We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We recently celebrated my husband's birthday at Hideaway of Nungwi and were not disappointed with our choice of hotel. It was the perfect place to relax and indulge ourselves! The location is enchanting with a most spectacular ocean setting and the absence of strong tides makes swimming and snorkelling a safe, pleasurable experience. The magnificent sunsets are not to be missed. All the staff and management are super friendly and go out of their way to help and make one feel at home. The rooms and bathrooms are pure luxury and the only hitch we experienced was on arrival when we were given a room which did not have a sea view as promised. This was quickly sorted out by the most efficient Guest Relations Manager, Nora, and we were moved to a lovely room with a view of the sea and beautiful gardens. The Food and Beverage Manager suggested a special lobster dinner, on the beach, to celebrate my husband's birthday. What a great idea! WOW, the staff went the extra mile to make it a most romantic, memorable dinner which culminated with them singing and dancing and presenting him with a specially baked and beautifully iced cake which we enjoyed with a glass of sparkling wine. A perfect ending to a perfect day, once again, a big thank you to all! We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Although all rooms are advertised as having a sea view, there are a few rooms where, only if you sta...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relation at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Cindy

Thank you for sharing with us your beautiful experience with Hideaway Nungwi Spa and Resort. We very much appreciate your good gesture and kind words about our property and hardworking staff. It was wonderful having you stay with us, we warmly welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards Daniella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
There are newer reviews for Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went their after a jam packed safari . The Hideaway was perfect great for relaxing , the Spa treatments and relaxing yoga was brilliant . Diving off Mmenba Island was perfect . The staff were very helpful and attentive .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coffeebeantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relation at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Erin M

Thank you for commenting on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you took time to give us feedback regarding your experience and overall view of your stay with us. Hoping to see you in the near future.

Regards Daniella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A truly hidden gem of Zanzibar. We were fortunate to host our wedding at the venue end of May this year. It was a wonderful experience, the hotel setup was just amazing, food was great from the day we arrived till the day we left. Yes improvement can be made in terms of efficiency of the staff especially housekeeping, but that does not take away the experience altogether. The joy was seeing our guests who came having a wonderful experience and most are planning to visit the hotel again. Would recommend it to any couple who want to have time for themselves. From multilingual bellboy Mpole to the kitchen staff Shabani and their main Chef Alessandro the wedding and honeymoon stay was something we will treasure.
We definitely visit the hotel again.
ooooh the Spa is a place to visit too

Mr. & Mrs. Louis

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgnyalifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear lgnyalifa, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and even bigger thank you for choosing Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa as your wedding venue. We were all very happy and excited to be part of your special day. We hope to welcome Mr & Mrs Louis again in the near future. Kind regards, Nora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wow! Hideaway of Nungwi exceeded my expectations, i planned a surprise birthday trip for my boyfriend, who is also a GM of the largest hotel in SA, so as one can imagine, expectations can be high, and Hideaway absolutely made our holiday the most romantic, perfect getaway! My boyfriend told me almost daily how i could not have picked better, wonderfully friendly and helpful staff who go the extra mile, beautiful rooms with the comfort of absolute luxury, the views were perfect, tranquil and romantic, perfect white sandy beaches, perfect calm seas, reservations made promises they kept, my boyfriend was pleasantly surprised with welcome birthday desserts and birthday turn-downs and a wonderful traditional song and birthday dance. They really make you feel special! And above all, the hotel is value for money! Thank you Hideaway for helping me make my boyfriends birthday trip an absolutely fantastic one, we will definitely recommend the hotel and i must say that even though the hotel was not on any of our agency's (in SA) first option, i googled Zanzibar and was lucky enough to find it and request it on a package deal, maybe that may be the one area to look into in order to reach a wider audience. My fellow South Africans, especially Jozie's, would love this hotel!

Thank you once again and well done!
Cathlynn

Room Tip: Request rooms closest to facilities, if available, as this is also closer views to the beautiful oce...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathlynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Cathlynn C, Thank you for your terrific review on Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We are so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We are proud of our beautiful property and even more so of our hardworking Team. Once again thank you for your absolutely wonderful review and very kind recommendation, please do let us know when you wish to stay with us next, it would be our pleasure to welcome you and Lloyd (maybe with your friends as well) again. Kind regards, Nora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Hideaway is by far one of the nicest resorts in Zanzibar. Nungwi has the nicest beach in Zanzibar which is a major plus point. Rooms are fantastic, but can be a bit of a walk to the beach from the junior suites.

Pros
Amazing beach
Great Facilities
Water sports are good
Rooms are fab
Sunsets are phenomenal
Close to other great resorts


Cons
Service needs a lot of work
Food varies in quality
Use of cheap local juice and no coconuts!
Very small beach area

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MushiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear MushiD, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate very much when our guests give feedback reviews about our service and we are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will keep up with the hard work and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Nora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hideaway is the place of dreams, we expected it to be great but it blew our expectations. Nora at reception made sure all of our accommodation needs were met and ensured our wedding/honeymoon was perfect. Sabira organised our wedding day and it went without a hitch, it was beyond romantic and the staff who organised it on the beach were more than helpful and happy to arrange it exactly how we pleased.
This hotel is truly one of a kind, from the fresh food made to order, to the unbelievably helpful staff in the restaurants and by the pool, they really cannot do enough for you.
The two restaurants in the hotel were delicious, we were lucky enough to enjoy Hashuli;s food delights in Ishi Teppanyaki and the main chefs in Carnivorous and more!
Hamad and Alonsia deserve an extra special mention as they couldn't do enough for us, no job was too big for them and they were always around checking on us and making sure our stay was extra special.
Ernest at the bar made sure our cocktail glasses were never empty whilst watching the sunset either!
All in all, we had the most incredible amazing holiday and are saving up to go back next year. I am sure no holiday will top it.
Thank you to everyone who made our holiday so special.
Mr and Mrs Ross x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Abbie S, It is hard to find words to thank you for your absolutely wonderful review. We are so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We feel privileged that you shared your very special occasion with us and we are thrilled that we lived up to your expectations. It really was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to welcome Mr & Mrs Ross back in the near future! Kind regards, Nora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time at Nungwi.All the staff are wonderful, particularly Guiseppi. He was such an awesome host, he is so professional ans helpful. you can call on him for anything. Really makes all ths guests feel at home.We'd come back at anytime to visit this amaxing piece of paradise. Thank you Guiseppi and the staff at Nungwi.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lexie_zumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Lexie_zumba, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I have passed on your kind words to Guiseppe. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Nora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
15.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
2.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
630 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
21.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £227 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing