We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,836)
Filter reviews
1,836 results
Traveller rating
1,338
316
106
48
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,338
316
106
48
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aqua restaurant carnivorous restaurant jacuzzi suite resort spa teppanyaki restaurant gosht gala dinner all inclusive package our honeymoon a la carte restaurants diving center infinity pool special thanks kids club beautiful resort beach bar pool staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,057 - 1,062 of 1,836 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

After days on the road in the African sun we were ready for some relaxation in nice surroundings. We chose the Nungwi Hidaway because of the Leading Hotel brand. Unfortunately, the only leading quality of this hotel is the location in the beautiful island of Zanzibar. And the buildings and structure of the resort are not to shabby, either. otherwise, we found this hotel to be an absolute mess. Service was erratic and mostly very slow, not so much to the fault of the general staff but inadequate training and management. Diving facilities practically non existent, spa services very primitive and the quality of the food was nothing to write home about. This place does not do the leading hotel brand any favours, indeed we seriously question whether it can be relied upon in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sif T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Sif T, we were saddened and shocked to read your Trip Advisor review. As a team, we try to go out of our way to look after all our valued guests and if we had been aware of any of your issues, we would have done our best to alleviate them. Best regards, Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Terrible service with untrained waiters, horrible food with no variety, non helpful hotel management. Definitely a 2 star. However, clean rooms,great atmosphere and good beach. Needs reconsideration of being a member of Leading Hotels of the World! Imagine a Rolls Royce with a Toyota Engine.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Litred9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Litred9, how disappointed we were to receive your Trip Advisor review. We the management team at the Hideaway of Nungwi, very much care for all our valued guests and we are here to help whenever we can. Regards, Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Here for five days with family. Kids 8,11 and 13 had a blast too. Very nice spa with reasonable prices. Food was very good and service was very good as well. Internet service was lame which was only negative. Beautiful beach and pool area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Michael G, we thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Hideaway of Nungwi. We were delighted to hear that you and your family had such a nice time with us. Our Food and Beverage Team was glad to hear how much you appreciated our food offer as well as our helpful staff. We thank you for your feedback and have already shared it with all our departments which were very encouraged by it. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you or your friends and family soon. Warm regards, Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

With pristine beaches, gorgeous sunset views and fabulous food, this all inclusive resort makes you want to come back for more. The staff is attentive & the luxury offered is unparalleled. The pool as well as other amenities are fabulous. Only let down was no WiFi in the room (the hotel needs to understand that latest gadgets don't come with Ethernet options). The WiFi was quite good in the restaurants, pool & main lobby.

The spa is great & would highly recommend for some good deserved pampering.

Room Tip: The luxury junior suites give you the best bang for the buck. Ask for a room on the first (ground + 1) floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sona_G81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Sumi H, we thank you very much for your kind words and were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your beautiful setting as well as our facilities and the kindness of our staff. Our Chef was thrilled to read that you appreciated his food and our Spa team is very grateful for the recommendation. We will welcome you again anytime with great pleasure. Warm regards, Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our first true vacations with our baby were wonderful in this little piece of paradise. We were pleasantly surprised with the services, the location, the facilities and the accommodation, everybody was very kind and very attentive to our needs. The spa was great!. We really got to relax and enjoy our stay. We're back at home and missing you guys!!!
There are only a few suggestions I'd like to make to improve even more the services: like install a changing table on the kid's club bathroom (I know it's not a place designed for babies under 3 years, but it would be a nice touch and it won't need much); implement a better method to deliver the special orders on Acqua restaurant, like assign table numbers or give a number associated to the order, so the servers will know for sure who ordered what, and it would be nice to have more golf carts to give rides after lunch/dinner time.
We're really looking forward to be back in the near future!!!
Regards,
Susana, Miguel & Danielito

Room Tip: Maybe rooms nearer the pool would be a little bit nice, because the distance to most of the facilities is less, but apart from that, the quality and cleanliness are equally excellent
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanacath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Susana, Miguel and Danielito, many thanks for such kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent time with us and that you enjoyed our beautiful location as well as our facilities and our attentive staff. Our spa team was delighted to know how much you relaxed thanks to their services. We are grateful for your feedback which has been shared with our departments. It was very nice hosting the three of you and we will welcome you again with great pleasure. Warm regards, Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews