We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Idyllic Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very idyllic place (in stark contrast with the surroundings just outside the resort), with a fantastic ocean view. Good service. Breakfast was basic and food not always as exciting as may seem from description. However, an excellent place to spend a few relaxing days away from it all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulseph-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    179
    48
    30
    22
See reviews for
96
215
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

EVERYTHING YOU COULD WISH FOR IN AN AFRICAN HOLIDAY BY THE SEA.

Great beach ! Comfortable, well serviced rooms! Local colour, and hardly and beach touts! Easy access to the sea! Great service from the staff!

Will definitely be back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNNY712013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased you had such a pleasant stay with us. It would be a great pleasure to see you return to Mnarani Beach Cottages in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I booked 5 nights here after reading reviews here and as much as i enjoyed it i wouldn't book here again:
1. food - horrible. i was always hungry because i didn't like anything they served. I went to the nearest Double Tree resort and ate ther.
2. electricity (wich include AC and WIFI ) was out for major parts of the day.
3. The beach - the view was amazing and i enjoyed watching it - the tide was spectacular and the pictures came out great but i would have enjoyed more if i could acctually swim there - i was so scared to go to the beach it was rocky and the waves were pretty serious.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countessyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
I am sorry to hear that the menu in our restaurant was not to your liking, we believe that our menu is varied enough to cater for all tastes. We have only received complimentary reviews about our standard of food. With regards to swimming at high tide a majority of our clients have thoroughly enjoyed the shallow, warm water and spend some considerable time in the sea. The electricity was an issue as the electricity company of Zanzibar were doing major repairs on the Island, however when the electricity was cut off we used our generator so as guests still had fans and A.C. Thank you for taking the time to place this review and it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenya
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It has the best view of the ocean even when you are in your room.Water sport activities available.
You can relax outside your room and still enjoy the great view of the ocean.
At the top roof you can see the sea clearly at long distance
The shooting waves during the day makes you relax and enjoy your holiday
The Family with children you there is a room with upstairs,where all will enjoy the great view of the beach and the sea
In the afternoon ,you can seat at the beach and enjoy the sound of the weaves as tides are very high at that moment .

Room Tip: Sea front room ,and does with a family,room with upstairs bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casolodgetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a relaxing vacation, that is always our aim to allow our guests to relax and enjoy what the hotel and Nungwi has to offer, it would be great to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Thoroughly idyllic. This is on the very edge of the developed part of the beach, so when the tide is out you have a deserted beach to run on and tidepools to explore. When it is in, you can walk down the deck steps and straight into waist-high water. Massages are $30/hour and I recommend at least one a day. Definitely go for the mid-range bungalows as their value is triple the small amount you pay to upgrade. Food is conscientiously vegetarian-friendly. Management will go way beyond the norm to make sure you are happy and comfortable. We've referred several friends and no one has been disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Firstly thank you for the kind review and secondly thank you fro recommending Mnarani Beach Cottages to your friends I can assure you that we will go out of our way to ensure that your recommendation to them will be a good choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Mnarani is a chilled out and relaxed place to spend your holiday. The staff were very friendly, pool was great, and the sun beds plentiful and with great views of the beach from the decking.
Practical points: food good, some days buffet, some days menu u choose in the morning. Bar reasonably priced.
A bit out of the way of the main resort, means quiet beach, and less touts bothering you. Beach is very tidal, long way to walk at low tide, beach route to town cutoff at high tide
Excursions are cheaper booked out of the hotel, you have less comeback if there are problems at a 3rd party - depends how risk averse you are. We had no problems.
Only negative the sea view cottages are very comfortable, but very small.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rohan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be a pleasure to see you again at Mnarani in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at Mnarani cottages for 5 nights in november.
We have to say, we really liked it - we loved everything!
The food was very good, the seaview beach cottage had an amazing view, they have great swings and hammocks, the pool is nice! The drink and food prices are resonable, you have to try the seafood plate for 2 persons - yummy!
The staff is extremly friendly! We booked a snorkeling trip to mnemba island through the hotel, which was also great, especially the lunch was well prepared and tasty.
We can recomend the hotel to everyone, who seeks a relaxing and quite vacation. We plan to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simona d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
What a lovely review, thank you. We are always pleased to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
613 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 17 in Nungwi
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Zanzibari
The Zanzibari
#12 of 17 in Nungwi
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flame Tree Cottages
Flame Tree Cottages
#15 of 17 in Nungwi
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mnarani Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Beach Cottages

Property: Mnarani Beach Cottages
Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mnarani Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mnarani Beach Cottages is a beach resort hotel, located on the northernmost tip of Zanzibar Island in the village of Nungwi, next to the old lighthouse.Mnarani has been independently recommended by The Lonely Planet Guide, The Bradt Guide to Zanzibar and many other East African travel guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mnarani Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Beach Cottages Hotel Nungwi
Mnarani Beach Hotel
Mnarani Beach Resort
Mnarani Beach Cottages Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing