We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$123
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$365
US$353
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$398
US$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$788
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$130
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,675)
Filter reviews
1,675 results
Traveller rating
1,229
281
97
42
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,229
281
97
42
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua restaurantcarnivorous restaurantjacuzzi suiteteppanyaki restaurantgoshtgala dinnerour honeymoonall inclusive packagea la carte restaurantsguest relationsspecial thanksinfinity pooldiving centerkids clubbeach barbutler servicerooms are beautiful
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,068 - 1,073 of 1,675 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We went to hideaway 2 weeks ago, with a couple of friends. We were total 13 persons. We love Zanzibar and come often. Hideaway has got probably the best beach in Zanzibar. The hotel itself is very nice. Great location. The rooms are very nice. They even have l'occitane products. The main problem is the service. It is not up to standard at all. Starting with the reception, to the restaurant, bar...Also The quality if liquors/wines in the all inclusive are horrible. The food is not bad, but not good enough and not enough variety for an hotel of this price. Better take the half board package and pay for the good drinks and good food at their pay restaurants. One another stupid thing, breakfast finishes at 10 am and no free food is available nowhere until 12 pm. For all inclusive, it is not good enough. So overall dissapointing. It is sad, cause the place has huge potential.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kifita485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear kifita485, we are delighted that you enjoyed our location and amenities and regret that our service levels were not up to your standards. We will be taking all of your comments into consideration. We hope to welcome you again soon. With kind regards, Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights. Used it as our base for diving and touring. We were mostly enjoying the nature, ignored TV, and did not mind a short hike to our room. Will try to keep it short.

The good:

- Great location and the beach.
- Great and affordable on-site diving center.
- New rooms and facilities.
- Friendly and helpful staff. Samantha rocks! :)

The not so good:

- Restaurants are very plain. "Carnivorous" seems to know their meat. Some sea food in "Aqua" is good. The rest is just ok. "Eastern" kitchen needs major review.
- Staff training is spotty. English is still a problem.
- Diving center definitely needs a new boat with at least two engines and a bathroom.
- Internet is slow, AC is noisy, the light periodically goes off ( as everyone already complained )

The weird:

- Hotel tried to charge us $105 for the transfer from the airport ( you can easily hire a good taxi for $60 ).
- Several waiters asked for tip in exchange for keeping drinks off the bill.
- The guy running tour reservations is plain shady. After agreeing to pay in cash, we managed to negotiate the price of tours down by almost a half.

Suggestions ( I know Samantha is going to read it. :) )

- More watersports. Can easily add kayaking tours, wind surf lessons, fishing etc.
- Use the beach after 6pm. It is awesome and already has lights.
- More activities. Star gazing, pool parties, bonfire on the beach etc.

Bottom line:

Good for a short stay with extra activities. Beaches and diving are the major attractions. Ignore some service oddities and you will have a good time.

Best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Boris I, thank you for such comprehensive feedback. Be assured that your suggestions and constructive criticism are vital to us as we continue to grow our young hotel. In response to "the weird", we take these matters very seriously and will be investigating accordingly. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Until then and with best regards, Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We decided to stay in hideaway after reading many excellent reviews in trip advisor. Well, the hotel is new and as such the facilities (still) in great condition. But hygiene in certain areas needs real improvement; i.e. the beach bar staff were preparing the cocktails among hundreds of flies. In general, most of the stuff are very friendly but need some serious training and are amazingly slow in every single reaction.
The beach is really nice. The pool area as well although they really need to review the music (70's hard rock is not the ideal background for this environment). The buffet good but lacking any fantasy and very similar day after day. But try the pizzas (really awesome!).
Bottom line, we were relatively happy except two very major issues:
- during check out, they had made a mistake (actually three) which resulted to $ 200 overcharge. They made us go back & front four times before taking the manager's approval to adjust the bill but, most importantly, nobody apologized.
- being at half board, we were approached a couple of times from stuff aiming to give us "for free" food & beverages (even offering us a free bottle of champagne) if we could tip them accordingly !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sromanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear sromanos, we thank you for your extensive feedback. We apologise for the error on your bill and would like to carefully and diligently look into your reported experience with our food and beverage staff and your halfboard package; we thank you for taking us into your confidence. We do regardless hope to welcome you again soon. With kind regards, Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Fantastic location for our honeymoon. Beautiful gardens and luxurious room with superb views of the sea. Immaculately clean and tidy. All the staff were helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. At times service could be slow and sometimes a request needed to be repeated up to three times. However, there were 3 members of staff who were consistently efficient, friendly and hard-working and helped to make our honeymoon extra special-namely Jeremiah Julius (in the bar), Ramadhan Seif (on the beach) and Nelson Emmanuel (in the restaurant). We really felt these staff worthy of a special mention as they repeatedly went that extra mile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Jeremy R, we are so grateful to your kind comments on our staff members and will certainly pass these on to them. We are very glad that you enjoyed yourselves so much and look forward to welcoming you for a return soon. Until then and with kind regards, Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The resort has a fantastic location and beautiful, the rooms were spacious and luxuriously furnished. The finishing was a bit hap hazard especially the tiling in the bathroom. Our transfer from the airport arranged through hotel with gallery tours was delayed for 30 minutes.

Certain staff were fabulous especially Albert at reception and Kris the restaurant manager(he went to reception to get a golf cart for my sleeping 3 year old), not forgetting Jaffar. The cleaning staff times were horrendous, sometimes cleaning of the room would take place in the late afternoon. Turn down was at times done at 22h00, after kids fell asleep. On Saturday night we waited long for golf carts.

The kids club was perhaps the biggest draw card for us, however this was non existent. The kids minder was a young inexperienced lady, the kids club facilities were lacking and the club was not fenced thereby allowing my son to run to the pool and beach unsupervised. The kids club was terrible. The hotel advertised DVDs available, however no children's DVD available, but they did make a plan though. The gym and gym staff were fabulous.

The low light of the stay was the all inclusive food option, the food was bland, no variety and boring. The egg station was horrible, inexperienced staff and a long wait for service. Godfrey however got to know my families order and obliged us when he was there.

The lights tripped and the alarm or a beeping sound got me up a few times.this needs to be sorted out.

Many teething problems and I assume this is the groups first foray into hotels, definitely not 5 star and not a leading hotel of the world. Hopefully will improve soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Shoayb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha B, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Shoayb P, we thank you for your kind comments on our location and various staff members, we will certainly pass on your thanks. We will certainly look into your feedback on our housekeeping service and apologise for any inconvenience. We are diligently working to improve the service and facilities of the kids club. We are sorry you had to queue at the egg station and will look to position more staff members there in busy periods. We do hope to welcome you again soon. With kind regards, Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews