We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essque Zalu = Amazing ! Pure Fantasy !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel is absolutely stunning !!, A hotel that Zanzibar andTanzania needs to be proud of !! the rooms, pool area, the General Manager and all of the staff ( Shout out to Ruth !) very friendly, welcoming and make you feel very at home. I used my Iphone 4s and pictures truly represents how it really looks and feels. New Years Eve festivities were out of this world...truly a memorable place forever ! Every positive review you have read below is exactly that and more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mukama-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Mukama. we are soon back in festive mode. Are you planning to come back? Ruth will be waiting for you! thank you for your wonderful comments. Kind regards, Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We'll you look at postcard and website pictures and think it can't be real but this place is real. It's beautiful.
All of the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The food at the Jetty and Market Kitchen is very nice. Good breakfast choices.
The room was spotless and could not complain. Absolutely perfect. Wifi is available throughout (some areas stronger than others).

The hotel is about 1 hour from the airport and Stonetown.

When we were at the hotel the gym area was being refurbished with new equipment so we had to go out for runs instead.

The pool is a saltwater pool.

Overall the hotel is by far the best I've stayed in and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

dear friends from Dubai. Thank you for pointing out the details. Although the trip from the airport is an hour, it is a beautiful drive through a jungle of flora and fauna, would you not say? Through that the gym is under full refurbishment, however the runs on the beach are a healthy substitute for now. Thank you for your compliments about the resort and we are looking forward to welcoming you back; after all Dubai is only a 4 hour flight... see you soon! Kind regards, Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, as are the rooms. Luc the General Manager and all of the staff are very friendly, and do everything to ensure that you feel welcome and at home. Edgar, Alfred, Ottoman, John, Jamo and Faltina in particular knew us by name and spoiled us the whole time, we were sorry to say goodbye by the time we reluctantly had to leave! The food in the Market Kitchen is beautiful and with a choice of European and Swahili options there is plenty to choose from, with generous portions we were never hungry. The mediterranean restaurant on the pier serves delicious food too and is a lovely spot to have sundowners. The spa facilities are superb and the girls working in the spa are excellent. We enjoyed every moment of our stay in Essque Zalu and were only sorry that we were not staying for longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryLavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

good morning Barry. Remember that I told you to stay longer... thank you for your compliments. I will pass them on to our colleagues. It is true: the team is very happy to see that we can satisfy the needs of the guests and it makes them proud reading your comments on this website. You can imagine when they go home how they are the pride of their families. Thank you for mentioning their names. Till we meet again. Kind regards, Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

What can you say about this hotel. Every positive review you have read below is actually true.
The hotel is fantastic, rooms are very nicely decorated and all the staff was nice and very attentive. The swimming pool is amazing as well as the Jetty restaurant location, right in the middle of the Indian ocean.
I would probably distinguish then between the hotel and the restaurant. As I said, while the hotel is simply perfect and it's worth every cent you spend on it, the restaurant was a big disappointment (not talking about the Jetty restaurant, but about the Market and the A La Carte restaurants). First thing is 1) the wine selection: in a 5 stars hotel you expect to find a much larger selection that just the few you have on the wine list; moreover these are a sort of "supermarket" wine (I am talking for the French and Italian wines seen on the wine list), pretty cheap ones that are sold for a crazy amount of USD. The second thing 2) : my wife is allergic to gluten and this was told to the restaurant staff as well as the chef (the second chef came to talk to us): nevertheless, they kept forgetting about it (no the gluten free bread served or, sometimes, she was served food prepared with wheat flavor). Even for our honeymoon private dinner with a special menu prepared only for use, they prepared a cake that my wife could not eat. Now, that was never an issue, we talked to the staff and the problem was solved, but I find it anyway a big lack of attention for a 5 stars hotel. You know that for 5 days you have guests with a certain problem, you might want to note it down somewhere.
So once again, these are relatively small details but that count at the end. Otherwise, as I said, this was a great and relaxing stay, the hotel is beautiful and I highly recommend to profit by the massage center!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ale_oo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear friends from Prague.
Referring to the diet issue of your wife. We had a meeting with the Executive Chef and the Service team and this is an unacceptable situation for which we sincerely offer our apologies. We have occasionally people with a certain diet and this is usually addressed to the satisfaction of the guests. Once again: our apologies. I waited a bit to reply on your comments re: the wines and asked a few other European guests. They do not share your opinion on the "supermarket" wines. What the pricing is concerned: you need to realize that these wines are shipped from Europe, Contrary to the ones for South Africa, these European wines have an extremely high shipping costs and duty & taxes. Hence the higher prices compared to wines from the same continent. Nevertheless, thank you for your observation and allowing us to explain the circumstances. Kind regards, Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

When I went to Essque Zalu, the first impression I got was that the enormity of the entrance hall made a big statement. It is, as I am told, the largest Makuti Thatch structure on the island and houses the upstairs art gallery, where you can find astounding artwork made by local artists, as well as the fine dining restaurant.

On ground level, as we walked through the entrance hall, we saw the souvenir shop, cocktail bar to our left and the glass-walled restaurant that hosts a set menu to our right. Yet, if I thought that the Makuti Thatch structure made a statement, its what the structure looks out towards that really sets the bar in terms of aesthetic... As we reached the end of the entrance hall, we were astounded by the view out to sea. The sizeable pool lead our eyes towards the long-stretching jetty and apart from the jetty, just miles and miles of turquoise blue water.

At the end of the Jetty is the Jetty bar that served the most amazing Mediterranean and Eastern fusion food. They also serve delicious cocktails that are on average, the size of ones head.

We were shown to our rooms and astounded by the impressive layout of them. The flat-screen TV had a load of movies and TV channels, for some after sun exposure lounging. Wooden floors throughout the suite lead to our sizeable walk-in wardrobe and the bathroom had some lovely complimentary products for us to use as well as a rain shower.

Outside our patio we sipped coconut rum and pineapple juice, and enjoyed being surrounded by nothing but lush vegetation and an impressive view of the ocean... it was pure bliss I tell you! I would definitely go back to Essque Zalu in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenza68698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Jenza. We are in the process of reprinting our brochures and i am wondering if i should hire you to write the descriptive paragraphs. Thank you for the wonderful statement. When are you coming back? Kind regards, Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were spoilt by the staff at this luxurious resort. We arrived after a weeks safari and were pleasantly met by Luc the General Manager. From here there was no fuss checking in or waiting around as we were shown swiftly to our suite. The room suite was fantastic with a super- duper king size bed which was so comfy, a huge bathroom and nice sitting area. It was the nicest room i have stayed in across anyone of my trips across the world......The entrance/lobby is breathtaking as you walk through and see the ocean. The hotel boasts a wonderful jetty to enjoy great cocktails as the sun goes down. I thought these cocktails were reasonably priced at $6.....they just slipped down too quickly! The rest of the grounds are immaculate which is credit to the staff, everyone is happy to help and goes out of their way to assist without being in your face. John in the Baobab bar served us great cocktails and wine each night always with a great big smile and with more stories to tell....Jon was also great each morning as he served us breakfast. The food is fantastic .....some of the best I have had whist staying in any hotel. We went out a couple of nights to Kendwa to try some of the other restaurants/ hotels but looked forward to coming back to Essque as it knocks the spots of the others by a mile. If you are looking for a holiday that is relaxing, luxurious, serving great food by great staff in a wonderful environment then this is the place to go! Nothing is too much trouble....Top marks Essque for a wonderful relaxing and peaceful holiday. We hope to return someday!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

good morning Nick!
it's true, our guests have no checking-in to do, in fact we don't even have a front desk. Thank you for your compliments towards John and Jon! I will pass them on to both team members. Also thanks for the compliments about the meals. With a certain pride we would like to mention that we have only one expatriate in the kitchen. Our Executive Chef Jussi is from Sweden; all other team members in that department are Tanzanians. Only to say that when proper training is applied, all is possible. Tanzanians (including Zanzibari of course) are hard workers and eager to learn! One last question: when are you coming back? Kind regards, Luc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Before travelling to Zanzibar we had been on a safari in the Serengeti which as been an incredible experience. Essque Zalu heightened yet our satisfaction with these holidays. The hotel is really fantastic! We were on an ocean view suite which was very spacious and the seaview was really nice.
The staff is always eager to please and satisfy any request you may have.
The food is excellent too, with the sole exception of the a la carte restaurant, where we had dinner once and whose experience wasn't so memorable.
The pool is beautiful, as well as the jetty (although quite windy on the period of our stay).
The minus point at Essque Zalu is clearly the beach (in truth, no beach...), but who cares, when you have such a pool!
It definitively is an hotel we would like to return to in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuiB189158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Essque_Zalu, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Bom Dia Rui. Thank you for your kind remarks on your stay at Essque Zalu. Whilst we agree that the à la carte experience might not have met your expectations, we gladly inform you that we have changed the menu and it seems to be collecting some amazing reviews in-house. True, we have no beach and that is how our guests like it: during low tide, you can walk up to 8 km on the white sandy beach of Nungwi. And during hi-tide, you get the waves splashes almost entering your suite... When will we see you again? best personal regards, Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,630 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
23.7 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,680 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
1.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essque Zalu Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Address: Nungwi 3151, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £303 - £599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Essque Zalu Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a deep breath of fresh Indian ocean air, relax and unwind. Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove in the north east coast of Unguja (alias Zanzibar). Essque Zalu Zanzibar combines contemporary luxury with a real sense of place. This boutique hotel has the turquoise waters of the Indian ocean to one side and lush green forest to the other, and there is just a hint of spice in the warm and fragrant tropical air. At Essque Zalu Zanzibar, create your own personal paradise, your own kind of luxury, an experience of a lifetime. Choose from 40 individual suites and 8 villas all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Our suites offer a luxurious-styled space crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched makuti roof. From farm to table, we take great pride in our sumptuous cooking. Satisfy your taste buds with a choice of two unique restaurants, three well stocked bars and a variety of destination dining experiences. Unashamedly indulgent, the Spa comprises of two couples treatment rooms, four single rooms, vichy shower, a sauna and steam room - a haven of restorative and rejuvenating perfection. Using only 100% truly organic and natural ingredients, our focus is on capturing the intelligence of nature in the restorative process. We know that the essence of nature can synergistically interact with the energy system, and this knowledge forms the basis of our Africology creations, all orchestrated to help you lead a more holistic lifestyle. Essque Zalu is your outpost into the first steps of the wildness and tranquility of Zanzibar. Reconnect with nature and experience a land rich in life and uninhabited space. We offer guests the opportunity to partake in activities to experience some of the islands most Spectacular and scenic excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essque Zalu Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Hotel Nungwi
Essque Zalu Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing