We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderfuly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
nairobi
1 review
“wonderfuly stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

was our first time to stay in HIDE A WAY OF NUNGWI, me and my husband enjoyed a lot.........
we like the view, food,staff they are very helpfuly......Mishi and Suzanne(receptionist) they made us happy and wish to stay longer in the resort

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear jackon j,
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review we all at The Hideaway of Nungwi are delighted you so enjoyed your stay with us. As a team we work hard to look after all our guests it is so rewarding when it is appreciated. We very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Hideaway.
Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    240
    79
    39
    23
See reviews for
280
626
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We visited the resort as the final part of our honeymoon (2 different safari locations) where we had been completely spoilt in terms of service (and this was staying in a cottage and tents). Unfortunately the level of service we had experienced didn't continue at hideaway and having stayed in similar resorts in different locations I have to agree with other reviews the hotel and facilities live up to a 5 star resort but the service does not. Its a real shame as some service aspects were excellent and Alonsia our butler and the 2 members of staff working at 'carnivore/ishi' were fantastic - friendly and so helpful. However service from reception, the 'guests relations manager', the bar and other restaurants was poor. It was the lack of attention to detail and care that let them down. Some small examples...we arrived and there was confusion at reception as our room was not ready - we were delivered to the restaurant and told that someone would let us know when it was...but they didn't. We contacted the guest relations manager to discuss something and we did not receive a call back and had to chase. The biggest 'let down' was the service at the bar and main restaurant where the staff were friendly but completely disorganised and there was clearly no sign of a restaurant manager throughout our stay. When ordering drinks you had a to chase your order repeatedly and sometimes they just never arrived. Our room service breakfast didnt always have the items you ordered and although we ordered for 2 guests each day we only got one plate to eat from. A lot of these issues were small things and we had a fantastic time - the resort itself was beautiful, our room was absolutely amazing. However as per previous comments - the level of service did let the hotel down overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Vicky R, Thank you for your Trip Advisor review, it is always a pleasure to welcome guests on their honeymoon to The Hideaway of Nungwi, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies that the level of service was not always as good as it should of been we have a new Front Office Manager and a new Food and Beverage Manager that have very recently joined the resort and their priority is to improve the levels of service and communication in their departments and indeed throughout the hotel. We very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location and anyone who goes here will have a great time. The rooms are superb and the facilities are great and it's just a stunning venue. We went here on our honeymoon and we had a super time. Our only gripe with the hideaway is similar to all the reviews, the service.

On arriving at the hotel, there is a big 'Leading Hotels of the World' sign but I simply cannot see how. Come here to relax and don't expect 5 star service or your morning coffee to come In a hurry. The staff are friendly and obliging and work so hard to look after you but unfort their language skills are an issue. One can accept that given it's not their first language but the bigger problem is that they are often busy doing everything. When we were here there were no managers around. We encountered issues in the restaurants and many guests had lots of war stories. The bar is managed poorly and there was a lack of restaurant managers going to see if guest were ok. It really let the hotel down badly and they have a lot of work to raise their standards in this regard.

All that aside, we had a great time. Just come and switch off but if service is your thing lower your bar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaffers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Gaffers76, Thank you for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Since your August visit we have a new General Manager at the hotel and indeed a whole new management team, so although we are a work in progress we have significantly improved the service at the resort and given time we are confident that our levels of service will be as impressive as our wonderful property. We very much hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort, Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon, and even though the views are stunning, the overall experience was pretty average.

I'd like to firstly say how lovely Mary and Doris were. They were so friendly and very welcoming and always took care of us around the poolside and of an evening!

Our room, a luxury jacuzzi suite was incredible, very clean, tidy and massive in size! The views from the balcony area were beautiful.

We were here on honeymoon and as part of our package we were entitled to a free upgrade, if available, free 2 spa treatments and dinner on the beach. Unfortunately the fact that we were on honeymoon had slipped their minds as we had to chase them to make sure we got what we were entitled too. A little disappointing as I didn't really want to spend my honeymoon chasing things up! We never got an upgrade and upon talking to other members, who arrived after us they had received an upgrade. This was really disappointing to hear.

The a la carte restaurants are lovely, communication was at times a struggle, but I appreciate English is not their first language, but at times it was disappointing forever having to repeat yourself when all we wanted to do was have a relaxing evening. The buffet restaurant has a good choice, but the amount of flies surrounding the food was extremely off putting. My partner and I were sadly very poorly for two days of the honeymoon, we will never know the exact cause but we think the food may of been a factor. (We are thankfully never normally ill). We were aware of other couples that had also become very ill.

The staff were either extremely efficient; taking your plate when you were still on your last mouthful, or very slow; ordering coffee at the start of breakfast and finally getting it when you had finished eating.

We used the spa quite regularly which was nice, however we had money stolen out of the locked locker....!! This completely ruined the experience. We did speak to the manager John and he did apologise...but that was it. A little disappointing.

We spent the day at the beach and even though security is good we did have a local approach us offering us some drugs...... Not exactly something we wanted to experience whilst on honeymoon.

There was also one guy around the pool that always tried to sell new arrivals a CD. He clearly wasn't allowed to do it as he was very shifty about the whole thing and as soon as other colleagues turned up he would walk away. This was nothing major, but it did slightly spoil the experience and wasn't something we wanted to witness on honeymoon.

On a more positive note, the views are incredible, the gardens are amazing and the gardeners clearly work very hard.

We appreciate this is a fairly new resort, but since opening in April/may we were really hoping that by our honeymoon they would of sorted out some clear teething problems. This sadly was not the case and as a result I would definitely say that the resort was not a 5*. It has the potential but it really needs some personnel work.

Sadly we won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Witho12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Witho 12345, Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. Firstly I would like to apologies that some aspects of your stay at The Hideaway of Ningwi were not as perfect as they should of been. All upgrades are subject to availability and it was unfortunate that we were unable to upgrade your particulate category for your stay with us. With regards to our restaurant we are currently running English classes that are well attended and well received, unfortunately these thing take time to put into place. The flies can be problematic periodically and are more prevelant during the mango season but we do our best to keep them at bay. We have at not been aware that several guests at one time have been poorly, we have a wonderful doctor at the resort on a daily basis and he monitors these things closely. We are very proud of our good food hygien practices. With regards to you being approached on the beach I can only apologise, we do have security personnel on the beach 24 hours a day and we have recently changed our security company in another step to improve the well being of our guests. We are sorry that you feel you would not visit us again, we are very proud of our resort and strongly feel with the new management team in place we will in time be able to fine tune and improve. Regards Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My better half and I have just got back from a fantastic week in Hideaway, overall an excellent experience and with the right improvements, it truly could be a leading hotel as the title says.

Service / Staff
You are greeted wherever you are in the complex with staff that love their jobs, and want to be there. Yes, there are some language barriers but who cares? They are so pleasant it makes no real difference. My one issue with the whole holiday is a couple of the reception staff. Our check in and check out wasn't great, and we were called at 5.30am in the morning one day for what we could see as no real reason - very strange. Our meal on the beach was also cancelled, and we were told we would have something else booked in – this didn’t happen. Mistakes happen and we got on with it.
I was surprised how many were able to remember your names and make it a personal experience. Even met the boss on one occasion who was keen to make sure our stay was going well. Njundi at the beach was a top bloke, and really gave us that 5 star feel.

Setting
Amazing, Beach is the best i have had the pleasure of seeing, the gardens are beautiful and the pool is top notch. The evenings are blessed with lovely sunsets and perfect for a great picture. The complex feels safe at all times with lots of staff all over the place. The whole island is superb and if you invest in some water sports trips through the hotel you get to see even more of it.

Food.
Loved it. I like my food and despite previous reviews i thought it was great. I couldn't have eaten more of it. It is worth booking a restaurant away from the buffet to mix it up a bit, but overall good selection. Lazy breakfasts, long lunches and Al fresco dinners are on order, and I dare say the Mrs and I got through our fair share of the house red – which was very nice by the way.

Rooms
Didn’t think it would be, but this was one of the most impressive parts. The staff either clean or re stock the room three times a day, and makes it a great place to retire from the Sun or the Rain. Some of our best times were spent in the privacy of our own balcony, taking in the scenery with a glass of wine. The complex is fairly big, requesting a room nearer the sea would benefit you, even though there is a golf buggy service.

This is my first review on Trip Advisor. I used all the reviews previously on here to select this place and I was not disappointed – so I thought it would be worth putting my two pennies in. I am a realist, and the disappointing bits of some of the reception staff could be down to an off day, or honest mistakes. Hideaway could do with better entertainment, as one previous review said that the only thing accurate about the evening entertainment - is that it was in the evening. I agree with that but again there are drinks to be drunk and enough nice people to have a good time.
A great week with some wonderful memories, and sitting at my desk writing this review, I know where I would rather be.

Room Tip: As close to the Beach / Pool as possible - will save your legs at eating times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Gavin S, Thank you for your long and insightful Trip Advisor review, we all at The Hideaway of Nungwi are delighted you enjoyed your week at the resort. Apologies that we did not always get it totally right, we are as a new management team undergoing extensive training of all our staff, which undoubtably will help us sharpen the operation. With regards to the entertainment your comments have been noted, we are looking all over the island in order to get new talent, our aim is to provide more variety in the evenings. Again thank you for your comments do please come back and visit us it would be our pleasure to welcome you, Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We wanted somewhere special for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed! We were very impressed with the layout of the hotel and its grounds. The gardens are kept in excellent condition by the friendly gardeners. The website photographs show suites of the highest standard and we were not disappointed at all. The suite was spotless and extremely well equipped. Although we had forgotten our European plug adaptors we were able to borrow one from Reception. The area around the pool is great and there are plenty of sun loungers and towels for all. The infinity pool is a great place to chill out and look out to the ocean. Sunsets were special every day. The quality of the food and drink was excelkent, with plenty of choice. Mary in the poolside bar was especially helpful, with an infectiou smile. Her helpfulness and friendliness was typical of all the staff. The General Manager and Reception staff were especially helpful in trying to replace a broken camera cable, and sending to Stone Town for one, which even though it didn't fit, they did not charge us. The beach is stunning and well worth a walk along, although at the far end there are a few sellers of souveniers who will try to pesuade you to buy their goods. This they do in a friendly way. When you obtain you shillings at the airport try and get the notes in small denomination. 5000 shillings or less would be ideal. Also have Us dollars as the shop on site prices items in dollars and they are often asked for in Stone Town. All in all we were spoilt every day and thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon at Hideaway of Nungwi.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view. We hade room 102 next to reception which was a short walk from the main f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Paul W, many thanks for your kind words. We were delighted to hear that you had the special honeymoon you wished for at Hideaway of Nungwi. Sunsets are indeed different everyday and not to be missed. We are glad to see that you appreciated it as well as the friendliness of our staff. It was are pleasure hosting and hope that we will have the opportunity to do it again. Until then and with kind regards,
Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I feel inclined to write my first review on TripAdvisor after such an amazing stay at Hideaway with friends last month. From arrival we were treated like Kings; the staff were always friendly and on hand to cater our needs be it at the pool, beach or restaurants. The main draw in visiting Hideaway was I'd heard about it's spectacular beach location- we were not disappointed! It is a photographers dream, very picturesque with crystal clear water and white sand. The beach staff were very friendly and attentive serving us with fresh fruit and cocktails throughout the day, on top of this we also enjoyed use of the water sports equipment such as the kayaks and paddle boards. We spent most of our time relaxing on the beach and for us it made our experience not just great but superb. The food was very good, a lot of choice on the buffet and their pizza's were delicious! My room was what one would expect from a 5* establishment, clean with full amenity's. Evenings produced spectacular sunsets which we sat back and watched either in the shisha lounge or the pool bar over a few of drinks. For me it was the perfect place to unwind for a week and will definitely be returning next year. Thank you to all the staff at Hideaway such an amazing experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear TheWeeScotsman, Thank you so much for your kind Trip Advisor review of our wonderful resort. We all at The Hideaway of Nungwi are delighted you had such a great stay with us and so obviously appreciated all aspects of our lovely property. Your review has been shared with our entire team and will be much appreciated. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Hideaway of Nungwi, Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
2.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
15.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
14.2 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Property: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing