We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamonds Star of the East
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The villa we stayed,villa #1,has the most beautiful view of the sea and the garden around the villa is approximately 400 sq m.(4000 sq f).The villa is spacious and beautiful.The butlers Abdallah and Rahma,were around 24 hours,polite and very helpful.Renata the hotel manager added her very special personal touch which made our stay even more memorable.
David

Room Tip: villa #1 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    8
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
102
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

All eleven villas are very private and picture perfect. You enter into a sitting area with a wall of water and a fully stocked bar. Off to the left is the butler's kitchen with a full size refrigerator and any other appliances you may want. Then you enter into a large bedroom with kingsize bed, glass walls to the patio and garden, walk-in closet,sitting area with a desk and big comfy chair and a large area on the floor with cushions and your own water pipes. From here you have access to a huge covered patio with a fountain, dining table, chairs and a daybed. The bathroom is large with an indoor and outdoor shower. You can go to your own pool and jacuzzi from the outdoor shower or patio area. The bed was decorated each day in lots of flowers. The night butler was superb. The day butler spoke and understood less English, plus had bad body odor. The room manager was friendly, polite and always out and about. Food was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The villas are beautifully decorated and everything in the rooms are first quality. There is a waterfall in the foyer area, two bathrooms, two flat screen t.v.'s and an outdoor shower, huge patio and an infinity pool. There is even a small kitchen for the butler. The beach is white sand and the water crystal clear. You have a choice of using a private beach area for the villas or you can use the resorts main beach. The grounds are exceptionally maintained and the gardens are stunning. In terms of service, it was without a doubt the best we've ever experienced. The staff was attentive, respectful and their main goal is to provide you with the best experience ever. No request was ever too big or too much. The rooms manager is on top of things and you can see her conducting inspections in the morning, afternoon and again in the evening. Standards at this resort are very high. We don't have any criticism's. Of all the places we stayed in Tanzania, it was clearly our favorite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clemmy5213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Luxurious one or two bed villas, which include an indoor lounge, a huge thatched patio and water feature in the entrance. Bedrooms are large with Moroccan style floor seating overlooking the patio. Bath area boasts an indoor and outdoor shower. A large enticing outdoor jacuzzi leads of the bedroom. Two butlers are available to cook meals in the kitchenette when required. Guests may use any restaurant belonging to the Diamonds Gemma del Este resort next door, for a wider selection in meals. The resort has its own dining area on an upper level overlooking the sea.

This luxury resort in my opinion is more for honeymooners and couples who are looking for privacy and seclusion.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ProudlyDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This resort is just amazing. We spent the last 5 days of our honeymoon here and to be honest we never wanted to leave. The villa was bigger and better than we had imagined (the website photos don't do it justice). 24hr butler service that will bring you anything you want. The staff were amazingly friendly. We ate at the restaurant in SOTE and the seafood restaurant on the water. Both excellent. Lovely private beach and bright blue water to cool off in. You will not want to leave the resort but if you do it is only a short beach walk (when the tide is out) to get to the masai market to buy souvenirs. This resort is true luxury and if you decide to stay here I'm sure you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Go for the orange villa!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have just returned to the UK after a 7 night stay at the Diamonds Star of the East as part of our honeymoon and we can honestly say that we have never stayed anywhere quite like it before - it was truly magical in every sense of the word!

Upon arrival, we were driven by golf buggie to our villa where we were personally welcomed by Renata (General Manager), Fabien (Food & Beverage Manager) and our butler for the week, Jonathan. We were presented with a glass of champagne and given a tour of the villa! Neither of us will ever forget that special welcome and also our initial reaction to seeing around the villa - a once in a lifetime moment!

The quality of the accommodation is first class - from its sheer size, the quality of finish, the variety of indoor/outdoor 'living' space, not to mention the sunken indoor jacuzzi, rain shower, outdoor shower and outdoor plunge pool/jacuzzi! The daily floral / towel displays on the bed was a special and incredibly impressive touch! We will never look at a 'hotel' room in quite the same way again!

The staff could not do enough for you - from Renata, to Fabien, to Jonathan (our personal butler), to the bar/restaurant staff - they were all warm, welcoming, good fun, professional, courteous and were always keen to ensure you were having the holiday of a lifetime! We could not fault them! The staff played a huge part in making our stay so special!

Whatever you wanted to eat, whenever you wanted to eat it and wherever you wanted to eat it - nothing was a problem! We had breakfast in the Ocean Restaurant and also had breakfast served on our outdoor patio on a couple of occasions - the variety on offer and quality was excellent! We dined in both the Ocean Restaurant (exclusive restaurant to Diamonds of the East) and Seabreeze (part of Gemma d'el Est but beautifully located out on the jetty overlooking the Indian Ocean) - the quality and service was again first class! On our last night, we had a special 'honeymoon' dinner served to us on the private beach - a fitting end to what had been a fantastic stay at the resort!

The beautiful private beach is a short walk / buggie ride from the exclusive grounds of Diamonds of the East and closer to its sister hotel, Gemma d'el Est. Whilst for some this may detract from the remote/exclusive nature of the resort, you can have as much or as little to do with the guests/facilities of Gemma d'el Est as you like. For us, we appreciated having some additional space to explore (the grounds of Gemma d'el Est are stunning) and additional bars to try out but we always ended up back up at Diamonds of the East - the two hotels just don't compare!

The private beach is perfectly located for you to venture out on to the public beach to enjoy a long walk along silky sands to Nungwi. A wonderful way to walk off the wonderful food and abundance of fine wine and cocktails!

All in all, a memorable, once in a lifetime stay at a first class resort!

Thank you to Renata and the rest of the team at Diamonds of the East! We will never forget you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJWS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trencin, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Diamonds Star of the East is one of the best resort of the world.....very friendly people....luxury rooms, pool with jacuzzi was amazing........i hope - i am coming back as soon as possible...All services were excellent level....I recommend to all travelers who like Zanzibar

Room Tip: Room nb. 4 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiroslavTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
1.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
21.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Star of the East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Star of the East

Property: Diamonds Star of the East
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Star of the East 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent private sanctuary of eleven exclusive villas with their own plunge pool and a tastefully furnished terrace, a covered Makuti patio and a large tropical garden to enjoy exclusive privacy and the supreme view over the Indian Ocean and the famous Zanzibar sunset. The villas are named after eleven of the most precious gems in the world to match the modern and contemporary African style architecture. Personal butler service, a private beach and unmatched all-inclusive services accommodate the most discerning traveller with ultimate comfort, privacy and luxury. Literally everything and anything you could dream of is catered for at the very highest level of all-inclusive services including access to all facilities, restaurants and bars of Diamonds La Gemma dell’Est. Diamonds Star of the East is member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamonds Star of the East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Star Of The East Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing