We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Repeat customer”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The quality of customer service and the people working there is what makes staying at this hotel delightful. Staff treat you as a friend, but also maintain a high level of professionalism. Food is excellent. Definitely staying again on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yusuf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela G, Guest Relation at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Yusuf S
Thank you for your fantastic and incredible review on Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We don’t found word how to thank you for appreciate your comments regarding your stay about all entire Resort . Once again thank you for your absolutely wonderful review and very kind recommendation will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
Thank you again we look forward to serving you in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    258
    86
    42
    24
See reviews for
328
700
50
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here in April and loved it! Going back to Tanzania in April next year and guess where I will be staying? Hideaway of course :) The food was fantastic and loved the ground. My view was beautiful. It has been slotted as my place to stay when I am in town. Thank you staff for making it AMAZING!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KSaggaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela G, Guest Relation at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear KSaggaf
Thank you for your great review on Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We appreciate your comments regarding your stay It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback in particularly about the Staff, The Food. Once again thank you for your absolutely wonderful review and very kind recommendation will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decin, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from 14 nigts stay in Hideaway. We had Superior Junior Suite 153. Magic view to ocean and sunset.
Beautiful white hotel beach, similar to Maldives and Bora Bora. Excellent food, pasta,seefood etc.
Sparkling wine from breakfast to dinner. Papaya,mango,maracuja - fresh and very tasty.
Very good manage hotel, general manager was every day on place.People on reception very helpful, thanks Francesca.
Best point is hotel staff. All are great thanks, cleaners,cooks,waiters thank you for all, our holiday was one of the best. Special thanks our waiter Khadija Federick, she was happy every day, every day smiling with perfect personal service.
We highly recommend this hotel.
Zdenek and Brona Czech republic

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MolinaDecin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela G, Guest Relation at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear MolinaDecin
Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Let me express my gratitude for choosing Hideaway of Nungwi as your vacation, your kind words are a big aspiration to our hard working staff who ferret the best of their acquired skills. I am more than delighted to convey your compliments to our General Manager and the entire staff. We will be more than honored to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from 6 nights here. This is a very difficult review to write. There are some amazing aspects and some not so...it was a very complex picture. I will try to be balanced and mention key aspects. There is a lot more I could say, both pros and cons.
The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The sunsets were breathtaking. We could not think of anything we would like to improve in either the communal areas, bedrooms or bathrooms.
Staff, on the whole, try very hard to please and generally offer a good service, but we came to the conclusion that they do not actually understand what 5* service and importantly 5* expectations (and prices being charged) actually look like. This is not necessarily their fault and may reflect a lack of appropriate training and leadership. Towels for example, were not supplied regularly, we had to ask several times - as the room was kept very clean, this suggested to us that there was a problem with the laundry.
The food is generally very good, all buffet, we would however like to be served, at least occasionally, without additional cost. Staff in the Aqua Restaurant try particularly hard to please. The gala dinner was outstanding and they did produce a cake for my husband's birthday, without prompting.
The dive school was very professional and the equipment, apart from the boat, of very high quality. We know the boat is of a traditional style, but we would personally prefer a few more 'modern' comforts. This was the first dive boat we had been on anywhere in the world without a toilet.
Having complained about the standard of service, we did ask to speak to the chief executive, we did receive a complementary bottle of fizzy wine. However, he did not seek us out, this was very disappointing, seemingly preferring to leave his front of house manager to deal with us.
Would we go back? Probably not.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elmScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie G, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time in your busy schedule to share with us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We have well noted your comments and we apologize for the inconvenience. We would like to inform you that we have a professional trainings in all the departments to improve our quality of service. We are always looking forward and will always do our utmost to offer our guests a unique experience in the paradise of Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa.
We wish to welcome you back, to celebrate your anniversary maybe, so you can experience again the wonderful breathtaking sunsets !
Kind regards,

Marie
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I spend in Hideaway 5 night with my family and we wouldn’t come back.
They have three Fantastic restaurants: Aqua (buffet), Carnivorous and more (where you can tasty every kind of beef), and at the least but not the last the Ishi. The food was very delicious …thanks Chef Alessandro(very helpfully and professional).
We used the facilities of the Recreation Team like Swahili lesson and we enjoined a lot in the morning with the Yoga classes and volley ball match on the beach, thank you Giuseppe !
Our children spend almost of the Time in the Kids club with Sophia that make a good job with so many activities like Cocktail classes and pool play . All staff were professional , and made good service.
the Room was awesome ,me and my wife feel like a King and Queen.
Perfect location, absolutely fantastic experience. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 258Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela G, Guest Relation at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear 258 Alex
Thank you for sharing the beautiful experience you had at Hideaway of Nungwi.We are delighted to learn that you had a very pleasant stay with us.
We shall convey your compliments to Chef Alessandro and the rest of our staff as they work very hard to ensure guest satisfactory. Thank you for choosing Hideaway of Nungwi for you vacation, we are looking forwards to welcoming you and your family once again at our beautiful resort.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Visited June 2014.
Having read some of the reviews before we visited the Hideaway for the second part of our honeymoon, we were expecting slow service, a lack of variety and quality of food and staff to not speak English. Those prior reviews must be very dated or wrong!!
Firstly, ALL staff spoke English - everyone always asked how our day was and if everything was OK.

The food was varied and we were utterly spoilt. Breakfast had a huge selection of food available, plus stations for waffles, pancakes, eggs, omelettes, fruit smoothies and more.
The lunch menu was changed daily- Not only did you have the hot and cold buffet, but a pasta and pizza station too.

For dinner, we experienced the Aqua Restaurant (main), plus The Carnivorus and more and Ishi-Teppanayaki. The latter 2 were included in our all inclusive package and well worth a visit - we experienced a couple of meals from the menu, plus some "specials" that they made for us. The food was delicious!! Head Chef Babu and Hashuli (who was a trainee chef) cooked the most fantastic teppanayaki for us as we watched him at the cooking station.

Service was great - nothing was too much trouble and all staff went above and beyond to make our stay special. Kissam and his fellow wait staff always remembered our names and added a personal touch. Service was slower when ordering food in the bar, but Ernest (head bar man) and his team kept us hydrated with a multitude of cocktails while we waited. The bar food was more "burgers and fries" and not to the higher standard of the main restaurants, but it was perfect if you missed lunch and wanted a snack.

We booked the hotel before it had opened and had 2 nights free in addition to the honeymoon package that included couples 30 minute massage; a la carte romantic meal for 2, sparkling wine and flowers and a complimentary room upgrade if available. Unfortunately, the hotel did not have details of these offers agreed when booking and so we had to check in without these offers until the issue was resolved. Sharon, the reservations coordinator was very helpful and we managed to get the issue resolved the following day. We were also upgraded from the luxury superior junior suite (beautifully decorated and spacious room) to a prestige beach villa with a pool (amazing!).

Management were always on hand to ensure that everything ran smoothly. Any issues historically reported have been taken seriously and they are working hard to deliver its 5 star rating.


Alonsia (our wonderful butler) refilled our fridge daily with our favourite drinks even though it wasn't the standard drinks on offer. Alonsia and Hamadi (Head Butler) checked in on us daily and provided us with cocktails served at our pool. Hamadi arranged for all bookings at the specialist restaurants for us and both made sure that we had everything we needed. Alonsia and the room service staff prepared the most wonderful romantic meal for us by our own pool (we requested this instead of by the beach). They decorated our pool with floating petals and candles.
Axa and Shoma (house keeping) made such an effort to ensure our rooms were spotless each day.


A very special thank you to Nora in guest relations who deeply cared about us having the perfect honeymoon and always had time to stop and chat with us.


The resort is out of this world.
The gardeners are the unsung heroes. The grounds are spotless and the gardening team worked tirelessly to keep the resort immaculate.
The beach was beautiful and security made sure you were not badgered by the beach sellers.

Watersports and boat trips for snorkelling were available (make sure you take cash or have PayPal as they don't accept card).

The gala dinners and the Masai market were great. The band that they had from stone town one night were brilliant and made a nice change from the musical duo who played each night (it was a little repetitive, but they did take requests).

My advice would be to check with the hotel before you arrive if you have any special packages/ offers to ensure they have it on record.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were extremely happy with the Luxury Superior Junior Suite - beautifully decorated; bathroom was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela G, Guest Relation at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear SophieA1983

Jambo,Jambo,Jambo and Jambo ,There is no words for to thank you about your great review on Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We are so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met all your expectations. We are proud of our great service and even more so of our hardworking Team. Once again thank you for your absolutely wonderful review and very kind recommendation, please do let us know when you wish to stay with us next, it would be our pleasure to welcome you with all the staff
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a really good stay here. Resort was clean and safe. The staffs were amazingly helpful and friendly AND always greeting us by name this is a very fun and interesting group of beautiful people who obviously love their job as much as we loved staying there. You got the feeling that they really enjoyed their work. All three restaurants served a very good food .Good location too .Our suite was very spacious and kept clean daily. Hopefully come back.
Thanks to Giuseppe Recreation manager!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paol796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela G, Guest Relation at Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear paol796
Thank you for your fantastic and incredible review on Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa. We don’t found word how to thank you for appreciate your comments regarding your stay about all entire Resort . Once again thank you for your absolutely wonderful review and very kind recommendation will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
Thank you again we look forward to serving you in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
2.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
615 reviews
15.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,563 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
1.2 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa

Property: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa, part of the Emerald Collection Resorts, is located in Nungwi, on the North West coast of Zanzibar, a sensational island setting. Every evening the resort is charmed by dreamy sunsets, where hues of burnt orange and blushing rose are spectacled as Africa`s sun drops into the Indian Ocean. Wander through 10 hectares of enchanting tropical spice gardens, fondly tendered by softly-spoken Zanzibaris and rabble of soaring butterflies. The sense of space is absolute, inspiring freedom, seclusion and quietude: Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa is a the perfect playground for the tired minds of discerning guests seeking the ultimate relaxation and nourishments for mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Of Nungwi Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing