We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flame Tree Cottages

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Flame Tree Cottages
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

We stayed at the cottages in for our honeymoon this August 2009 and loved it. It was a wonderful start to our holiday, the owner live in the grounds and were really helpful and friendly, the rooms are spotless, the beach at the front of the hotel has lots of seaweed but a beautiful beach is two mins away. So not to worry! The hotel does have a private bit of beach with hammocks which we also loved.
The food at Flame Tree was great Christopher the chef was lovely and does a wonderful job. We ate there throughout our stay and weren't let down. They even left us breakfast in our fridge for our early morning when we left.
We had a great relaxing stay for the first few days of our trip and really didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    73
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
91
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magellan123
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed at the cottages in early July 2009 and were not disappointed. The staff are friendly and professional, the rooms are spotless, the beach is beautiful and the food is fantastic. I cannot imagine how anyone could not enjoy themselves at this little resort. Of all the places we stayed in Tanzania, Flame Tree was by far the cleanest. Also, the owner of the cottages will make sure that you are comfortable and will do whatever needs to be done to ensure you have a memorable trip!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magellan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

This hotel is ideal for enjoying the real Zanzibar. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are lovely and the staff are great.

The owners Elizabeth and Seth were brilliant for offering advice, organising excursions at no extra charge (most hotels in the area charge) and generally going above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed ourselves.

What was great about this hotel was everything was made either on site or on the island and very little was imported. We felt some of the other hotels in this area had imported everything from the UK rather than giving back to the local community here in Zanzibar.

The hotel is situated in a more quiet area of Nugwi, but still within 5 minutes of restaurants and bars. The beach is great and Seth can arrange for you to go out of their boat snorkling or fishing.

Breakfast was really lovely on our own private veranda and the pancakes are really good!

The food and the restaurant was also great, particularly the BBQ where you can cook your own fish or meat on a BBQ, in the open air restaurant just by the beach.

Another great thing about this hotel is it has a generator, which many hotels dont have. This is great because there were power cuts every day for at least an hour and luckierly at this hotel we were hardly affected.

Overall this hotel was great and I would definately reccomend it to anyone looking to go to zanzibar.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trittongreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

This is a charming, small and peaceful place located in Nungwi. Booking was easy through their web pages (www.flametreecottages.com) and was answered by Elizabeth or Seif, the owners. 30 percent deposit must be paid via bank transfer, but I paid the whole amount and didn't need to carry so much cash with me. Credit cards are not accepted, only US dollars, euros and Tanzanian shillings. What comes to currencies anyway, do change your money into shillings in Stone Town or Dar es Salaam because there aren't any exchanges in Nungwi. And you get a better value by using local currency rather than dollars.

It's about 1 hour drive from Zanzibar airport to Nungwi and I booked the transportation (50 USD) from hotel. Local minibus #116 also comes to Nungwi, but it leaves from Zanzibar Town's bus station which is 7 km from airport and takes about 3 hours.

Room, or should I say cottage, was very nice. A big bedroom with double bed surrounded by mosquito nets which were sprayed every night, wardrobe and desk with kettle and toaster. Bathroom was also spacious with properly working shower. However, sewage was sometimes stuck leaving water on shower floor. Air condition worked well, but I mostly used just the fan on the ceiling and left windows open - there were mosquito nets on them of course. There was no safety box in the room, but you
can leave valuables to owner's safe located in the main house.

Every room has its own terrace or verandah where breakfast was served. Fruits to start with, then eggs to order, bread, coffee and juice. You just step out of your cottage and someone will come to ask you when would you like to have your breakfast, what a service! You could also order lunch to your own verandah, or have it in the outdoor restaurant where dinner was served.

Service was excellent. There are enough staff and once you've introduced yourself they remember your name. Those wearing green shirts are supervisors so should you have any problems talk to them. There are various trips available. I recommend a snorkelling trip to Mnemba by owners' boat, it was truly amazing undersea world.

Electric cuts were common so take your torch with you. However, there was own generator so the cuts weren't very long, but torch helps you walking on the beach after sunset. Flame Tree is right on the beach. I couldn't understand someone writing it's not. You can walk along the beach or through the village to nearby restaurants and bars. It's safe and there is a lot of night life within 5-10 minutes walk.

All in all, this is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the pole pole (slow) days!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

I am absolutely baffled as to how Flame Tree Cottages can charge 120 USD per night in the Nungwi/Kendwa area. I initially booked Flame Tree as it was our last stay on a six week holiday in East Africa and wanted a splurge at the end of the trip.

However, upon arrival, we were told none of the cottages were available but we could stay in another room (it appeared to be a maid's room above the kitchen). There was no view of the ocean, but the beach wasn't much to look at. The section of beach where Flame Tree is located has winds/water carrying piles of seaweed onto the beach, which rots in the sun. The water is murky as well (likely due to the same conditions). I can't be positive these conditions are year-round (we stayed in May).

The owner attempted to charge us the full price of a cottage for our night in maid's room as he "had the inconvenience of moving us" (we carried our own bags). Upon looking at the cottages, which were decent, but outrageously priced for that area, we decided to cut our losses and simply move on. We ended up a Kendwa Rocks, which was by far one of the highlights of the entire holiday. Their top rooms were gorgeous with tons of character (carved wooden beds, air conditioning, turkish style bathroom) for under $100, a huge beach with lawn chairs and a tiki bar, and lovely blue sea. Also, I imagine Lonely Planet has been updated since, but we found that LP's descriptions for Nungwi and Kendwa were actually opposite in practice (that is, we found generally Kendwa was much more active and picturesque than Nungwi).

Overall, the actual cottages at Flame Tree appear to be clean and well-kept but it's a very poor value. You can easily find comparable (and even better) rooms in the area for literally half the price.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarcyKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

Stayed here with a friend for a week in February. Was just what we needed before we flew home. Service was great and loved the breakfast on the verandah each morning. Food was scrummy. Its not flashy but its really just comfortable and relaxing. I loved Zanzibar - would recommend this place in an instant.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieDaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Lovely, clean, great location and wonderful service.

Stayed 2 nights in flame cottage and if you want quiet and well located place this is it!

We arrived in late June and only reason we did not stay longer is we found comparable places nearby for 40% less.

also they have wifi for 10 bucks a stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.7 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
1.3 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flame Tree Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flame Tree Cottages

Property: Flame Tree Cottages
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Flame Tree Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flame Tree Cottages. A small 16 room beach hotel in a private garden. It is one of the newest developments at the quiet end of the North West Nungwi tourist area, which boasts some of the nicest beaches in Zanzibar. We are beachside & West facing for perfect sunset views & it's a close walk to numerous restaurants and bars of Nungwi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Flame Tree Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flame Tree Cottages Hotel Nungwi
Flame Tree Cottages Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing