We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing location, excellent service, food and welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flame Tree Cottages
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An amazing location, excellent service, food and welcoming!”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here for the final 7 nights of our honeymoon and it was perfect for what we wanted and needed at the end of our trip. It was incredibly relaxing and the service was fantastic.

The room had everything we needed and was very spacious. The added verandah was lovely when the rains came for the half an hour a day. Having breakfast delivered to your verandah was pretty special. The staff set it up for you every morning at around 7. The tinkering of the cutlery and plates is a lovely alarm clock!

Flame Tree Cottages is very well placed because it is a little away from the main strip of hotels and bars of Nungwi but only about a 1 minute walk! We did find that there wasn't anywhere better to eat than Flame Tree in the area and so were glad that we went Half Board. The bars were also quiet with everything winding down around 10.00pm. This was fine for us because we were looking for relaxation but if you are looking for a party place (as The Lonely Planet describes Nungwi), I definitely wouldn't describe it as that!

The trips and excursions that the hotel offer are pretty pricey and you can get cheaper down the beach. We were advised only to buy them from the guys who have stalls and can give you a receipt. Watch out for Olesimba (the fake Masai) as my husband found out, once you engage with the guy, he never leaves you alone. There are quite a few people who walk past while you are sat in the sun lounger area and they will try to sell you lots of things. You learn to ignore them eventually...or go and hang out by the pool which is a lot more private.

We did some yoga which was absolutely beautiful with the sun setting in front of us. We also borrowed the kayak which was lots of fun.

The owners are very welcoming and they have a chat with all the guests in the evening.

Overall we had an amazing time and I am so sad we are home!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    75
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
93
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

A great place to most trips.
Not to basic and not to resorty.
I will go back no problems.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The cottages are quite sparsely furnished, but the huge beds are comfortable and the whole place is spotlessly clean. Aircon in the bedrooms, hot showers and flush toilets ensure the basics of hygiene and comfort.

Breakfast of fruit, bread and eggs is laid up every morning on the verandah and a variety of meals is available in the open-air restaurant in the evening. The food choices in Tanzania in general we found to be pretty limited, and Flame Tree's offering is fairly standard. The food is the same price as the nearby beach restaurants and includes a good selection of fresh fish, pasta dishes and curries. Not many places on the island keep frozen goods such as ice cream due to the frequent power outages so there are not many desserts on the menus.

There are fridges and a sink in each outer room so you could do a little self catering if you wanted to, but bear in mind that the local supermarket has little more than emergency rations at exhorbitant prices. The Flame Tree's chef is the village baker too and his bread is delicious - well worth a walk into the village. Just don't look for cheese or cold meats!

The staff are very helpful and accommodating (if a little slow) and English is not as widely spoken as you might think! Patience is required. The owner lives on the property, a lovely Omani gentleman, and personally oversees the day-to-day running of the venue. He keeps a beady eye on everything which ensures fabulous service for the guests.

We actually booked this venue because of the yoga retreats offered here but only one of our party of 4 took part in the yoga and there was still plenty to keep the other three occupied. We hired a kayak and visited the turtle rescue project for example, but if you have the budget, there are jet skis and paragliding available within 5 mins walk along the beach. If you do practice yoga, book a session or two with Marisa - she's wonderful!

The weather in July was changeable. There were a couple of showers and the mornings were overcast until about 11am. Evenings were chilly. We went on the snorkelling trip to Mneba on a windy day and were quite seasick, and the tide was high too so visibility wasn't great, so ask the owner for advice and choose your time carefully. Be warned that you can't get off the boat at the island!

I hate to taint this idyll but the one thing we found annoying was the persistance of the beach boys selling their wares. Our teenagers actually avoided going out sometimes because they didn't have the energy to fight off the marauding hawkers!

In summary, we are from South Africa and are used to quite basic accommodation in our national parks, and we actively choose this type of accommodation over the flashy European style hotels. We oftern wonder why people bother with all the travelling if they are going to sit in a branded hotel identical to twenty others dotted across the globe! At Flame Tree Cottages, the balance of rustic local flavour and comfort is just right. We will definitely return for another visit sometime soon.

Room Tip: Use the map on the website to choose the cottage you want. Most private area is behind the pool, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LorraineCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed there for a few days and we had an awesome stay there. The place is peaceful and just right by the beach..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMstravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This is a lovely place with the best beach right at the door step. The rooms are spacious, breakfast on your own veranda is very nice as well as dinner on the beach. I really can’t find any fault at all, except that a lot of items on the menu were not available – but this is something we have encountered all over Africa.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

astonishing value, especially consdiering this hotel is so reasonably priced. the cottages are so much nicer than just having a room in a soul-less mega-hotel, and are clean and beautiful. the owners are friendly and incredibly helpful. the location, right on the beach is great. the only things that could improve this place owuld be a pool (but its hardly needed with the beach right there) and a little more shade during hte day - maybe some parasols. I would happily go back here, and would certainly prefer it to one of the hotels further own the beach towards where everyone seems to be on top of each other.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholidaymaker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Nungwi is a great spot on the northern coast for sunsets and long beach walks (tide dependent). If you want to get away from the crowds and stay in a simple, but clean, friendly, relaxed place, then fully reccomend Flame Trees. It's not high-end, but it has lots of charm and is good value for money in Nungwi. Owners are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrnMrsBales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
1.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
1.0 mi away
The Zanzibari
The Zanzibari
#12 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flame Tree Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flame Tree Cottages

Property: Flame Tree Cottages
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Flame Tree Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flame Tree Cottages. A small 16 room beach hotel in a private garden. It is one of the newest developments at the quiet end of the North West Nungwi tourist area, which boasts some of the nicest beaches in Zanzibar. We are beachside & West facing for perfect sunset views & it's a close walk to numerous restaurants and bars of Nungwi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Flame Tree Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flame Tree Cottages Hotel Nungwi
Flame Tree Cottages Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing