We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diamonds Star of the East
Nearby Hotels
US$183
US$162
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$328
US$282
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$450
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$406
US$384
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
171
16
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
16
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerpersonal butlerbutler serviceblue restaurantprivate poolvilla guestsprivate restaurantin villa diningbeautiful garden areadedicated restaurantour honeymoonlarge villawalk in wardrobeluxury resortsitting areacomplete privacylobster
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our room was sooooo beautiful that we didn't feel like leaving it, which of course is also totally possible as you have a private butler service that will serve meals on your patio. You walk into you room and are met by an indoor water-fall which immediately relaxes you. You then walk into this beautiful bedroom that is totally private, has both an inside and outside shower, a jacuzi and your very own splash pool. The rooms also have a little lounge area where you can watch TV for hubby to watch sport while you lounge outside on the day bed reading you book - well that's how our stay went - It was raining so we didn't feel like we were missing out on any beach activties. The restaurant is beautifully decorated (which can be a tad hot upstairs when there is no breeze blowing) and serves the most delicious food.
It was just what we needed at the time. My only comment for improvement would be that we had three butlers over the course of our stay where I would have preferred one max 2.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent a week at the fantastic resort in May and apparently we had brought in the good weather with us. We had good weather overall and the odd shower to cool things down a little. Nothing that got in the way of any plans we had. The resort is world class and we especially enjoyed the 24 hr butler service and private villa. Abdallah and Salum our butlers for most of the stay were fantastic. In fact all of the staff were great and nothing was ever a hassle. When you there you have to ask for the private beach dinner - a real treat. My beautiful wife's first lobster and she loved it so much we had it the next night again. Facilities were great. Rooms were clean and spacious! What struck us most was the attention to detail there - it was all about the small things to make you feel special and we appreciated that.

Special mention to Giulia who manages that great team. WELL DONE AND THANKS

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maxh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014. The villas are as lovely as the pictures but the service was absolutely terrible, as was the food.

The food at the restaurant at Diamonds was never fresh, particularly the fish and seafood which is quite shocking for this region… and for an Italian owned hotel, the pizza was atrocious.

Our butler was rude and hostile and obviously unhappy to be working.

The beach is OK, but I have seen much better and more secluded beaches in Zanzibar.

Definitely not value for money when you add up all the little corners that have been cut to obviously make up the value for money in the all inclusive rate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 5starguest212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had the rare opportunity of our lives living in a perfect place. Beautiful beaches, extremely cheerful environment, infrastructure of first line, impeccable service, butler at your disposal, ie, all conspired to make our passage through Zanzibar was perfect and I can say it was mainly for this hotel provided us incredible moments. I'd ever seen in over 40 countries and hundreds of hotels that have played such an attendance of sympathy for everyone from the cleaning person, either by waiters, the chef who comes to talk to you, the Manager Renata is fantastic, everyday person comes to your room to understand how this stay and closely monitor everything that is happening, that is, it is really surprising as the Diamonds hit this hotel and how to put the right people to manage the business. We thank Renata again for providing all resources to be our stay dreams and also to ensure their professionalism overcoming our expectations. I can say that this is a trip and a hotel you must visit before you die , would be in the Top 1 of my list. See the photos and check that magical place .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I spent six nights here in February 2014 at Villa 4. The eleven villas are absolutely beautiful with huge indoor and outdoor areas, large but shallow private pools, indoor and outdoor showers and are totally private. 24 hour butler service is provided and our butlers, Ali and Salum, were attentive, polite and very willing. Restaurant options are excellent with the exclusive Ocean Blue providing delicious high quality dishes, a beach grill offering simple food in a lovely setting, pizzeria on the beach serving good lunchtime burgers, pasta, sandwiches and evening pizzas and you can also enjoy any meals on your private terrace served by your butler. Only slightly disappointment was the seafood restaurant set on stilts in the sea, beautiful location but food rather bland and limited options. The bar under Ocean Blue served great cocktails and lunch is also served on the terrace. The main resort bar is on stilts over the water and is a wonderful place to watch the sunset. The beach is exquisite, white sands and clear blue sea and you can swim at high and low tide (unusually for Zanzibar). The private beach area is raised above the public beach and so enjoys totally privacy and you are not bothered at all by beach boys who anyway are friendly and not pushy. Beach service with towels, pergolas, water, drinks, snacks etc is provided and is excellent. The acting manager Maureen was welcoming, attentive and friendly, as was Renata when she returned and they both ensured that we were looked after admirably. The whole resort was spotlessly clean and the gardens were lovely and extremely well kept. Nothing was too much trouble and many special touches made our stay memorable - beautiful floral displays on the bed every morning, wonderful private dinner on the beach with our own menu and waiter service, breakfast served on our terrace everyday, free and efficient laundry service, full bar in rooms..... heaven! Book at once I promise you wont regret it.

Room Tip: Villas all the same although 2 have Jacuzzi baths inside as well as outside. Some have better sea views than others.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MicheleSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews