We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flame Tree Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$124
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$313
US$244
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$365
US$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$398
US$383
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$790
Priceline
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$130
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
109
86
26
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
86
26
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesbreakfast is servedevery morningouter roomnungwi beachkettle and toastersunset yoganearby restaurants and barsbeachside restaurantpeaceful place to staybungalows setyoga classescomfortable hotelprivate verandasmall scalefruit platterwalk along the beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2008

This place is great. We spent 5 nights in Flame Tree and would go back in a second. Comfortable, low-key, perfect. Amazing food.

The owners Elizabeth and Saif were very helpful and full of advice. They also loaned us some playing cards and a game on the one rainy day we had which turned out to be great, napping and reading. The rooms we spacious, comfortable, and clean, so it was no problem to have one non-beach day. Flame Tree is concerned about your experience and want to make sure you have a nice stay.

Staff was friendly and eager to get to know the guests. Waking up in the morning to find breakfast all set up was a nice part of the experience. Fresh bread for toast, eggs to order, fruit, and coffee or tea. Hammocks and loungers in their beach area provided a great area for sun bathing and reading. Swimming was great too. Walking out onto the reef at low tide was a nice part of Zanzibar.

We took the sunset snorkel cruise from Flame Tree as well as a day trip to Nemba for snorkeling with lunch on an adjacent beach on the north tip of the island. Grilled fish, served with rice, fresh fruit, and kachumbari.

It's a really short walk to so many Nungwi beach bars and restaurants. Its also a close walk to other beaches and restaurants/hotels with more people/music.

All of the beach restaurant menus are similar but we thought the food at Flame Tree and a restaurant called Fat Fish the best. At Flame Tree the most notable dishes were the bbq (fish, chicken, and steak), crab cake starter (on special some days), garlic prawns, fish in lemon caper sauce, and their grilled banana with ice cream dessert. The food here was great, and its served in a relaxed fashion, either at a table by the water or served on your private porch.

Fat Fish (down the beach) had a large balcony overlooking the water. They also play music and videos on a big movie screen. Their best dishes were the chicken biriyani, shrimp curry, fish burger, and pineapple fritters. All amazing!

If you have time a trip to Stone Town for the night is well worth it with the night seafood/street food market. Biggest crab claws I've ever seen, served with lime and chili sauce. Shopping is great too.

Flame Tree was the perfect honeymoon, and a great place to stay in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank turtletravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We found Flame Tree Cottages via google, and booked directly with Flame Tree through their website. We spilt our stay in Zanzibar into 4 nights here (situated in the North of the island near Nungwi), and 3 nights at the Ocean Paradise Resort. Booking Flame Tree was straightforward via e mail and sending a bank transfer. The place itself is beautiful. We stayed in Rose Cottage: basic, hot water and very clean. Breakfast was included and served on your verandha. We had dinner there once and it was delicious. We wanted to try other eating places, and there were many to choose from withing 5-10mins walk along the beach front (I would recommend a restaurant called Cinammon). Seif and Elizabeth (the owners), were very nice and helpful, as were the rest of the staff. We had no problems with organising a late check out. If you like diving/snorkelling, this area is the plce to be based, with many operators to choose from. All in all, i would definately recommend Flame Tree Cottages.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DrSavP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

Four of us stayed at the Flames for 3 nights in African Tulip and Oleander. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, finding it a welcome change from the humidity of Stonetown. We were relaxed and chilled out when we left, thanks to the tranquil atmosphere and unfussy but great service. Definitely not a package tour experience!

We arrived early, and our rooms were still being cleaned, but they didn't skimp just because we were waiting. Grateful for the welcome fruit juice. Our room was large and airy with excellent a/c, fridge for chilling that all important water, kettle etc. Bathroom was spotless.

The owners both checked we were settling in ok and gave us helpful tips on things to do, Seth in particular gave us some good info on the area and made us feel welcome.

Breakfast on the verandah was lovely (although being woken up at 6.30 with them setting the tables up was not quite so good). We had no problem with service, in fact all the staff were keen to help, and even keener to clear away empties (but this seems to happen all over Zanzibar). DInners on the beach front seating area were stress free, try the bbq, the bananas at the end are great! Good standard of cooking.

Swimming can be a bit scary when the tide starts to go out - there is a strong cross current, and there is some seaweed, but just go round the corner to the left and it's fine.

Cards aren't accepted so go armed with plenty of cash (dollars)

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Marmeduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

My girlfriend and I spent 2 days at Flame Tree this summer. We definitely had a nice stay there. First of all we got (for free) upgraded to the honeymoon suite. It was a very large and nicely furnished suite, although you do see very well see the sea. The hotel is right on the beach. It consists of a few bungalows spread in a nicely kept garden. Although the beach there is not huge, if you walk 20 metres west you get on a much larger beach. Water is beautiful and there are plenty of restaurant by the beach for dinners, drinks etc. So, you are in a peaceful place and not in the more noisy and busy part of Nungwi (even if you can get there in a few minutes).
Breakfast is OK and they serve it on your veranda although it takes quite a while to have it from the moment you ask for it (30/40 mins?). We did not have lunch or dinner there and thus I cannot comment on their food.
Service was generally good but the morning we were checking out they started to push us to go out very early. Check out time is 10am and we did check out BEFORE that time (and we would have checked out even earlier had they brought us breakfast in a reasonable time). In spite of being on time, they were insisting we had to check out and even told us that it was 10 am when it was not.
So, we had a lovely time there and found the place very nice, pity that they spoiled this by being unnecessarily pushy the last day.
My overall rate is thus between 3 and 4 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruges00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Absolutely loved this place. Just one minute walk from a load of Nungwi beach bars and restaurants, the tiny bit away from those bars made it so much more relaxing that the places further up the beach. Seth, the owner was 100% helpful, chilled out and full of advice. The room was so spacious and clean, it was great to lounge around reading on the huge four poster bed or in the seats on the outdoor veranda with a beer. The menu was similar to many Zanzibar places so in the end, it was often preferable to walk up the beach and go somewhere a bit more lively, but the breakfast was good. Lots of fresh fruit and either omelette or pancakes. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tinker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews