We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
“Wonderful vacations”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our first true vacations with our baby were wonderful in this little piece of paradise. We were pleasantly surprised with the services, the location, the facilities and the accommodation, everybody was very kind and very attentive to our needs. The spa was great!. We really got to relax and enjoy our stay. We're back at home and missing you guys!!!
There are only a few suggestions I'd like to make to improve even more the services: like install a changing table on the kid's club bathroom (I know it's not a place designed for babies under 3 years, but it would be a nice touch and it won't need much); implement a better method to deliver the special orders on Acqua restaurant, like assign table numbers or give a number associated to the order, so the servers will know for sure who ordered what, and it would be nice to have more golf carts to give rides after lunch/dinner time.
We're really looking forward to be back in the near future!!!
Regards,
Susana, Miguel & Danielito

Room Tip: Maybe rooms nearer the pool would be a little bit nice, because the distance to most of the faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanacath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Susana, Miguel and Danielito, many thanks for such kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent time with us and that you enjoyed our beautiful location as well as our facilities and our attentive staff. Our spa team was delighted to know how much you relaxed thanks to their services. We are grateful for your feedback which has been shared with our departments. It was very nice hosting the three of you and we will welcome you again with great pleasure. Warm regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    258
    86
    42
    24
See reviews for
328
700
50
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

A leading hotel of the world means the hotel is in the luxury category and meets the most exacting standards with respect to accommodation ,service,cuisine,employee behaviour and FACILITIES.firstly this site is world class with one of the best beaches and swimming areas in Zanzibar,if not the best .the cuisine is excellent,varied ,and plenty for all tastes.the buffets are superb and the aka carte restaurants are wonderful .the Friday night gala dinner is worthy of its title.the rooms are excellent ,we had a superior suite in the exclusive area .the issue in the rooms is service and TV facilities..housekeeping is good but the mini bar was not replenished regularly ie tea and sugars.the mini bar itself had water,beer and cold drinks - a very poor choice for a room that costs U$500 a night.the butler disappeared after the first day and was never seen again.the tv ceased to work as the site is plagued by electricity outages.the choice of channels is very sub standard ie Chinese news,French and Italian news,two sports channels and a movie channel.most channels didn't work in the ten days we were present.the service at dinner,breakfast etc is excellent.the issues arise when one is at the pool or at the beach.the drink service is good but to get food can take up to 45 minutes.the staff do not seem to know how to deal with customers who are not on an all inclusive system .there are generally too many waiters at meal time who seem to operate on an unco ordinated basis ie you are asked all the time if you need something or if everything is ok.the staff are wonderfully friendly but clearly not experienced with senior management sorely lacking in the required skills to train people.this is a magnificent site but proper management is needed.the GM,Mr John or is it Jolly Rogers is really a back of house type individual not suitable for a leading hotel of the world.special mention must go to Lucy at guest relations who is excellent and the head chef who is superb .this site can be a leading hotel but it has a long way to go .

Room Tip: Buy the cheapest room as the upgrades are a waste of money .all rooms are suites anyway .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohannesburgALAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear JohannesburgALAN, we thank you for taking the time to write your review. We were very happy to see that you had a nice stay with us and especially enjoyed the quality of our food offer in all three restaurants as well as the efficiency our friendly staff there. It was nice to hear how much you appreciated the design of our rooms as well as the location. As mentioned, we were experiencing some power cuts which are subject to the island electricity supplies and not directly related to us, we do have a generator back-up and it takes 10 seconds to start. We are grateful for your feedback and have already shared it with our food and beverage department. We were however surprised from your comments about the butler disappearing as our record shows that he checked on you every day. It was a real pleasure hosting the both of you and we hope to have the opportunity to do welcome you again. Warm regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent a week at Hideaway, a very pleasant surprise. The accommodation was clean and very well appointed. The pool and beach facilities are great, one could not ask for a better setting.
The dive center staff were wonderful, the spa and gym facilities were top class.
The food ( we dined at the Aqua restaurant), was varied and of good quality, with lots of fresh salads and fruit available. The constant supply of varied seafood was a treat. As mentioned in prior reviews, the waitrons do need more training. I found them very friendly but intrusive, often interrupting conversations, removing unfinished meals and cultlery and removing half finished drinks. It was difficult to relax at meal times.There is a definite language barrier so either the guests need to learn more Swahili (beyond jambo, Hakuna Matata or asante sana) or the staff need to learn basic terms ( such as tea with skimmed milk).
However that did not retract from the wonderful overall experience and I would not hesitate to recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Jonathan H, thanks a lot for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are glad you had such a good time with us and will recommend our resort. We are very grateful for your feedback, which have been shared and will help us move forward. Our Chef was happy to hear that you enjoyed the quality of his food as well as the variety of our offer. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon in this beautiful setting. Warm Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Simply fabulous...the hotel is excellent, perfect location, beautiful people...very good value for money... Once again, I would like to thank to the whole team: manager, front desk, bar, restaurant, cleaning, entertainment...you all are doing a great job, congratulations and many thanks for the great service you are offering to your guests.

It was a real pleasure to meet all of you and to spend our holiday together, I can’t wait to come back in the future, along with our family and friends.

Regards, Mihaela & Bogdan, Bucharest/ Romania

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Mihaela and Bogdan, many thanks for such a kind review about your stay at the Hideaway of Nungwi. It was our pleasure welcoming and hosting the both of you and we are glad to see how much you enjoyed the friendliness and efficiency of our staff, as well as the beauty of our location and property. It was very nice meeting you and the whole Hideaway Team would welcome you and your friends and family again, with great pleasure. Best regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Beautiful location, glorious beach and sea, and superb food. However, the service varied widely from good to eye-poppingly, jaw-droppingly awful. The majority of the staff are willing but it is obvious that that they are woefully under-trained with little, or no, supervision. Senior management, with one or two exceptions, is disinterested and dismissive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Pumi M, many thanks for your comment about the Hideaway of Nungwi. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the beauty of our location as well as the quality of our food offer. We are sorry that our service did not meet your expectations and sincerely apologize. We remain however very surprised that you found our senior management disinterested as we have gathered a new team of quite skilled and experienced managers at the Hideaway of Nungwi and their top priority is the well-being of our valued guests. We all hope to have the chance to welcome you again and serve you better. Best regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at this property in October 2013 as part of a large group and we absolutely loved the rooms and the pool and the beach bar. They have the tastiest cocktails at the beach bar.
The only thing that spoilt it for us was the attitude of the Indian vegetarian chef. He was very quick to say no to everything and not too accommodating especially seeing that 90% of our group of 9 people was vegetarian and there was not much else to eat in the buffet. We are not Italian so eating pizza and pasta for all meals everyday becomes a bit difficult especially if we stayed more than 2 days. The meal at the Asian restaurant was one of the best we have had even in proper restaurants in Kenya.
Being charged for Shisha was also not taken well by the group seeing that we were on all inclusive.
We all thought that this was the only let down in the hotel and we would not recommend it to strict vegetarians as they will not enjoy themselves. We stayed a few nights thereafter at the La Gemma exactly next door and their F&B team was much more accommodating. They more than made up for the rooms not being so snazzy with their food and the free Shisha bar was also an added plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildmanNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear WildmanNairobi, we thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review about the Hideaway of Nungwi. We were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our facilities and our tasty cocktails. We are sorry that your experience with our former Sous-Chef at the time did not meet your expectations. We have hired a new Sous-Chef since and as he is a vegetarian himself. We do believe that our vegetarian offer has improved quite a lot and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future, especially regarding our cuisine. Warm regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel was excellent. The rooms were beautiful with a view of the sea even though we werent close to the coast. No wi-fi in the rooms. Definite downside. Fortunately, we booked soon after opening and had discount opening rates on the junior luxury suite. Good value for money. Charged east africa resident rates for us even though one of us was an international visitor. Responsive on email. Staff who picked phone when i called for enquiries didnt speak/understand english very well.

We (two young women) were the only black people at the hotel during our 5 day stay. Junior staff were friendly and helpful. Senior management (particularly front desk manager) was not very helpful when internet went down in hotel and we needed emergency backup for conference call. The idea to buy a local sim card came from junior staff thought it shd have come from management. Junior staff was also punished for allowing us to drive a golf cart from room to reception which was one of the highlights of the trip for me. I thought it was great that I could drive a golf cart - driving wasnt reckless either! Was probably moving at less than 10km/hr and I have an international driving license!

Also, my friend and I were on different packages even though we were sharing the same suite (all inclusive - all meals & drinks inclusive; and half board - which included breakfast and one meal either lunch or dinner). This was a problem everytime we went for a meal since there didnt seem to be a system to manage tracking and it was very irritating to be quizzed abt it for every meal, every single day of our stay. To crown it all the Indian front officer manager was very rude at checkout - questioning who had drinks and who ate what, when. If the hotel didnt have the capacity to manage offering two different packages for the same room they shdnt have offered it. Seemed very racist and offensive and considering the unhelpfulness from the same manager when the internet went down was not impressed at all by the service.

The above notwithstanding, cultural performances/entertainment was good. Outdoor jacuzzi was freezing cold. Sauna had teething problems but when it worked it was good. Had pedicure manicure and full body scrub and massage - all good. Gym was goo - decent array of equipment and view of the sea as you sweat. Yoga instructor was ok was more of a cool-down-stretches-after-gym session than yoga. Went out on the catamaran severally that was great! Snorkeling and numerous other deep sea activities (parasailing, swimming with the dolphins) available if you have the time and money - everything was slightly pricey for a budget traveller (abt $120 per activity). Also hotel was over an hour and a half away from the airport and an hour to stone town transportation one way cost abt $50.

We elected not to leave the hotel and spent 5 days doing absolutely nothing - gym, beach, pool, shisha, catamaran, sleep, beach parties & evening entertainment, watching the stars and interacting with mostly the f&b staff. Most others there were couples and families on a romantic holiday or on vacation. Dress code: bikinis hats and margueritas all day! All in all a beautiful holiday despite the senior management. Will definitely recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emi-Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Emi-Beth A, Thank you for your Trip advisor review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us last July and appreciated our very competitive opening promotional rates. Since your visit the entire management team at the hotel has changed and we have ironed out most of the initial teething problems that occur at any hotel opening. With regards to the driving of our buggies by guests we of course cannot allow this with regard to the health and safety of our valued guests.
Regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
2.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
615 reviews
15.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,562 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
1.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Property: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing