We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Travelled 7 nights on honeymoon to this resort. First the hotel itself: the room was very good and the manager offered us a special treat upon arrival, which was rather unexpected.

The swiiming pool is really cool and most of the staff is really attentive and professional. A big thank you to Jeremiah, who handled a group of guests who were being very rude and noisy with great simpathy and in a very professional way (he was a real Pro!).
BTW, all the staff is very nice and polite (a warm thank you to Cappucino and Juma, who were always very helpful and so nice to us).
Most of the drinks are included in the All inclusive package (yey!)
Everyday, a very good attention to details by the cleaning ladies.

The buffet food is really good. ok, by the 6th day, you'll see a repetition of curry dishes - don't get me wrong, there are plenty of different choices but there is always a different curry dish. Great cold salads, really good cold soups during the day. Oh, and try the pizzas!
The only remark: in the first days, we found the service a bit slow, but who cares?? Hakuna Matata, people.
the Carnivorous restaurant is also good quality - recommend the baby lobster, the crocodile and the ostrich.
The swimming pool area, at night, is animated by a singin duo who try hard and sing well, and read the room very well.
The beach, although small, it is spacious enough for everybody, There are some things you cannot escape - by the side of the beach, you have local vendors. They are not pushy and you have security "guards" there to prevent them to approach you - only if you go to them, is when they try to sell things.
Good tennis court (artificial grass).
The Spa is really good (tried a really good deep tissue massage).

I would recommend to honeymooners and to couples of all ages.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat_and_Pete2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela G, Guest Relation at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Cat and Pete 2014,
Thank you for your great review on Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We are so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We are proud of our great service and even more so of our hardworking Team. Once again thank you for your absolutely wonderful review and very kind recommendation, please do let us know when you wish to stay with us next, it would be our pleasure to welcome you and show you more improves.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Would thoroughly recommend this for a relaxing holiday. Staff are very friendly and bend over backwards to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. All facilities were excellent. Cocktails are particularly good! There is plenty of choice in the buffet restaurant - and both the Carnivorous and Tepenyaki restaurant are good (although as one might guess from the name the Carnivorous lacks on the Vegetarian front and you essentially have food you could get in the buffet outside). Gala dinners are good fun and a nice change a couple of times a week. One request would be for the singers in the evening to mix up their repertoire a little - as it was the same songs every evening. We were here 10 nights - wish we had stayed for 2 weeks.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear David L ,

Thank you for your great review on Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We are so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We are proud of our great service and even more so of our hardworking Team. Once again thank you for your absolutely wonderful review and very kind recommendation, please do let us know when you wish to stay with us next, it would be our pleasure to welcome you and for sure you will found a different repertoire every day.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

From the momment we arrived we were treated with very friendly and polite staff which is nice as sometimes this does not happen in some of the more upmarket resorts .
The staff in every area were very good they looked after all your needs and wants with great big smiles on their faces , the staff around the pool were great fun and had a great sence of pride in the resort they worked in .
The views over the pool to the ocean are wonderfull and relaxing
Our suite was really of a good quality finish and all the little extras were there to top it off
Will be back one day again to indulge ourselves in this top resort

Room Tip: Try and get an upstairs room close to the beach area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mia2000adel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Mia ,

Thank you for your great review on Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We are so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We are proud of our great service and our staff that you have found so friendly and polite, how is our hardworking Team. Once again thank you for your absolutely wonderful review and very kind recommendation, please do let us know when you wish to stay with us next, it would be our pleasure to welcome you and with all the staff.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Out experience here was really excellent, from when we got fetched from the airport until we got dropped off again. We were on full board and the selection of soft drinks was okay (Coke, coke light, and sprite), my father seemed to enjoy the local beers and I thought the alcohol free cocktails where really nice. The staff are polite and will do anything to please, the only problem is their English is a little limited. Try not to make over complicated requests as you're most likely to receive something strange. There is only wifi in the reception but that didn't bother us, it was quite a walk from the rooms to the beach so I wouldn't recommend it for the injured or elderly. I unfortunately suffered from a cold on arrival but the in house doctor was really good and everyone was willing to help. We took a day trip with zan tours to Stonetown and that was well organized too. I was really pleased with the Hideaway of Nungwi but perhaps it would be better suited for families with older teenagers or couples.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Erin M ,

Thank you for your great review on Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We are so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We are proud of our great service and our staff that you have found so friendly and polite, how is our hardworking Team. Every day we improve their English that is getting better .
Once again thank you for your absolutely wonderful review and very kind recommendation, please do let us know when you wish to stay with us next, it would be our pleasure to welcome you and with all the staff and discover all the improve about the families with older.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My newlywed husband and I came here for 5 nights after 5 night safari. This was the perfect spot for us to relax and enjoy our honeymoon. The food at every meal was delicious, there is a wide variety of drinks available and the atmosphere is great as well. The beach spot is beautiful and it's nice they have kayaks and sail boating available for free as well. Our stay was everything we expected and much more! We would also recommend a massage from the spa.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relation at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Sara M

Thank you very much for taking your time to write on tripadvisor, better yet for sharing your honeymoon experience at Hideaway of Nungwi.
We were proud to have you stay with us and, also with all our staff to know that our service had met your expectations.
We are very happy and exiting to welcome you for your first anniversary in the next future.

Kind Regards Daniella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We recently celebrated my husband's birthday at Hideaway of Nungwi and were not disappointed with our choice of hotel. It was the perfect place to relax and indulge ourselves! The location is enchanting with a most spectacular ocean setting and the absence of strong tides makes swimming and snorkelling a safe, pleasurable experience. The magnificent sunsets are not to be missed. All the staff and management are super friendly and go out of their way to help and make one feel at home. The rooms and bathrooms are pure luxury and the only hitch we experienced was on arrival when we were given a room which did not have a sea view as promised. This was quickly sorted out by the most efficient Guest Relations Manager, Nora, and we were moved to a lovely room with a view of the sea and beautiful gardens. The Food and Beverage Manager suggested a special lobster dinner, on the beach, to celebrate my husband's birthday. What a great idea! WOW, the staff went the extra mile to make it a most romantic, memorable dinner which culminated with them singing and dancing and presenting him with a specially baked and beautifully iced cake which we enjoyed with a glass of sparkling wine. A perfect ending to a perfect day, once again, a big thank you to all! We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Although all rooms are advertised as having a sea view, there are a few rooms where, only if you sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relation at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Cindy

Thank you for sharing with us your beautiful experience with Hideaway Nungwi Spa and Resort. We very much appreciate your good gesture and kind words about our property and hardworking staff. It was wonderful having you stay with us, we warmly welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards Daniella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went their after a jam packed safari . The Hideaway was perfect great for relaxing , the Spa treatments and relaxing yoga was brilliant . Diving off Mmenba Island was perfect . The staff were very helpful and attentive .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coffeebeantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora M, Guest Relation at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Erin M

Thank you for commenting on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you took time to give us feedback regarding your experience and overall view of your stay with us. Hoping to see you in the near future.

Regards Daniella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
15.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,752 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,826 reviews
2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
674 reviews
21.8 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 174 in Zanzibar Island
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £183 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing