We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Zanzibar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Here for five days with family. Kids 8,11 and 13 had a blast too. Very nice spa with reasonable prices. Food was very good and service was very good as well. Internet service was lame which was only negative. Beautiful beach and pool area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Michael G, we thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Hideaway of Nungwi. We were delighted to hear that you and your family had such a nice time with us. Our Food and Beverage Team was glad to hear how much you appreciated our food offer as well as our helpful staff. We thank you for your feedback and have already shared it with all our departments which were very encouraged by it. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you or your friends and family soon. Warm regards, Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
There are newer reviews for Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

With pristine beaches, gorgeous sunset views and fabulous food, this all inclusive resort makes you want to come back for more. The staff is attentive & the luxury offered is unparalleled. The pool as well as other amenities are fabulous. Only let down was no WiFi in the room (the hotel needs to understand that latest gadgets don't come with Ethernet options). The WiFi was quite good in the restaurants, pool & main lobby.

The spa is great & would highly recommend for some good deserved pampering.

Room Tip: The luxury junior suites give you the best bang for the buck. Ask for a room on the first (ground...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sona_G81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Sumi H, we thank you very much for your kind words and were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your beautiful setting as well as our facilities and the kindness of our staff. Our Chef was thrilled to read that you appreciated his food and our Spa team is very grateful for the recommendation. We will welcome you again anytime with great pleasure. Warm regards, Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our first true vacations with our baby were wonderful in this little piece of paradise. We were pleasantly surprised with the services, the location, the facilities and the accommodation, everybody was very kind and very attentive to our needs. The spa was great!. We really got to relax and enjoy our stay. We're back at home and missing you guys!!!
There are only a few suggestions I'd like to make to improve even more the services: like install a changing table on the kid's club bathroom (I know it's not a place designed for babies under 3 years, but it would be a nice touch and it won't need much); implement a better method to deliver the special orders on Acqua restaurant, like assign table numbers or give a number associated to the order, so the servers will know for sure who ordered what, and it would be nice to have more golf carts to give rides after lunch/dinner time.
We're really looking forward to be back in the near future!!!
Regards,
Susana, Miguel & Danielito

Room Tip: Maybe rooms nearer the pool would be a little bit nice, because the distance to most of the faciliti...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanacath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Susana, Miguel and Danielito, many thanks for such kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent time with us and that you enjoyed our beautiful location as well as our facilities and our attentive staff. Our spa team was delighted to know how much you relaxed thanks to their services. We are grateful for your feedback which has been shared with our departments. It was very nice hosting the three of you and we will welcome you again with great pleasure. Warm regards, Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

A leading hotel of the world means the hotel is in the luxury category and meets the most exacting standards with respect to accommodation ,service,cuisine,employee behaviour and FACILITIES.firstly this site is world class with one of the best beaches and swimming areas in Zanzibar,if not the best .the cuisine is excellent,varied ,and plenty for all tastes.the buffets are superb and the aka carte restaurants are wonderful .the Friday night gala dinner is worthy of its title.the rooms are excellent ,we had a superior suite in the exclusive area .the issue in the rooms is service and TV facilities..housekeeping is good but the mini bar was not replenished regularly ie tea and sugars.the mini bar itself had water,beer and cold drinks - a very poor choice for a room that costs U$500 a night.the butler disappeared after the first day and was never seen again.the tv ceased to work as the site is plagued by electricity outages.the choice of channels is very sub standard ie Chinese news,French and Italian news,two sports channels and a movie channel.most channels didn't work in the ten days we were present.the service at dinner,breakfast etc is excellent.the issues arise when one is at the pool or at the beach.the drink service is good but to get food can take up to 45 minutes.the staff do not seem to know how to deal with customers who are not on an all inclusive system .there are generally too many waiters at meal time who seem to operate on an unco ordinated basis ie you are asked all the time if you need something or if everything is ok.the staff are wonderfully friendly but clearly not experienced with senior management sorely lacking in the required skills to train people.this is a magnificent site but proper management is needed.the GM,Mr John or is it Jolly Rogers is really a back of house type individual not suitable for a leading hotel of the world.special mention must go to Lucy at guest relations who is excellent and the head chef who is superb .this site can be a leading hotel but it has a long way to go .

Room Tip: Buy the cheapest room as the upgrades are a waste of money .all rooms are suites anyway .
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohannesburgALAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear JohannesburgALAN, we thank you for taking the time to write your review. We were very happy to see that you had a nice stay with us and especially enjoyed the quality of our food offer in all three restaurants as well as the efficiency our friendly staff there. It was nice to hear how much you appreciated the design of our rooms as well as the location. As mentioned, we were experiencing some power cuts which are subject to the island electricity supplies and not directly related to us, we do have a generator back-up and it takes 10 seconds to start. We are grateful for your feedback and have already shared it with our food and beverage department. We were however surprised from your comments about the butler disappearing as our record shows that he checked on you every day. It was a real pleasure hosting the both of you and we hope to have the opportunity to do welcome you again. Warm regards, Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent a week at Hideaway, a very pleasant surprise. The accommodation was clean and very well appointed. The pool and beach facilities are great, one could not ask for a better setting.
The dive center staff were wonderful, the spa and gym facilities were top class.
The food ( we dined at the Aqua restaurant), was varied and of good quality, with lots of fresh salads and fruit available. The constant supply of varied seafood was a treat. As mentioned in prior reviews, the waitrons do need more training. I found them very friendly but intrusive, often interrupting conversations, removing unfinished meals and cultlery and removing half finished drinks. It was difficult to relax at meal times.There is a definite language barrier so either the guests need to learn more Swahili (beyond jambo, Hakuna Matata or asante sana) or the staff need to learn basic terms ( such as tea with skimmed milk).
However that did not retract from the wonderful overall experience and I would not hesitate to recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Jonathan H, thanks a lot for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are glad you had such a good time with us and will recommend our resort. We are very grateful for your feedback, which have been shared and will help us move forward. Our Chef was happy to hear that you enjoyed the quality of his food as well as the variety of our offer. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon in this beautiful setting. Warm Regards, Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Simply fabulous...the hotel is excellent, perfect location, beautiful people...very good value for money... Once again, I would like to thank to the whole team: manager, front desk, bar, restaurant, cleaning, entertainment...you all are doing a great job, congratulations and many thanks for the great service you are offering to your guests.

It was a real pleasure to meet all of you and to spend our holiday together, I can’t wait to come back in the future, along with our family and friends.

Regards, Mihaela & Bogdan, Bucharest/ Romania

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Mihaela and Bogdan, many thanks for such a kind review about your stay at the Hideaway of Nungwi. It was our pleasure welcoming and hosting the both of you and we are glad to see how much you enjoyed the friendliness and efficiency of our staff, as well as the beauty of our location and property. It was very nice meeting you and the whole Hideaway Team would welcome you and your friends and family again, with great pleasure. Best regards, Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Beautiful location, glorious beach and sea, and superb food. However, the service varied widely from good to eye-poppingly, jaw-droppingly awful. The majority of the staff are willing but it is obvious that that they are woefully under-trained with little, or no, supervision. Senior management, with one or two exceptions, is disinterested and dismissive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Pumi M, many thanks for your comment about the Hideaway of Nungwi. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the beauty of our location as well as the quality of our food offer. We are sorry that our service did not meet your expectations and sincerely apologize. We remain however very surprised that you found our senior management disinterested as we have gathered a new team of quite skilled and experienced managers at the Hideaway of Nungwi and their top priority is the well-being of our valued guests. We all hope to have the chance to welcome you again and serve you better. Best regards, Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
15.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
2.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
630 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
21.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £227 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing