We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our lovely trip to Mnarani Beach Cottages 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have booked a Standard Room for 3 weeks (21/01/2014 to 12/02/2014) and our booking was immediately confirmed. All of the personnel was very friendly and helpful, also smaller problems were solved by the reception immediately and very kindly. Everything we expected from our trip was fullfilled: we had a very nice and small hotel with a great familiar atmosphere, delicious food (breakfast and especially the dinner) and a calm and relaxing holiday. If someone is searching for a calm and relaxing holiday with familiar atmosphere and very nice and friendly people should stay at Mnarani Beach Cottages!

Room Tip: For a longer stay you should try to get a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Helmut W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

It was wonderful lying in a hammock on the deck, rocking in the wind, and enjoying the view of the blue ocean. This is a quiet hotel-not for any one seeking a lively nightlife- but you can do water sports if you want. We were on half board, and the meals were fine, but be prepared for Swahili buffets. Staff were excellent and we would make special mention of Adam the trainee. What a lovely smile he always had for us! We had a sea view cottage and if we were to be critical it was a bit cramped. However if you want 5 star luxury, the cost would be significantly higher. Special mention of the local people who put on an acrobatic display and also owner who was friendly and spoke to all the guests. Make a point of visiting Nungwi village.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Mnarani Beach cottages. The staff was friendly and help full and the food was good. It was clean and comfortable and there was lots to do. You can walk to different bars and other hotels and the Hotel organizes tours and has canoes that you can rent that is very nice to do.

Room Tip: Second story rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lezelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for 4 nights after a tiring safari. It was clean, quiet and the suite was large and comfortable. Beautiful view from my balcony of the ocean.
A very nice place. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to help me retrieve my iPad after I had left it in a taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed in Zanzibar a week, from that 3 nights at Mnarani, garden cottage. The room was tiny but well kept. Halfboard was very good, dinners were delicious and big. We only had lunch there once and it was tragic...cheesburger came without cheese and a salad was mainly a whole onion. The waiter had very limited english which was frustrating. There is no beach cos of the tides so we walked to other places with a beach. Pool is clean and nice but the foot wash was full of rotten leaves and not cleaned or filled with water during those 3 days.Prices are high; walk down to Kendwa beach and you find better deal for taxi, diving, massage etc.Exchange rate is very bad so in the end is better to pay by card with 4% extra.If you would like a massage, book it 24h ahead. I would recommend this place to someone who wants to hide from the rest of the world and do nothingelse then relax.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AlenaAntibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a fantastic stay at these beach cottages back in October 2013. What would give to be back there again now we are back in England's winter. The cottage we stayed in was lovely. From the moment we arrived the staff were so friendly and helpful. Organised everything for us to go to the Full Moon party at Kendwa rocks. The bar man Mohammed was so friendly and helpful to us and he and my partner John became good friends :) Loved spending time at the bar after dinner learning the game Mbao, so much so that we bought a small board at the airport to play at home. Definitely recommend staying here! the tide does cut you off from further up the beach in the afternoon, but you have plenty of time in the morning to go for a long walk up the beach and it's great to get back to Manarani and relax by the pool for the afternoon or in one of the lovely hammocks looking out to the ocean. Great massage had too in the little hut with the sound of the ocean around you :)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SPandIrishJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I've just returned from spending 4 days at this wonderful place. The motto is come as clients, leave as friends - well that captures the place spot on. The food was excellent both in content and presentation.
the ambiance and atmosphere of the place is 100% relaxing. If you want to go somewhere to relax and chill then this is the place. We had just climbed Kilimanjaro, so being here to unwind and re charge the battery's was the perfect choice.

The owner,Nassor is an absolute gentleman!!! He spoke to us most days, and not just passing small talk, he really made us feel personally welcome, and when we checked out at 10am,he found out the taxi wasn't picking us up until midnight, he gave us a cottage to chill, shower and wait until midnight.

I would recommend this little patch of paradise to everyone!!!!

Leighton & Steve, the boys from Wales!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeightonD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we pride ourselves in making our guests feel welcome as friends when they stay at the Cottages as our aim is for you to relax and enjoy everything about your stay with us. Thank you once again for your gracious review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#4 of 19 in Nungwi
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,660 reviews
46.2 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
566 reviews
1.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mnarani Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Beach Cottages

Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £82 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mnarani Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mnarani Beach Cottages is a beach resort hotel, located on the northernmost tip of Zanzibar Island in the village of Nungwi, next to the old lighthouse.Mnarani has been independently recommended by The Lonely Planet Guide, The Bradt Guide to Zanzibar and many other East African travel guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Mnarani Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Beach Cottages Hotel Nungwi
Mnarani Beach Hotel
Mnarani Beach Resort
Mnarani Beach Cottages Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing