We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

After 5 days of safari this was the
perfect relaxing spot! Stayed 3 nights in junior suite on halfboard basis. The suite had a view of the sea and sunset! Huge room, spacious bathroom and a balcony with lounge chairs. The staff was very friendly. Food was plenty and tasty. They have a private beach with loads of beach chairs. The view was amazing. Overall perfect!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Manik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Manik S, Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to read that you had a perfect, relaxing holiday with us. We hope to see you again in the future, maybe for a longer stay. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    254
    84
    41
    24
See reviews for
317
679
48
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Well what a wonderful resort to stay in , our room in the privellage area was fantastic with our own butler 24 hours a day,
Our room was cleaned thoroughly every day.
We had breakfast on our verandah most mornings brought and laid out by our butler.
The pool staff were friendly and helpful always checking to make sure we were ok.
The stroll along the beach was great, although you have to say no to all the vendors on the beach.
We ate in the carnivore restaurant which we think was the best place to eat. The only criticism I would say that all the buffet meals need to be hotter, but you could have food cooked fresh to which was always piping hot.
Would recommend only going half board and then pay the extra as I think was better value

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear colin h, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We are glad to read how much you appreciated our service from our very friendly and hard working staff. I have passed on your comments to our Executive Chef and I am sure we would provide even better service when you visit us next. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and i are very disappointed.
The Hotel feel shoked when the guest experience staff body odor or fake smile from the front desk agent or poor dining service and low average food.
How do you think the guest should feel, when arrives in a 5starL resort, part of the The leading hotels of the world.
We waited 30 minutes, as the room was not ready, not even a welcome drink, the room was dirty with hairs in the bath from previous guest, long wait for an attendent to re-clean.
Bread crumbs on the sofa and dirty curtains.
Our waiter at dinner had body odor, i do not know if you let them have a break or it is his phisical problem, but if i noticed you should too because it was orrible.
The management, the big excecutives, told us that his working on a free complain enviroment, very well and good luck, and what about unticipate before the mistake happen, as 5 StarL resort you should be able to do it unless the management comes from a different standard.
My wife and i can do accept a slight wait on the food or valet but not on a body odor waiter.
The food was orrible, what we can expect from a buffet, is not the Peacock Alley in New York, but we put a trust in you as 5starL resort and you turn us down with poor ingredients, lack of choice, bland taste and poor service.
My wife and i will remember that beautifull nation but not that resort and we gonna make sure, whom ever, to do not go in your resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Basil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Basil R, Thank you for the time you took to write on TripAdvisor. We are surprised to read your review: we never receive bad comments regarding the cleanliness of the resort and low marks regarding the location. Our check-in time is from 2pm and it could happen that you have to wait for your room if you arrive earlier, but we offer alternatives for guests, such as waiting for the room in the Lobby or enjoying a drink or two at the Bar or having lunch/snack in the meantime. So we take all of the comments on board in order to learn from them and provide a very high standard service to our valued guests. All of our staff members work very hard and most of them spend hours on the sun, but we do provide them time and facility to refresh themselfes before, during and after their shifts. Our Food & Beverages team continuously strives to meet our guests' tastes, they would have been happy to have a discussion with you and prepare something else for your liking, as we did to other guests, who talked to our Chef about their preferences. Please read comments and you would also see how satisfied they were after talking to Chef. Unfortunately you did not demonstrate your disappointment to us, but only several compliments during your stay regarding service, facilities and staff as well. We would love to have you again as our guests, spending great time at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Amongst all the similar class resorts that i have stayed at in Zanzibar, the Hideaway is no doubt the clove topping on the Zanzibar spice package. this is one place where you can be on vacation among many other guests but where you can still be privately catered for in all ways imaginable. We loved the way the resort is spread out and all the choices for restaurants, pool, spas, gym and rest areas. Additionally, even though the stretch of beach in the north being the best that you can find in Zanzibar, the comfort and care at the Hideway makes it seem as if you are at a higher level compared to the nearby places. We certainly look forward to our next visit, mostly probably a longer one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kheriznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear kheriznz, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, it is always a pleasure to receive a stunning review like this! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. Thank you once again for choosing us, the entire Team look forward to welcome you back! Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After staying in Hideaway in November,and having had a good time,we decided to take advantage of their low season offer.We expected to get an average level service,maybe because its low season,but to our suprise,the place has really improved to even higher levels.
The staff we left are still there and could smile at us signalling that they remember us the gardens are beautiful,the rooms very well maintained clean etc,there is a new chef,and with that an improved buffet,honestly,this resort out shines all the other resorts around,its on another level,and and looks tooo beautiful,with the open views and service,we are definately comming back.Maybe only the check in process should be improved,to avoid being kept waiting.otherwise,everything else is just what you need for a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faizal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Faizal S, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. There is no bigger compliment when our valued guests come back again and again and experience our true hospitality. Thank you for mentioning the improvements, we all work very hard to reach even higher level of service. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future! Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ostend
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

JAMBO !
The rooms were very clean with a lovely huge bed and bathroom.
Nice pool area with stunning views, the garden was well kept. The quality of the food was mediocre but perhaps this was because there were few guests at that time.
We had a super holiday and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear calonge, Jambo! Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. It is our pleasure to read that you loved our beautiful and huge bedroom with the bathroom, the stunning view and the well kept garden. I have passed on your comments to our Executive Chef and I am sure at your next visit you will experience the improvements at our Food & Beverages outlets. Thank you for the recommendation, we look forward to welcome you again in the near future! Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned for 7 nights at hideaway after a 6 night safari in Tanzania and we were not disappointed.
Our junior suite was located near the reception and the walk up and down the hill to the pool area was some good exercise. The room was lovely with a huge bed, and the service from the chambermaids and the turndown service was excellent.
The food was of the highest quality and standard with a huge variety, particularly the huge shrimp cooked on the grill.
The wine is South African and is of good quality.
Edson and Tatu were particularly attentive to our needs in the evening dinner service.
The pool boys helps us every morning and could be more helpful.
The beach is immaculate and you must try the catamaran trip with suleiman who can can scare you if necessary with the turn of speed on the catamaran.
The use of golf carts to help up and down the hill is an excellent idea and was used regularly by other guests.
The gardens are immaculate with gardeners tending to them every day - even in the rain.
Our trip was low season and so we did get some days where it rained, however the rain did not last long and the sun came out quickly after the rain had stopped.
This hotel is probably one of best we have stayed in due to the location, room, level of service and quality of the food and drink.


Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jemboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Jemboy, Thank you for your absolutely wonderful review! We are so happy to read that you appreciated our facilities, services and friendly staff. The location is stunning indeed. Nungwi is told to be one of the best beaches in the world and we try our very best to keep it immaculate for our valued guests. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our turndown service, the cleanliness in general, our chambermaids work very hard. I did pass on your nice words to Housekeeping, Food & Beverage department as well as our WaterSport Center and gardeners. Thank you once again for choosing Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa for your stay, we all look forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Nora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
2.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
613 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
15.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
14.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,554 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Property: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing