We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute cottage with water views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cute cottage with water views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a small cottage with waterfront views. The room was fairly small and basic but was comfortable with reading lights, a mosquito net, and extra blankets. The bathroom was also a little small but had good water pressure and hot water so that's all we needed! The best part was the view. We had a lovely hammock right in front of our room, which we took full advantage of, and it overlooked the ocean. The pool area is nice and enough lounge chairs and all of the hammocks and hanging loungers are a fantastic touch.

We found that the restaurant food was reasonably priced, but the drinks were expensive - $3USD for a small glass bottle of coke is way too much!!! I'm not sure what the water is like for other resorts but when the tide is out, you would have to walk a long ways to get to deeper water. Thankfully the pool is great so we used it instead.

Room Tip: Our beachfront cabin was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisey_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review and the positive attitude of the sea view rooms, I am pleased youenjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    178
    47
    29
    23
See reviews for
91
214
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anglesea, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I could not speak highly enough about the Mnarani beach cottages.
We had a party of 14 who had just finished climbing Kilimanjaro and were ready for a great place to unwind.
Right from the start the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The cottages have a amazing outlook onto the beautiful coast and is located only about 15 minutes walk from the Nungwi strip. It is great not to be located in the strip as is quiet busy and can have lots of hawkers.
Has a great beach bar with cold beer and friendly staff.
Great variety of food served in the restaurant, AMAZING ACROBATIC show one of the nights!!
Overall is a fantastic place to relax and have fun.
Special mention to Small Boy and the lovely Margaret who are the face of the place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartments which were perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PeteOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure to have your party stay at the Mnarani and I am very pleased to here that everyone had such a pleasurable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Amazing position and beautiful outlook.Great pool and dining room overlooking pristine aqua blue waters.Food is great.Plenty of deck chairs, hammocks and tables with amazing views. Bar is set in paradise.Short pool hours though.Friendly service in Tanzanian time,but we are there to chill out!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gritt513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks for the review it was a pleasure having you visit our hotel, I hope you will return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at Mnarani for two nights in August and it was paradise. The hotel is amazingly comfortable, and Margaret, Paul and Nassor were incredibly friendly and responsive. We loved our room and the unimposing, friendly yet luxurious atmosphere. The room was filled with nice details; black and white prints from 50s-60s Zanzibar, books, recycled dhow furniture, etc. The food was very nice too. The bar was well stocked (not the standard in East Africa) and there was a wide selection of cocktails.

The property is located at the northern tip of Zanzibar (Unguja island) so it boasts a very nice view of open sea and a nice lighthouse. In the evening you can see a fleet of dhows going out for fishing. Amazing sunset too.

We were at Mnarani as part of a package with their second property, an eco lodge on Pemba island. We took the hotel's catamaran to Pemba Lodge. It was a great journey - especially since I had never sailed in the ocean before - and we caught dinner as we got to the lodge. This wasn't our honeymoon but we certainly wished it was! The staff was equally incredible at Pemba Lodge - if you like solitude the small Pemba Lodge has a much more suitable atmosphere than Mnarani. It's the only property on the small Shamiani island immediately south of Pemba. The food is local and cooked fresh every night depending on what is available. They have a small wind turbine to power the refrigerator and the sockets. The beach is beautiful and you can take a short walk to another beach where turtles come to lay eggs.

All in all we had a great time - no complaints! We had stayed at other hotels in other parts of Zanzibar but this place excelled. We recommend the package if you are looking for variety and a (nice and safe) sea adventure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. You were one of the first to do our two resort package and thanks for letting us know that it was a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We didn´t expect too much after an exhausting climb at uhuru peak and great but also tiring 3-day-safari-trip but: IT WAS GREAT! Nice room i the zanzibar house, great ocean view, beach and garden area very beautiful and food and service as well quit okay. We had great relaxing days and have to say thxs for these wonderful days...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your review. It would be nice to see you return again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The rooms were ok, the location was on a quiet stretch of beach in Nungwi.
But the food was really terrible. So if you want to stay at this place, eat somewhere else!! The gardens and the poolarea are beatiful and well maintained. So i would recommend this place but not their food!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonySopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Sir, I am so surprised by your comments with regards the food. The first thing our new manager did on his arrival was to employ a very experienced head chef. Between them they designed a whole new menu. Since this has been implemented all the comments we have had about the food have been very complimentary. You have stated the food was "terrible" that is a very broad statement. I am sorry that the food was not up to your standard, but I am pleased you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was truly amazed with Mnarani, both with the Cottages and the Beach. I stayed in one of the sea view cottages it was perfect. The food was excellent and the staff were super friendly and attentive. After reading so much about the tides and the beaches on Zanzibar I was a little concerned about what to expect but I was pleasant surprised the beach was pristine at both low and high tide. I did a snorkeling trip and a spice/Stone Town tour through the hotel and both where very well organised. I could not find anything to complain about. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Although I can not comment on the garden view rooms I would definitely suggest the slight extra cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Mnarani, It appears that we are getting everything right. We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
16.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mnarani Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Beach Cottages

Property: Mnarani Beach Cottages
Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mnarani Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mnarani Beach Cottages is a beach resort hotel, located on the northernmost tip of Zanzibar Island in the village of Nungwi, next to the old lighthouse.Mnarani has been independently recommended by The Lonely Planet Guide, The Bradt Guide to Zanzibar and many other East African travel guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Jovago.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mnarani Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Beach Cottages Hotel Nungwi
Mnarani Beach Hotel
Mnarani Beach Resort
Mnarani Beach Cottages Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing