We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Nungwi!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mabwe Roots Bungalows
Ranked #18 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Nungwi
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Pale Palace from Des. 29 2012 to Jan. 5th 2013. We had a great stay here. Pale Palace is a new place (about 6 months old they said). Haji the manager was an excellent host!

The place is located next to Tanzanite resort and Ras Nungwi. Pale Palace is a budget accommodation and they have great prices for their bungalows. Really great value for money. Pale Palace consists of 4 bungalows, 2 big ones with kitchens and two small ones with a bed, mosquito net and a bathrom. All Bungalows have nice ocean view porches. Pale Palace also has a lovely garden with relaxing hammocks. The place is located about 20 minutes south of Nungwi town and the area is really quiet and relaxing...

There is one beach right below Palce Palace, you can use this or the beaches below ras nungwi and tanzanite (everyone can use the Zanzibar beaches..) you will find the best beaches by walking along the beach from Pale Palace and north for about 20 mins. (though these beaches are more crowded)

Haji, the manager and also his 4 co-workers will meet your every reasonable need. whenever we wanted something we would get it for us. He would just jump on the bike and get whatever in Nungwi town. The place also has a small bar/restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a very reasonable price. We payed 10 000 TSH for dinner and had Lobster, Tuna, Chicken. (you have to tell them that you want dinner, so they can go to town and prepare what you would like, it is also possible to ask for a specific meal, the chef there will help you!) WE also payed about 1000-2000 TSH for a plate of fresh fruits witch we enjoyed several times during the day.

All in All: we payed 30 USD per person for staying in a very nice bungalow with very nice people with breakfast included during the absolute high season on Zanzibar. I would recommend every budget traveler or any other traveler who would like to live a little bit outside Nungwi town in a relaxing atmosphere to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JonasTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haji M, Manager at Mabwe Roots Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: De voorste bungalow heeft het beste uitzicht op de zee. Echt prachting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haji M, Manager at Mabwe Roots Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littleking0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haji M, Manager at Mabwe Roots Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.1 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
140 reviews
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.2 mi away
Amaan Bungalows
Amaan Bungalows
#1 of 48 in Nungwi
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Mnarani Beach Cottages
#13 of 19 in Nungwi
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sazani Beach Lodge
Sazani Beach Lodge
#4 of 48 in Nungwi
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Game Fish Lodge
Game Fish Lodge
#3 of 48 in Nungwi
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabwe Roots Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabwe Roots Bungalows

Address: Sazani Rd, Nungwi, Tanzania (Formerly Pale Palace)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Nungwi
Price Range: £28 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mabwe Roots. A relaxed and lovely place on the northern tip of Zanzibar. Close to secluded beaches and Nungwi village. Feel free and feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mabwe Roots Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabwe Roots Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing