We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zanzibar Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My husband and i travelled here on our honeymoon. We had already been on a all inclusive Safari in Kenya so the bar was set quite high. The hotel itself was quite impressive after driving through shanty towns to get there. The greeting area and gardens were really nice, bedrooms were a complete let down. Very old fashioned and just not as luxurious as i expected. The Mosquito net over the bed was very dirty and our rooms werent cleaned / freshened up until the late evening. Our bed nearly broke our backs, the mattress was very bad.The gardens and beach are maintained to a very high standar which was nice. The restaraunt in the Pavillion was very nice but all meals get very monotonous there. Criossants were often rock hard. Being a hotel by the sea i expected to see alot of fish on the menu, prawns and calamari were the only fish on offer in the while 7 days we were there. The pizzeria on the beach was extremely nice and we enjoyed dinners down here the most, it was mainly Italian style. I was very disapointed as the restaraunt that everyone most wanted to go to (the one out on the sea) was not included in the All inclusive deal. We did have one meal there complimentry as we were honeymooners but it was a complete let down. The menu was fantastic but way overly priced, when the waiter realised we were there as "honeymooners comp meal" we were given the most basic dinner. Ourselves and another couple were so disapointed and hungry that we headed off to the Pizzeria afterwards !! At the pizzeria if you wanted to sit on the sand slightly nearer to the ocean you had to opt for the other non inclusive menu which i thought was very bad. I also found that there was absolutely no where to go for a snack or bite to eat bewteen 17.00 - 19.30. This was quite inconvenient. The only entertainment at night was a D.J who played a few karoke songs in the Pavillion. The spa was nice but after going twice i cancelled appts as i found that it was quite cold there and you didnt really get that pampered feeling from it. Staff at this hotel were helpful and friendly.Security was great and we felt very safe. Overall we had a nice time here but i dont think it was worth the money we paid compared to other resorts like this one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeanRyan1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

My partner and I stayed here in February of this year. It was suggested by a friend in the safari business. I have been to Zanzibar before and stayed at some very nice hotels but this one is the tops. Beautiful everything and mother nature provides the Indian Ocean for all day swimming in crystal clear water. It could not have been better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We travelled with two children aged 10 and 12. They had a wonderful holiday, as did we. We were after a relaxing stay at a hotel that catered for kids. There is visual security at all perimeters, which meant that we let the kids have the run of the place while they stayed together. They were treated well by all staff, as were we.

While some warned us that we were going at the leading edge of the monsoon season, the afternoon showers were brief and very welcome! The hotel was not full to capacity, but the resort is spacious in any event in terms of beach space and pool size.

The food was of a high standard and there is more than enough variety available, even if you stick to "in-package" food venues.

A special "thank-you" to the housekeeping staff who decorated our beds each day- the girls loved the artful decoration of petals and flowers that changed every day!

Don't hesitate to choose this venue.

My only (very minor) cautions:
- you are in the far North, so trips to Stonetown take at least an hour over poor roads. We only took one trip, so for us this was not a great problem.
- shower in our room was in-bath. Not great, but functional.

Room Tip: If you're travelling as a family, choose a suite. We had a suite on the end of a level 2, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acrylicrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We honeymooned at this resort and had a great time. However the resort desperately needs to be upgraded to be true to it's billing as a 5 star facility. The bedroom was an utter disappointment - crummy fittings, old carpet and furniture and a strained bathroom. The bed was two singles pushed together, two duvets and foam pillows (yes, foam in a 5 star resort!!!) - i was told this is "standard" and i would need to have requested an upgrade (which i immediately did and this was changed quickly). The room is equal to a South African 3 star.

The "all inclusive" food and beverage option lacks real value. We were told that all beverages in the room fridge were included - great when it is water, coke, fanta and a local beer (only)!! They herd everyone into a standard restaurant to manage the food costs; the other restaurant (a pizzeria at the pool) delivers great pizzas but the entire menu has 3 meat items (including the ham on the hawaiian pizza! and the spicy sausage on another pizza), eat all the vegetarian pasta and pizza you want!

Breakfasts are disappointing and lack imagination (standard every day), the juices over watered and the croissants soft. Equal to a South African 3 star.

The rest of the food is well prepared but i would have expected more than the cheap South African wine offered as part of the "all inclusive" package.

The grounds are beautiful and the sea is great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianS992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent the last week of our honeymoon in Tanzania at this resort. We were looking for an all-inclusive beachfront resort, which is why we chose this resort. The staff were professional and courteous and we had great conversations with all of them. The grounds were beautiful and well-groomed. Rooms had a spacious back deck and beautiful views of the ocean. The beach and pool was absolutely fabulous. We spent most of our days swimming in the ocean and relaxing on the beach. The food was good too. It wasn't spectacular, but it was very good for an all-inclusive resort.

On the downside, the rooms were not as clean as they could have been. There was pretty awful mould growing on the sliding glass doors of the showers and other mould-like substances in the bathroom. The mosquito netting needed to be cleaned as well. We noticed they are upgrading some rooms and in the days before we left, all the rooms got new flat-screen TVs so maybe this will improve. Another upgrade that is required is an upgrade to the beach chairs. They are very uncomfortable. If you can get two towels per person each day and use one towel as a headrest, this will help to alleviate the discomfort of the chairs. My husband and I like to work out, however the resort has a very small outdoor gym with limited equipment. We made do with that and discovered that we could get a great workout each morning but running the many flights of stairs at the resort! We booked a few trips into Zanzibar from the resort very easily. I would skip the spice tour - there wasn't much to see and the spices for sale were more no less expensive than the price I pay in Canada.

A highlight food-wise is the Friday African night, which includes a huge outdoor buffet including all types of typical Zanzibarian and Tanzanian food. We enjoyed that meal very much.

Overall, this resort is fine - it is a standard, all-inclusive and if you are looking to relax on a beautiful beach, eat and drink as much as you like and swim in the fabulous Indian Ocean, this is the resort for you. If your room is not clean, you should insist on a proper cleaning or move to a newer room. The staff is very friendly - remember to be kind and treat them with respect and you will be treated with respect in turn. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room and ensure the room (especially bathroom) is properly cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLDEKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We decided to take a mini break over a long weekend, and chose a destination not yet travelled. Our decision was good in that we visited a small piece of paradise, and not good in that we only had 2 days in this amazing resort.

Our trip to the destination was a harrowing event, but is not part of this review. We arrived late (20h30) and where greeted by a friendly reception staff who where well aware of our arrival. They whisked us to the relaxing and inviting lobby lounge and we had our welcome cocktails and an efficient and speedy check-in ensued. The ins & outs explained in under 15 minutes and we where shuttled to our room by golf cart. Being tired, we decided to eat and get to sleep for an early start.

Wow!! We woke to an amazing vista and started our exploration of paradise!

Restaurants/Food: We stayed on an all-inclusive package, and the food selection & variety was more than we could have hoped for. In some instances, the resort used tinned products, but this was understandable given to remote location of the resort. The main inclusive restaurant was roomy and well appointed. The staff attentive, and friendly. Some language barrier troubles, but a quick point to a menu and everything was resolved.

Room: We stayed in a suite, with a massive king size or 2 x 3/4 beds and a lounge dining area with kitchenette. The room was well equipped and appointed beautifully. We stayed on level 3, which allowed the best sea views. The lower you get, the less sea view and more garden view you get. All the rooms have massive balconies, that are grassed, as the have stepped the rooms in a terrace style layout. Our only complaint about this beautiful resort, was the shower. The shower head had clogged, and was not working. No bath meant that this was all we had. We did bring it too their attention, and I am certain it would have been resolved.

Facilities: This resort caters for everything one would want from a island resort holiday. We spent our days lazing on the beach and alternating between sea swimming and pool swimming. The days where quite and lazy, and the nights calm and rested. I would imagine that teenagers/kids may get slightly bored at night, with limited planned activities for them.

General: We would return to this resort in a heartbeat. Unfortunately getting there is not easy and we experienced the true African challenges of missed flights, officialdom, lack of customer service etc. If a direct flight opened to Zanzibar from Johannesburg, I would not hesitate to go again.

Room Tip: 3rd level rooms have the best sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeanJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have just got back from our holiday, i booked this holiday as a present for my partners 50th birthday . we did a split holiday , first half was to Tanzinere on safari and the second for beach and sea fishing . Despite some bad reviews from this site we were very very happy with our accomidation hear. Who ever wrote on hear anything bad about this hotel must of been bought up having their backsides wiped with silk and eating off gold platters , because this place is simply beautiful . The staff are so wonderfully polite and helpfull , the management couldnt be more prominant and the food and surroundings excellent ! The african night was first class. There was a slight smell from the beach but only when the wind cought it right . I would say be carful when in the sea and take some piriton tablets with you , as i got stung quite a lot by pariste type gelly fish things . Apparently they are only seasonal and not there all the time . I did react quite badly to them but after i took the piriton they stopped itching . The fishing OMG !!!! . I had prebooked this before we left England with a company called Zanzibar fishing . com . They did ask me to send a deposit which i was a little nervous of doing , but they are totally genuine . The company is owned by a guy called Gerry and his wife Mwezi, the boat we went on was called Unreal and it certainly lived upto its name . We went out first day for 16 hours and blanked , not a happy bunny!!! The second time for 12 hours and cought a fair sized Baracooda and the last afternoon for 6 hours and BOOM !!!!! a Darado , 5 stripjack Tunas and the icing on the cake a 100kk Black Marlin !!!!! The biggest one on the island so far . Definately worth a shot with this company our skipper was a guy called Chris , he was ace . Well that just about raps it up , all in all FAB FAB FAB , AMAZING HOLIDAY ALL ROUND , WORTH EVERY PENNY SPENT !!! Would do it all again in a heartbeat

Room Tip: room 320 was our room and it was in a really good position for views and right in the middle of ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a2thed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
15.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,683 reviews
1.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diamonds Star of the East
14.4 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,737 reviews
22 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: £248 - £577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within exotic tropical gardens and water features inviting guests to enjoy the pristine view over the Indian Ocean, Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est is located on the north-western shores of the magical spice island of Zanzibar. This enchanting, luxurious and environmentally friendly resort is famous for its magnificent beach and large wharf built onto the open waters of the Indian Ocean and stretches out towards the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds La Gemma Dell` Est Hotel Zanzibar
La Gemma Dell Est Zanzibar
Gemma Del Est
Diamonds La Gemma Dell' Est Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing