We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth this price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamonds Star of the East
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The opinions about that hotel are usually as "one of the most luxury hotels around the world". In my opinion, it's not in 100% true. The surroundings and infrastructure is impressive but it is only the first impression. The villas are amazing, huge, with beautiful terrace. However, there are many inconveniences around. First of all, the butlers are around all the time which is very annoying. You have to remember all the time to imform them not to come to have some privacy. On the other hand, when I need a doctor, it was impossible to contact my butler. I think that a perfect butler is someone who is around you when you need this person but if you not they disappears and let you relax in piece and quite. The private restaurant for villa guests is nice but they had problem with the cooks. One of them was a real professional (great person!), while the other one coudn't prepare the simple dishes as boiled potatoes, grilled fish or even the simple steak. It's unbelievable for me in the hotel like this. The other problem with the restaurants we had in the grill restaurant - the steaks were so salty we were unable to eat them... The private beach was quite comfortable, however, there was a renovation opposite so it was impossible to relax (we were not imformed about this fact). Except of the fact that the staff was extremely nice (as people in Tanzania usually), many of them were not professionals, which caused problems sometimes. What I can say with certainty, I've been to a few great and luxury hotels around the world - and I really had much better standard and it costed me much less money. I have to admit that the time which I spent on Zanzibar was not my favourite and that's a pity because for that amount of money I could go anywhere and really relax.

Room Tip: Do not choose villa opposite the private restaurant because all the guests could see your terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lady_arabic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

The first impressions of the hotel makes you say wow but within the first day you can notice the flaws. For a hotel of that rating and price, the details of the room need work - equipment in the kitchen are old and towels feel old and rough.
Although the staff want to be helpful, they are very slow. They tried their best to accomdate us but it was not great.
The biggest let down was the food. It was horrible that by the third day we started just eating toast and cheese . 5 members of our group got food poisoning by the second day. Even after talking to the chef, the quality of the food was subpar.
As lovely as the hotel looks, I would not come again or recommend it to people because at the price I can go somewhere that will offer the complete package: beautiful rooms, good service, and amazing food.

Total letdown.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alfa_f86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our room was sooooo beautiful that we didn't feel like leaving it, which of course is also totally possible as you have a private butler service that will serve meals on your patio. You walk into you room and are met by an indoor water-fall which immediately relaxes you. You then walk into this beautiful bedroom that is totally private, has both an inside and outside shower, a jacuzi and your very own splash pool. The rooms also have a little lounge area where you can watch TV for hubby to watch sport while you lounge outside on the day bed reading you book - well that's how our stay went - It was raining so we didn't feel like we were missing out on any beach activties. The restaurant is beautifully decorated (which can be a tad hot upstairs when there is no breeze blowing) and serves the most delicious food.
It was just what we needed at the time. My only comment for improvement would be that we had three butlers over the course of our stay where I would have preferred one max 2.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent a week at the fantastic resort in May and apparently we had brought in the good weather with us. We had good weather overall and the odd shower to cool things down a little. Nothing that got in the way of any plans we had. The resort is world class and we especially enjoyed the 24 hr butler service and private villa. Abdallah and Salum our butlers for most of the stay were fantastic. In fact all of the staff were great and nothing was ever a hassle. When you there you have to ask for the private beach dinner - a real treat. My beautiful wife's first lobster and she loved it so much we had it the next night again. Facilities were great. Rooms were clean and spacious! What struck us most was the attention to detail there - it was all about the small things to make you feel special and we appreciated that.

Special mention to Giulia who manages that great team. WELL DONE AND THANKS

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014. The villas are as lovely as the pictures but the service was absolutely terrible, as was the food.

The food at the restaurant at Diamonds was never fresh, particularly the fish and seafood which is quite shocking for this region… and for an Italian owned hotel, the pizza was atrocious.

Our butler was rude and hostile and obviously unhappy to be working.

The beach is OK, but I have seen much better and more secluded beaches in Zanzibar.

Definitely not value for money when you add up all the little corners that have been cut to obviously make up the value for money in the all inclusive rate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 5starguest212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had the rare opportunity of our lives living in a perfect place. Beautiful beaches, extremely cheerful environment, infrastructure of first line, impeccable service, butler at your disposal, ie, all conspired to make our passage through Zanzibar was perfect and I can say it was mainly for this hotel provided us incredible moments. I'd ever seen in over 40 countries and hundreds of hotels that have played such an attendance of sympathy for everyone from the cleaning person, either by waiters, the chef who comes to talk to you, the Manager Renata is fantastic, everyday person comes to your room to understand how this stay and closely monitor everything that is happening, that is, it is really surprising as the Diamonds hit this hotel and how to put the right people to manage the business. We thank Renata again for providing all resources to be our stay dreams and also to ensure their professionalism overcoming our expectations. I can say that this is a trip and a hotel you must visit before you die , would be in the Top 1 of my list. See the photos and check that magical place .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I spent six nights here in February 2014 at Villa 4. The eleven villas are absolutely beautiful with huge indoor and outdoor areas, large but shallow private pools, indoor and outdoor showers and are totally private. 24 hour butler service is provided and our butlers, Ali and Salum, were attentive, polite and very willing. Restaurant options are excellent with the exclusive Ocean Blue providing delicious high quality dishes, a beach grill offering simple food in a lovely setting, pizzeria on the beach serving good lunchtime burgers, pasta, sandwiches and evening pizzas and you can also enjoy any meals on your private terrace served by your butler. Only slightly disappointment was the seafood restaurant set on stilts in the sea, beautiful location but food rather bland and limited options. The bar under Ocean Blue served great cocktails and lunch is also served on the terrace. The main resort bar is on stilts over the water and is a wonderful place to watch the sunset. The beach is exquisite, white sands and clear blue sea and you can swim at high and low tide (unusually for Zanzibar). The private beach area is raised above the public beach and so enjoys totally privacy and you are not bothered at all by beach boys who anyway are friendly and not pushy. Beach service with towels, pergolas, water, drinks, snacks etc is provided and is excellent. The acting manager Maureen was welcoming, attentive and friendly, as was Renata when she returned and they both ensured that we were looked after admirably. The whole resort was spotlessly clean and the gardens were lovely and extremely well kept. Nothing was too much trouble and many special touches made our stay memorable - beautiful floral displays on the bed every morning, wonderful private dinner on the beach with our own menu and waiter service, breakfast served on our terrace everyday, free and efficient laundry service, full bar in rooms..... heaven! Book at once I promise you wont regret it.

Room Tip: Villas all the same although 2 have Jacuzzi baths inside as well as outside. Some have better sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MicheleSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
15.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
22 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
47.5 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Star of the East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Star of the East

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £589 - £1,129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Star of the East 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent private sanctuary of eleven exclusive villas with their own plunge pool and a tastefully furnished terrace, a covered Makuti patio and a large tropical garden to enjoy exclusive privacy and the supreme view over the Indian Ocean and the famous Zanzibar sunset. The villas are named after eleven of the most precious gems in the world to match the modern and contemporary African style architecture. Personal butler service, a private beach and unmatched all-inclusive services accommodate the most discerning traveller with ultimate comfort, privacy and luxury. Literally everything and anything you could dream of is catered for at the very highest level of all-inclusive services including access to all facilities, restaurants and bars of Diamonds La Gemma dell’Est. Diamonds Star of the East is member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Diamonds Star of the East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Star Of The East Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing