff was very flexible and accommodating, they made sure to welcome every one of our guests with a lot of attention. Events were magical and were run very smoothly... During the day we hung out by the pool were you have a gorgeous view of the Ocean and the staff was taking care of our every single need.
The rooms are spacious and beautiful, even garden view rooms are super luxurious.
Must location if you are planning a wedding in Zanzibar, a romantic escapade or a family trip!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoubaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

The staff are all really friendly, breakfast is very substantial. We were on half board and although the menu does not vary much for the 5 nights we were there is was not too monotonous. the room and bathroom are very nice, we were in a detached garden view suite 32 which was very private and quiet. there are other suites that are one up one down, probably the sea view is up, but i think there is less privacy. There were a few things that I felt could be improved. Tea and coffee making in the room would have been good, a sofa which is comfortable rather than an uncomfortable sofa bed, not charging for water if half/full board was included, additional TV in the bedroom. The resort does not have a beach, the infinity pool somewhat makes up for this. The resort has a very romantic setting which is spoiled by the number of children running around the pool, it evidently caters to large families givven the number of self catering villas that are on site. it doesn't cut it for a romantic getaway, it does for a family holiday.

Room Tip: Room 32 was detached, private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raniSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Bon jour and compliments of the season from Essque Zalu Zanzibar,

We are thankful for your email and delighted to know you had a great time with us albeit the little concerns you have raised. We appreciate your constructive feedback and allow me to assure you that we will surely look into them and endeavour to sort them out ASAP. Thank you for letting us know on this.

The beach indeed is not swimmable as it is only accessible at low tide when all the sea water goes a long way out however, at high tide, it is one of the best spots to take a dip from the jetty area and all our guests have had a great time swimming from there. Not having a beach in the first place is a deliberate action from our owners as our aim is to run an efficient lifestyle hotel where guests come to enjoy the tranquil and scintillating moments they miss in their daily lives and to thoroughly enjoy the zen like ambience Essque Zalu Zanzibar offers.

The resort since its opening in June 2011 has increasingly become well known for Honeymooners looking to enjoy their precious moments of being together with their loved better halves, however on the other hand, we have also become well known to be a family resort where kids can be kids and also enjoy their holidays like their parents, and to ensure that they do not disturb other guests, we have an established kids club that plans the kids daily activities, keeping them occupied and entertained for the course ofthe day. Our sincere regrets for the inconvenience the kids playing and running may have caused you.

With thanks and warm regards,

Nicolas Konig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

We went there to celebrate a friend s weddind this december.
The resort is amazing, it s even better then the pictures we saw before coming.
On our first night we had diner at the jetty, it was an amazing experience and food was good.
Diving centers are 15mins away from the resort and you can also swim there ( zanzibar water sports), honestly the beach is nicer there because You can t really swim in the beach of essque since you have to wait for the tide all the time but the pool is amazing and very relaxing.
Staff was very kind.
Our room had a garden view, it was very clean and pleasant but it needs more light.
I highly recommend this boutique hotel for couples and families.
We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Bonjour from Unguja (Zanzibar)

We are sincerely grateful that you enjoyed your stay at Essque Zalu as part of the Rouba-Kadri wedding group. Your encouraging remarks are of great importance to all of us as it pushes us to deliver more and meet our guest's expectations.

As for the beach, it is only available at low tide when the water goes quite a way out leaving a flat sandy area for people to walk around and enjoy, while at high tide, our guests can take full advantage of swimming from the jetty where the sea level is above 3.5 metres and alternatively, we have a spacious salt-chlorinated infinity pool allowing guests to enjoy the sea water like ambience from the comfort of the pool or the jacuzzi built inside the pool.

Thank you once again and wishing you the very best for 2013!

Warmly

Nicolas Konig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

A piece of heaven on earth. An amazing setup, comfortable spacious rooms, impeccable service and a variety of restaurants and pub surely to meet your requirements and preference. Lovely evening live music to help you relax and unwind.

Spacious swimming pool with a relaxing Jacuzzi, lovely sand beach ideal for a nice jog during the period of low tide, a small gym and SPA where an active day could be ended with a nice relaxing massage.

The staff is professional, extremely hospitable, friendly and always serving with a smile.

Ideal for a detached, disconnected and relaxing holiday, group events and even a great place for a business seminar or conference.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Excellent service. Fabulous food. A perfect romantic getaway. It took my breath away when we walked in. Unfortunate that you can't swim off the beach but the infinity pool is a very very close substitute and we swam off the jetty each day. Just the most relaxing time. All the staff were really nice. The fruit skewers and hand made daily drinks by the pool were all so delicious. The private living units were fully equipped and the bed was really comfortable. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelzerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This place is amazing!! I have been to over 60 countries in this world and have stayed at some impressive places but this place (Essque Zalu) takes the proverable cake- from its location to the accomdations to the view to the food and the impecable friendly service. This place is Great a must do on anyones bucket list. Manager is a great guy who stops by your table at every meal to make sure everything is well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 71Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ezz11, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Bonjour and greetings from Unguja (Zanzibar)

We are humbled by your wonderful feedback especially coming from such an intrepid traveller.

The team and myself send you our sincere appreciations and compliments of the season and if at all you venture our way again, we would be more than delighted to welcome you back at the hotel.

With warm regards,

Nicolas Konig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

After an outstanding 12 day Safari trip we arrived in this stunning place! There is this entrance hall of 40 meters height, the turquoise infinity pool which seems to merge seamlessly with the ocean, the jetty which allows you to swim in the ocean even at low tide, the excellent four course menu every night, the beautiful and very relaxing spa and last but not least the incredible friendly staff who makes your stay definitely memorable. And to top all this we were offered a swahili cooking class in the hotel's kitchen! This is definitely one of the most exciting places we ever stayed!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrigelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,679 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
23.7 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
15.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,736 reviews
48.8 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £289 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a deep breath of fresh Indian ocean air, relax and unwind. Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove in the north east coast of Unguja (alias Zanzibar). Essque Zalu Zanzibar combines contemporary luxury with a real sense of place. This boutique hotel has the turquoise waters of the Indian ocean to one side and lush green forest to the other, and there is just a hint of spice in the warm and fragrant tropical air. At Essque Zalu Zanzibar, create your own personal paradise, your own kind of luxury, an experience of a lifetime. Choose from 40 individual suites and 8 villas all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Our suites offer a luxurious-styled space crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched makuti roof. From farm to table, we take great pride in our sumptuous cooking. Satisfy your taste buds with a choice of two unique restaurants, three well stocked bars and a variety of destination dining experiences. Unashamedly indulgent, the Spa comprises of two couples treatment rooms, four single rooms, vichy shower, a sauna and steam room - a haven of restorative and rejuvenating perfection. Using only 100% truly organic and natural ingredients, our focus is on capturing the intelligence of nature in the restorative process. We know that the essence of nature can synergistically interact with the energy system, and this knowledge forms the basis of our Africology creations, all orchestrated to help you lead a more holistic lifestyle. Essque Zalu is your outpost into the first steps of the wildness and tranquility of Zanzibar. Reconnect with nature and experience a land rich in life and uninhabited space. We offer guests the opportunity to partake in activities to experience some of the islands most Spectacular and scenic excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing