We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private beach resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sazani Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sazani Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
“Private beach resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I spent 3 nights at Sazani in late June, 2013 with a group of six Americans from NYC and California. We had all traveled thoroughly throughout most continents, and were seasoned travelers by any measure. Although we utilized trip advisor, which has always been a reliable source, we didn't know what to expect (TIA?).

We were pleasantly surprised to arrive at Sazani to not find hordes of pseudo-volunteer college students. It was just our group and another visitor, and it felt like our own private resort. It was beautiful. I rarely wore sandals to go anywhere on the Sazani property, and the beach front was a mere 50 meters from our front door step.

Our room (3 person) was very clean, included mosquito nets, and had a recently re-modeled shower. It provided us with everything we needed during our stay. As a previous guest stated, there was only water provided for one day, however there was always water available at any time of the day (3 am in one instance). There was also Wi-Fi in the lobby area, which is convenient for those who enjoy staying connected. The hot water and tea right outside, straddled by two comfortable chairs, made for a lovely wake-up. Have I already stated the view was spectacular?

The staff was remarkably friendly, not because they feared we would write terrible trip advisor reviews, but because they genuinely enjoyed the job they were doing. They organized a nearby SCUBA instructor to offer us excursions, which a few of us took the offer. The boats for off-site SCUBA are anchored 150-200m from the shore line, immediately in front of Sazani Beach. It felt more like a home filled with friends. We enjoyed our private beach during the day, drinks in the evening (ok, some in the day too), followed by remarkable food.

The food was amazing. 20USD/plate was a little steep for the dinner price, but in general Zanzibar is expensive if you want to eat a well prepared meal. If you want a great meal for 7USD/plate, go to South Africa. The staff was flexible and understanding of certain constraints (vegetarians). The fruit was always fresh, and coffee always available. I also highly recommend you order a "Caribou Lou" from the Bar - excellent beach drink with fresh pineapple.

As others have stated, it is a 30 minute walk to some of the other resorts/restaurants down by the beach, and 20 to Nungwi village. Taxis, which the front desk will arrange, to Nungwi village cost a mere 10000 schillings. Taxis to Kendwa (sp?) Beach cost 15000 schillings.

As our group continued our journey to South Africa, David (the wonderful manager) made us the offer to schedule a flight instead of a miserable drive (50min) to Stone Town, and then a Ferry across to mainland. We took him on the offer and it was a seamless process.

Bottom line, if you are a looking for a Hilton, look elsewhere. If you want a beautiful scenery, excellent family-like service, and delicious food, stay at Sazani.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    47
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
27
67
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent 5 nights here in late Feb 2013, the hotel is situated in a beautiful location looking over the ocean with a fantastic sunrise in the morning. The rooms were basic and clean and the food fresh (if a little slow).

It's the perfect place to go to escape and relax to get away from it all (though there is WiFi in the reception if cant let go completely).

There's plenty to do if you don't want to just chill out - scuba can be arranged as can massage and the village is only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I spend 10 days (too short!) at Sazani during February 2013. Perfect location! Beautiful, tranquil, private and only 20 minutes' walk away from the hustle and bustle of Nungwi village. My room was basic, clean, authentically decorated, spaciously comfortable with a seaview. The tides create a constant change of scenery and determine the activities for the day. Food, although basic, was always fresh and deliciously prepared. And according to my own personal survey – Sazani makes the best Pina Coladas in the area!
Nikki (the manager) and her very friendly staff are the heart and soul of Sazani. Thank you Nikki, for making me feel so welcome and creating this very homely atmosphere, connecting people, leaving us with beautiful memories!

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms inside, but mine(no. 9)was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights and completely chilled out, the hotel was just outside the local village about 15mins drive which suited us great as you didn't get anyone harnessing you on beach. Also they had security patrolling, which being two girls made us feel very secure. Our breakfast every morning was fab we got fresh juices made to our tastes and fresh pancakes if we wanted which were amazing! They had great menu for lunch and dinner which we took advantage of most nights. Rooms were basic but had everything you needed and were cleaned everyday, very little bugs too. The view from this hotel blew us away, its really something to have sipping over your beverage at sundown!! The manager Nikki was very friendly and helped us do some tours and advise us on local restaurants etc her yoga was very popular too. If I was coming back I'd be staying here again, it was brilliant value for money and the staff were lovely which just makes ur holiday so much better!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colleen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deinze, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is the perfect place to disconnect en to rest in quietness.
We stayed at this hotel the second week of January 2013.
The hotel is well placed with a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean.
Its build in a nice traditional style architecture.
The actual manager, Nikki is very nice and relax. The staff is really friendly.
The daily maintenance is mainly good. Room, paths , beach are daily more or less cleaned.
It's a pity that the infrastructure is old and not maintained.
Beds are to short (about 185 cm). Rugs, mosquito nets, bathrooms, cousins, are old and not really clean and looks like not replaced in years. What cost a rug in Zanzibar? Maybe 10 dollar? This is not a big investment and it would make such a difference!!!
Breakfast is nice, with nice omelet and coffee.( The best we drunk in Zanzibar) but again sugar pot is not really clean and not well maintained etc, etc.
One only evening we had dinner there. The food was cold, de spinach where full of sand. No good for the price!!!
And nevertheless if we go back to Zanzibar I would probably go back to Sazani beach to stay.
We only missed what the name Sazani means (Swahili for "a bit extra"), but we enjoy sun, rest and beach, without shouting Italians or Polish people around. Note that I have nothing against italians and polish people, yes against shouting people in nature. It's a pity but you find those in other places in Zanzibar.
One last thing: go now to Zanzibar, because I think that in a few years its going to become the new Ibiza. I hope not!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

I was very disappointed by Sazani beach hotel. Not because I had high expectations because at the rate charged you don't expect the Ritz. The disappointing thing for me was that the basics weren't attended to. The bathroom in our room was absolutely filthy. They come in and tidy the room every day but Idon't think they heard of bleach or other cleaning products. The restaurant served a decent breakfast but was overrun by flys which further indicates the lack of cleaning products. As other reviewers have noted the lunch and dinner is not worth having as it takes so long to be served and you are a decent taxi ride to find something else to eat. Probably the worst bit of all was seeing how nice Ras Nungwi (next door) was in comparison. Power outages are common (i.e. every night) and this hotel does not have a generator which means rooms can resemble dark saunas. The beach itself is beautiful and this place could be great but just isn't.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPdP74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sazanibeach, Owner at Sazani Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Im really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Sazani Beach.

We are a small family run beach lodge and yours is the first review since 2007 that has complained about cleanliness or the quality of our food. Our website provides an honest portrayal of our hotel and our drive towards sustainability.

We do not claim to be a 4 star resort and Im not sure why you compare us to Ras Nungwi, which one would hope have a different standard of facilities, as their rooms and meals are 4x the price of ours.

Everything we serve and prepare is fresh and sourced locally . The cuisine is a fusion of spice island and european flavours. We do not have an a la carte menu, instead a changing menu of daily specials. While we cannot please all tastes, we cater as best we can for dietary requirements and specialise in seafood.

With regard to power fluctuations, the hotel is in the process of relying on solar power rather than the mains that as you have witnessed is unreliable. There are two generators as back up but at 3am in the morning, on an outgoing tide when the sea breeze it at its stillest, we will have made a judgement call as to whether or not to start them and wake everyone as noise is so much louder at night or not. Obviously the wrong choice was made from your perspective.


That said, if you were so unhappy with everything, why was nothing said to the General Manager, who as an amazing chef in her own right as well as running as tight a ship as possible in Zanzibar, would have done her utmost to make your stay a more pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed at Sazani for a week in december and had the best time. The rooms are simple, but very charming and clean. Small things like when we arrived and the staff had placed beatiful flowers on the bed and elsewhere around the room, just made the difference. The included breakfast was great and had everything you could wish for.

The location of Sazani is superb and the beach right outside the hotel is probably the best around nungwi - we didnt see any stretch of beach next to the other resorts or in nungwi that came even close!

The manager Nikki was very sweet and attentive and a great yoga teacher as well. She helped us plan visits to Stone Town, arranged diving trips and together with the rest of the stafff, who were also fantastic, made sure that we had great week at the hotel.

Go there and experience it for yourself - we only have the highest recommendations for this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madsjespersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Zanzibari
The Zanzibari
#13 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sazani Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sazani Beach Lodge

Property: Sazani Beach Lodge
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sazani Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like a castaway at our 10 room beach lodge, a perfect paradise for beach lovers, kite surfers and divers. An oasis of calm just five minute taxi ride from Nungwi's busy strip of music bars and hotels. Our bungalows are designed in a traditional Swahilli style with coconut thatch roofs in a tropical garden setting, each with a sea view and sandy path down to our secluded pristine beach and the turquoise ocean. Stay with us and help us to develop our sustainability ethos to be an environmentally and socially responsible hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sazani Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sazani Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing