We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Worries” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No Worries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have just got back from our holiday, i booked this holiday as a present for my partners 50th birthday . we did a split holiday , first half was to Tanzinere on safari and the second for beach and sea fishing . Despite some bad reviews from this site we were very very happy with our accomidation hear. Who ever wrote on hear anything bad about this hotel must of been bought up having their backsides wiped with silk and eating off gold platters , because this place is simply beautiful . The staff are so wonderfully polite and helpfull , the management couldnt be more prominant and the food and surroundings excellent ! The african night was first class. There was a slight smell from the beach but only when the wind cought it right . I would say be carful when in the sea and take some piriton tablets with you , as i got stung quite a lot by pariste type gelly fish things . Apparently they are only seasonal and not there all the time . I did react quite badly to them but after i took the piriton they stopped itching . The fishing OMG !!!! . I had prebooked this before we left England with a company called Zanzibar fishing . com . They did ask me to send a deposit which i was a little nervous of doing , but they are totally genuine . The company is owned by a guy called Gerry and his wife Mwezi, the boat we went on was called Unreal and it certainly lived upto its name . We went out first day for 16 hours and blanked , not a happy bunny!!! The second time for 12 hours and cought a fair sized Baracooda and the last afternoon for 6 hours and BOOM !!!!! a Darado , 5 stripjack Tunas and the icing on the cake a 100kk Black Marlin !!!!! The biggest one on the island so far . Definately worth a shot with this company our skipper was a guy called Chris , he was ace . Well that just about raps it up , all in all FAB FAB FAB , AMAZING HOLIDAY ALL ROUND , WORTH EVERY PENNY SPENT !!! Would do it all again in a heartbeat

Room Tip: room 320 was our room and it was in a really good position for views and right in the middle of ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a2thed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    260
    76
    30
    18
See reviews for
255
612
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Diamonds La Gemma is great. it is so beautiful and large.
We went at a quiet time of year and the hotel was not fully booked. i can imagine that when it is fully booked then it gets a little cramped and a bit much. but we loved our stay.
The food is incredible, especially the lasagne.
The staff are very friendly.
The rooms are large with a large garden at the back with beautiful views of the beach and sea.
We met some lovely people on holiday who we have stayed in touch with and still see a year later.
We had a fantastic time
The Safari Blue tour is a definite must!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

La Gemma is wonderful although they could improve on food and activities. There are 4 different restaurants but only 2 are included in their Fully inclusive package. The other 2 are extra restaurants and totally under utilized. Food it a key experience in a foreign world and unless you are willing to pay extra you are limited to basic eurpoean food. Another aspect to improve are the watersports - again extra. The boats etc remain unused and dry on the beach when in fact these could give holiday makers thrills across the beautiful zanzibar ocean. The hotel remains wonderful and the staff friendly and a major highlight in our stay - however le Gemma could learn a thing or two from Mauritian resorts which all inclusive truly is all inclusive, waterskiing and all!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer_Dyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Large beautiful grounds surround this hotel which has a delightful pool complex right on the edge of the beach.
The staff are all excellent - always cheerful and extremely helpful.
The bedroom was very good, although my wife would have preferred a bath as well as the excellent shower.
The food is good but with only two restaurants available for the all inclusive price tag, one's eating options are limited to the main restaurant which is buffet style - breakfast, lunch and dinner- and the poolside bar/restaurant which has a very limited menu. The two other, pay, restaurants were empty most of the time we were there and so my own view is that the hotel would be better to scrap these and increase the offering in the poolside restaurant - a BBQ would not be difficult to arrange.
I would also liked to have seen some senior members of management walking around just talking to the guests but I didn't.
Having said all this, and having lived and worked in Africa, this is the best hotel I have stayed in in Africa - just a bit more effort and choice and I would have given it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently refurbished rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Having read some disappointing reviews of La Gemma, we were not sure what to expect. The hotel is in a great setting and the gardens are beautiful and well maintained. It is a large site but we enjoyed walking through the grounds. (Buggies are available for those who do not wish to walk)
We received a warm welcome and were pleased to find that our room (on level 1), overlooked the beach and was well appointed and very clean.
All the staff were truly excellent - friendly and eager to help.
Buffet breakfast was situated in the main restaurant and offered plenty of choice.
The choice at lunch was either buffet style in the main restaurant or, our preferred option, in the beach bar with waiter service where the limited menu offered fish, sandwiches, pasta etc.(A couple of daily specials would be a welcome addition) The Swahili dinner on Friday evenings was good.
Although the staff were, without exception, excellent,we did not see the Manager at any time during our stay and felt that a more visible approach would be beneficial.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt that this was a four star hotel that with just a little thought and improvement, could be outstanding.

Room Tip: Rooms on level1 are closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sils55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

For Zanzibar standards quite a large hotel, but very well run by a Swiss company PLAN hotels.
Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful, accommodation excellent and facilities very good in a stunning location overlooking the Indian Ocean.
Restaurants were varied but although fully inclusive you still had to pay extra for two of the restaurants on the jetty.
Entertainment was good with an African feel to it and the weather was mid thirties just about bearable while we had minus temperatures back in UK with snow and frost. Yes I would return.

Room Tip: Don't go for the expensive lodges they are situated the furthest from the beach. Level 3 is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Breese-Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We have just had a week in the Samburu & the Masi Mara on safari . It was the most fantastic holiday,

Our week in Diamonds was a very pleasant time , great food, good location, lovely grounds , very friendly, but they do have a problem with a very strong sulpher smell coming from the sea/ beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice-JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
15.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
22.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#5 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Property: Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 2019, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within exotic tropical gardens and water features inviting guests to enjoy the pristine view over the Indian Ocean, Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est is located on the north-western shores of the magical spice island of Zanzibar. This enchanting, luxurious and environmentally friendly resort is famous for its magnificent beach and large wharf built onto the open waters of the Indian Ocean and stretches out towards the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, Jovago.com and Expedia so you can book your Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds La Gemma Dell` Est Hotel Zanzibar
La Gemma Dell Est Zanzibar
Gemma Del Est
Diamonds La Gemma Dell' Est Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing