We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly exceptional!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Truly exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed a week there with our 8 year old son, and the place is absolutely fantastic. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, they do all and more to make you feel home, and not only serving you but greet you and talk to you like friends. I would like to highlight Joseph at the pool, andSamir the chef of course. Our son still keeps telling about all the fun and laughter he had with him, and of course the waffel he specially prepared for him for breakfast every morning!
The beach is great, make sure you take your beach shoes!
The food is amazing, the full dinnerhoeever seemed to be too much for us, so we took a lighter version, but the seafood grill night is a great value for all the fresh catch and the tastes!
Safety: we had no issues, there was a guard on duty on the beach all the time, so no problems there either.
The diving centre is a great addition, take a trip or two for snorkeling, even if you do not dive, it is great!
My son still keeps lobbying to go back next year, - our sentiment exactly!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainSnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    127
    23
    22
    14
See reviews for
113
316
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Ras nungwi is a quiet and relaxing private resort in a stunningly beautiful background of clear ocean views. The staff is amazing, led by the wonderfully nice Bakari and Rath. Rath came to greet the guests everyday at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff at the front desk made sure everyone of our requests was fulfilled; someone even went into the village to buy my little daughter a ball to play with in the pool! The food was pretty good too. Evening dinners were intimate and lovely, with a live band a couple of times a week. The beach and pool were very nice. And we played table tennis and pool in the game room. Overall we had a lovely stay as a family and would recommend this place to anyone in need of relaxation.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The setting is drop dead beautiful. The staff are very friendly and very obliging. Nothing that we could have asked for was too much. The GM, Rath was everything that you could ask for. I am not sure when he sleeps, but his smiling face and gentle cheerful manner could be found virtually everywhere at seemingly anytime.
I am a very novice diver and my friend who accompanied me had never even snorkeled, but Dave, the Master Diver/Diving Instructor took us both on board and made us feel like pros. I don't think we looked like pros, but we definitely felt like it.
The food was perhaps the best food that I have had at a hotel. We didn't go to even one outside restaurant for the entire week that we were there, because the food so delicious.
If you want to go to a place where you can forget about time, deadlines, problems, then this is the place. The beds are very comfortable and you don't even notice that there is no TV, no phone and no internet in the rooms. Internet is available in the lobby of the hotel, so you can go there if you want to catch up on the outside world. It is not luxurious in the 5star sense of the word, but it is heaven.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hiyahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Although not drop dead luxury Ras Nungwi is a super stylish and beautiful resort with excellent attention to detail. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful, the best service I have experienced in Africa. The rooms are lovely and spacious with Zanzibari beds. We had 33 and 34 interconnecting for our family with a big terrace. Although these are the standard rooms they were really lovely. Special mention to the chef and kitchen team for the amazing seafood which was cooked perfectly and imaginatively. Truly excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karensAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a unique hotel.
Extremely private and stunningly beautiful.
The level of service and attention to detail are what really makes this place special.
Nothing seemed to be a too much trouble and everyone seemed to genuinely enjoy having you there. Samir the chef is quite remarkable and for its location on the tip of Zanzibar the quality of food is superb. We caught a Dorado whilst fishing and Samir prepared it for us in no fewer than seven different formats. Excellent diving and the diving school managed to get an excitable 11 year old through his PADI course in a small window of three days.
I really can't fault anything with this hotel, the management, facilities and
Location are the best I have ever stayed in

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamale, Ghana / Buffalo, Ny, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Even if you aren't here for your honeymoon but want a quiet place to get away with friends, yourself, children, family, etc., this is the place. Everything you could want is right here: boating, fishing, snorkeling, diving, other trips around the island, etc. You never have to leave unless you want to take a walk down the beach to the pier or other hotels/restaurants for a change of pace. It is very comfortable and welcoming. We came here after successfully completing our climb up Mount Kilimanjaro and though we were more rugged looking than the rest of the folks who may have been on a romantic get-away or heading off to safari, we were welcomed like everyone else. The spa is definitely a must-do after climbing Kili or just because. The staff was very nice and inviting and took care of all of our needs. The manager himself greeted us each day as he walked around the property himself, even remembering our names. Definitely a must stay place!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet. Garden view suites have wonderful views of the well landscaped property w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cloudenslager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel offers a wide range of activities which are ideal for family's. The service is incredible and without fault. The People are all extremely kind and happy to help. The Hotel is well run by the manager who goes out of his way too talk to everyone and offer his full help and attention.
Thank you very much!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigismond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
23.3 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#5 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel

Property: Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#1 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Nungwi is a small and luxurious hotel and spa situated on a breathtaking beach on Zanzibar's northern tip. The professional on-site watersports centre offers diving, fishing and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing