We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High quality relax hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High quality relax hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is one of the best hotel me and my family ever visit. A very good location with a wonderful view over the beach. Absolutely best is the friendly and service-minded staff. Special thank´s to Roger Ali the leader of the staff in the restaurant area. He really took good care of us and other guest, Always with a smile. If we ask for something outside the menu he and the other in the staff fix that if the could without complaining! I can strictly recommend this hotel for honeymooners and familys.

Room Tip: En kostnadsfråga. Dyrare ju närmare havet man vill bo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    127
    23
    22
    14
See reviews for
113
316
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I highly recommend this place if you want to kick back relax and enjoy the sea, the pool and do some diving, David is great. The best cabin for two is #19 or the one next to it. Right at the sea and a stair case down to the beach. Its only draw back is that it is about 45 minutes away from Stone Town or most other activities. Although the dive center does offer snorkeling trips. It is fun to just walk , at low tide on the beach to the village,looking at thousands of tide pools or just swim in the sea at mid tide. The room was great with a bowl of fresh fruit and big bottle of free water every day. Refrig loaded with drinks at the same price as the bar. Air conditioning, great towels etc.
There is wifi, pool table, ping pong and if you can go to sleep to the sounds of waves crashing on the beach no tv in room needed.
We took one tour Blue Sky snorkleing and it was very expensive becasue the hotel seems to hire drivers which charge a lot to get you to the place about an hour away. So my suggestion would be to stay at Ras Runguwi to relax and do things locally like take the Village Tour which was very interesting and only $25.00 per person.
Dinner was always delicious, pri fix included a choice of fish, vegetarian pasta and one other choice.Plus soup, appetizer and desert. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet. all quite delicious.
My suggestion would be to plan your tours, except the village tour from Stone Town and just relax and enjoy Ras Nunguwi as long as you can. Also, the hotel charges $80.00 for taxi service, if you get one at the airport is only $60.00 . Our taxi driver also picked us up to take us to Stone Town an on the way we stopped at a Spice Tour (the farm was the Swahilli word for ginger and the tour was great) cost $10.00 per day .

The hotel has free bikes but dirt roads all around. I would definitely go back anytime I was in Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room. We had #19 it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rassors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from Ras Nungwi after staying there for four nights at the end of our honeymoon. We were due some relaxation after 6 days safari in Ruaha and Selous and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a superior chalet with massive bed, great shower, mini bar, i-pod dock and hairdryer. The staff were all fantastic- friendly, polite, and very attentive! We enjoyed a trip snorkelling at mnemba which was very enjoyable and definitely worth the trip. We also had a massage from Mary in the spa and she did a great job, very relaxing! The food was excellent, compliments to the chef! All in all, a perfect place to stay, we will certainly be recommending this place to our friends and we hope to return ourselves one day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

the staff at this place are fabulous, its a long time since I came across such nice, pleasant, customer focused people. they made my stay a joy. The basic rooms are OK but there are no frills. Admittedly I went at the beginning of the season but it was very quiet, the place lacked any lively atmosphere - especially in the evenings and as its a fair distance away from Nungwi I felt it was lacking, the bar played music but no TV (you have to go to a separate lounge for that). I think its a place much more suited to honeymooning couples than anyone else. If you are going at this time of year (June) for diving, think again as the weather was not great, a dive to Mnemba was postponed but eventually well worth the wait. David at the dive shop is great, friendly and very professional.

Room Tip: garden lodge rooms are basic but comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spartacus666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Spent 3 nights here - and have decided I could live there! We had a magnificent bungalow room on the waterfront - a few stairs down to the beach - the view was divine. Huge bed with mosquito netting, great shower pumping out glorious hot water, tea and coffee making, full fridge. Lovely comfy sun lounges with oodles of towels and pillows, hammocks all positioned with the most glorious views of the water. Constant service while out sunning - fresh fruit platters being passed around. A little lunch cafe and bar which served the tastiest of food - and attended by the delightful Juma. Dinners were 3 courses of excellent food - always plentiful and delicious.

We walked to the village - quite a hike -3 to 4 klms - we wanted to see the other resorts - and this one was by far the best positioned away from all the others in peaceful tranquility. We did have sundowners a couple of times at the resort with the large jetty jutting into the sea - a must do - we were the only ones enjoying this wonderful facility!

All the staff are charming and wanting to please. Breakfast was a delight as much varied food as anyone could want. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had room no.1 - excellent No 2 is marginally better but has a bed so big you lose your partner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

After a busy week of safaris we finished up at Ras Nungwi to relax at the end of our vacation. We had a beautiful room overlooking the Indian Ocean with the wonderful sound of waves crashing to shore nearby. All of the staff was friendly and helpful, in particular the staff at the pool and David at the dive shop. The meals were some of the best we have had in some time: kudos to the chef Samir! All in all a very memorable and relaxing time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgaryconnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights after a couple of weeks roughing it around East Africa and it was everything I wanted it to be.
The manager Bakari makes you welcome from the moment you arrive and takes time to personally show you around the resort and checks on you throughout your stay. It's a great touch.
The rooms are beautiful, the grounds are spectacular and impeccably manicured and there's a real feeling of calm about the place.
I ate all meals in the restaurant and whilst I found breakfast to be a bit limited the other meals were outstanding and reasonably priced.
You can walk to the nearby town but to be honest there's not much to see, you're better off staying put or using the dive shop's services.
My only criticism would be the price of the transfers from the airport and return. US$80 is ridiculous and is not a good way to start or end your stay. Other guests spoke of negotiating $50 fares which would be more acceptable. It's a long way but $80 is a rip-off. The hotel should negotiate better rates on behalf of its guests.
That aside, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrDBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
23.3 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#5 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Property: Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is a small and luxurious hotel and spa situated on a breathtaking beach on Zanzibar's northern tip. The professional on-site watersports centre offers diving, fishing and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing