We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
96
50
12
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
50
12
5
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed here for a week and found it very agreeable. Cottages have a great sea view, are set on a nicely nice landscaped grass area and lead down to an idyllic stretch of beach. There is a decent dive shop (Zanzibar Dive Adventures) situated in the hotel next door. Breakfast was good although, if you wish to eat lunch or dinner at the hotel, there is only one option of food and we felt it was a little overpriced. This wouldn’t be an issue at all but the hotel is a 25 minute walk to the beach area by the village (and other dining options – including amazing, cheap seafood) as, surprisingly, the other (top end) hotels on the way also seemed to offer only a restricted choice. The hotel is not cheap to stay at and offers pretty basic accommodation when you consider the price tag, but the general price of accommodation is Nungwi is extortionate (except in the village area where music from nearby bars could be an issue); with almost zero mid-range options available. This is all the more painfully juxtaposed when you walk though the village and see the absolute grinding poverty that the inhabitants live in, no wonder it’s not safe to walk home after sunset. I think the place would greatly benefit by having a few decent budget or mid-range Tanzanian owned hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I had a wonderful 3 night stay at Sazani and was so impressed with the staff who really went out of their way to make it a lovely experience. It's not a good place to stay if you have trouble with steps but once on the beach it is gorgeous and very isolated. Thanks to the "boys" who walked us along the beach at night so we could enjoy Nungwi night life. I loved the hibiscus decorating the bungalow when I arrived-a nice touch. The food was great!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDeeArusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed in two hotels in Nungwi (Amaan Bungalows with a group trip and Sazani). By far, Sazani was perfect. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We did not get to meet the famous Nikki because she was not there when we stayed, but Bokari and Mwanzi were both incredibly hospitable and lovely.

The hotel is on the quieter side compared to some of the others, but the busier west side of Nungwi is very close and accessible if you choose to venture out. Also, Sazani's beach was less affected by the tides in comparison to the west side of Nungwe when we stayed at Amaan.

Each morning we had delicious breakfasts with homemade jams and fresh mixed juices that were out of this world. The jams were so amazing that I asked the kitchen if they could sell us a couple jars to take home with us.

This is not a huge luxury resort. Rather, it is a quiet and quaint oasis that you will find total relaxation (another tip is the massages, which I did not take but my two friends who did raved about).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtaraAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Me and my three friends had a really good time at Sazani!
Paradise beach, lovely rooms and a great host (Thanks Pippa) - everything for a great value.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed at Sazani Beach Hotel with 3 colleagues. We couldn't have been happier with our choice! The food was excellent and the beach was amazing.

Unlike many of the (much pricier) hotels further north, the beach in front of Sazani has plenty of dry sand even during high tide. (At other hotels the water reaches all the way to the rocks, leaving no beachfront.) Having walked all the way around the western to eastern side of the northern peninsula, Sazani truly has one of the best beaches around. We found no need for a/c in the rooms.

The rate was unbelievably affordable especially compared to other hotels.

Nikki was also a very attentive, considerate hostess.

YOu won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews