We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE ON EARTH........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Kerteminde, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“PARADISE ON EARTH........”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We just spend 12 absolutely wonderful days at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. From the moment we arrived, we felt like we arrived in Heaven. We could not have dreamt of any better place for our vacation. Everything lived up to our expectations in any way. The staff is very friendly and helpful to an extend we have not experienced any other place. Surroundings are stunning and the sea is crystal-clear and warm. Food is varied and very delicious and there is something for any taste.
Hopefully we will get a chance to come back and visit some other time - we miss everything and everybody there!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank viniiuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear viniiuel, Many thanks for your kind review regarding your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi. It was a pleasure having you and your family around. We were delighted to hear that you felt you were in Heaven thanks to our friendly staff, beautiful setting and tasty food. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you all again! Warmest regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    254
    84
    41
    24
See reviews for
316
677
48
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We flew with Oman air via Muscat. Very good airline. We had a private pickup from the airport and the driver was waiting for us just after we got through baggage claims. We got a very warm rececption at the hotel. Nothing was too much for the staff. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and try to help in anyway they can. The guys at the pool get very upset if you try to the towels on the beds yourself! The rooms are large and well proportioned with just about everything - a washing line in the shower would be handy to hang up wet swimming clothes. We had a larger room with butler - lovely lady who kept popping in with treats. We enjoyed the food although after the first week we had seen pretty much everything on the buffet. The pastas and pizzas are excelent. What we would like to have seen at meals would have been plain rice - rice was always stir fried often with seafood which is great but not every meal. The hotel is beautifully layed out with very well kept gardens. The beach was covered at high tide whoch meant picking the right times to go for a stroll but the newsletter we got each evening had details of the tides. Not sure if the sea always comes up so high we were there over a full moon. The pool and spa are very eye catching and the jaccuzzi in the spa is a great place to relax if you want more peace and quiet (there were quite a few children in our second week). All in all a great place to relax. Would certainly reccomend this hotel. I think the only really negative point was the bed - much too hard but that is a matter of taste.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a room with butler - they are also closer to the pool as the hotel is on a deceiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CH-GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear CH-GB, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us. We are glad that you have such a wonderful time at Hideaway of Nungwi and that you felt pampered thanks to the service of our friendly staff, especially our butlers. Our Chefs were delighted to read the nice compliments regarding our food offer and are grateful for your feedback which they will keep in mind. Regarding the tides, it is true that during full moon periods they tends to be higher and lower than usual. It was a pleasure meeting the both of you and the entire team hopes to welcome you again. Warm regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aartselaar, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We just came back from a weeks holliday with the family in Hideaway and I has been an amazing experience. We decided to take advantage of the buttler service and I must say that Alonsia and Menladi did more then an amazing job to make us feel like home. The service and outsanding food is unparralled vs any holliday resort I have been to.

Also, I applaud the management for having decided to take Andrea as the leader for the hotel diving center. The service you get in the diving center is outstanding and the advise my suns got during the courses was perfect.

The only advise I would have is to upscale the music at night as it was mostly repetitive in lyrics which can become a nuance if your are 7 days on there.

Room Tip: Choose a room with buttler service- 152/153/151 were all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slam_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Slam_10, We thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi and especially for your encouraging compliments regarding our butlers, Alonsia and Menladi, whom we are very proud of. Our Food and Beverage Team is also very grateful for your nice feedback regarding the level of service and food offer. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon. Warmest regards from the Spice Island, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The staff and management of this lovely hotel could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable.
There are several different standards of villas but they are all good, We wanted to be near to
the main pool and restaurant. We did stay in the main villa with its own pool and Jacuzzi due to an upgrade. If
you are looking for something special this is it. My husband doesn't eat meat and the chef came every day to see what he would like to eat in the way of something special but there are several
restaurants and the food is excellent in all especially the Sushi restaurant which even though my
husband says he doesn't like was his favourite.. The manager and his wife are really charming and are on hand to chat and make sure that all is as you would like and expect. Lovely pool area
and great coktails...Lots of water sports and lovely people at the marine booking office. The advantage of this hotel is that the tide does not go too far out and you can swim all day unlike many areas where you are left with reef due to low tides. Lovely walks along the beach to the
village.

Room Tip: Choose the best you can afford near to the pool and restaurants with a sea view Although this prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MISERABLEMUNCHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear MISERABLEMUNCHER, We thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. The Hideaway of Nungwi Team was thrilled to hear that you appreciated our service and friendliness. We were happy to read that you enjoyed our facilities and our food offer, especially Ishi-Teppanyaki. We hope to welcome the both of you again soon for more swim and walk on the beach. Warm regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It was our 26th wedding anniversary and I really wanted to celebrate in style. I was looking at all the reviews on trip advisor and Hideaway of Nungwi had the best reviews. I also noticed that Lucy the guest relations manager really went out of her way to answer every review good or bad. I figured if someone took that much of time to answer all the reviews, customer satisfaction must be very important to this hotel, that's why I chose this hotel and I had the best experience of my life.
I regret that I chose to stay 4nights, I wish I had stayed 7. The room we had was so stunning and comfortable, I didn't want to leave it. Obviously the upstairs rooms have fantastic sea views and the sunsets are every photographers dream. The rooms are serviced twice a day and are sprayed with insect repellant. The mosquitoes are a nuisance, must apply a repellant if you out at night. The gardens and the pathways are so well maintained. We were pleasantly surprised with champagne on ice and glasses on our anniversary. The food was of the best quality and variety for all types of people. The chef Sanjeev really went out of his way to prepare special curries for my husband who missed home food a little. Vegetarians will enjoy the cuisine offered at this hotel and there's always an abundance of seafood. All the staff at the hotel are so friendly and helpful from Management,Reception, drivers,cleaners, restaurants, beach bar to the dive centre. Didi was very accommodating and very sweet and full of smiles. We dined under the stars 2 nights while were there, it was an unforgettable experience. The staff and management really go all out when they prepare for this. Be sure not to miss it. Entertainment was African theme, it was fine but I think there should be a little more variety. The beach was one of its kind, softest whitest sand and absolutely turquoise water. It is like swimming in a swimming pool. The beach bar makes the best Mojitos I have ever tasted and the coldest beers. I spent most of my time snorkelling at the hotel beach and seen such unbelievable sea creatures. I wish I had a underwater camera. The tide never is never too high to swim at any part of the day. There's so much more I can say about this hotel but I think you have to go there to make your own experience. Take anall inclusive package, it is very worth it.

Room Tip: The upstairs have a better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SxcLady500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear SxcLady500, Many thanks for your thorough review and for your kind comments. Our entire Team was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our service and facilities. Sanjeewa was very grateful for your nice compliments regarding the vegetarian dishes. It was a real pleasure meeting you both and we hope to have you back to celebrate more anniversaries! Best regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

When we just enter the gate of Hideaway, We all seems come to the paradise.same as it named hideaway. My mother , bather , sister and the niece are very happy to stay at the very nice room.
We love the garden,the swimming pool, the beach, the food, the wine....
We took the thousands picture of our happy stay and we rely enjoy our stay.
My niece just 2 years old, the waiter is take care of my niece, so we can enjoy our food and my niece also likes the Dada. very good food, we love the fried noodles of lunch and the wonderful dinner done the pool side.
very good service !

The Hideaway just the best place for Holiday!

Room Tip: Superior Junior Suite the room is bigger and has nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Lulu0723, We thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and were so happy to hear that the whole family had such a nice time. We were delighted to look at your pictures and see how much you appreciated our facilities. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again soon as you are just a stone’s throw away! Best regards, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

'HideawayNungwi'... as the name states itself... it is truely a hideaway from all... me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for three nights in one of the best Jacuzzi Suite and with breath taking view of the Indian ocean.
Our private privilege area was exceptionally great. Our personal bottler and our own jacuzzi to have an amazing time together... we simply can not forget. The food is delicious in all the restaurants... Aqua and Carnivorous restaurant... one must try the variety of meat in here... and believe me you will not be disappointed. My boyfriend's birthday private celebration in our suite was made more special by delicious Chocolate cake n champaign. Special thank u goes to Lucie the Guest Relations manager... Augustin the Front desk manager... and my good friend George the Sales and Marketing manager who is always ready to assist me in my bookings at Hideaway.
We can not wait to come back to this hotel for some more romantic and peaceful time together. Keep up the good work team... ahsante sana...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysteriousPooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear PoonamDivecha, Many thanks for your kind review regarding your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi. It was our great pleasure to welcome you again and we are glad that you chose to celebrate your boyfriend’s birthday with us. Our entire team is very grateful for your encouraging comments. Our Chefs were very happy to hear how much you have enjoyed the food and especially the meat in Carnivorous and more. We are all looking forward to welcoming you again. Until then, warmest regards from the Spice Island, Lucie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
2.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
612 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
14.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,548 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Property: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing