We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
96
50
12
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
50
12
5
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent 3 nights at Sazani with our two young children. Immediately on arrival the manager, David, and all the staff, made us feel at home. The people at Sazani were all very friendly and welcoming, always helping us to organize our day ahead. Our kids were, by the end of the first day, in the kitchen cooking pancakes with the chefs!! The rooms are simple and pleasant, with a lovely view overlooking the ocean. The beach is gorgeous and private, nothing like the loud and crowded town of Nungwi ten minutes away on foot. The food is delicious, although a tad overpriced... but then again, everything in ZNZ is! Really, I have only good things to say: I highly recommend Sazani!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank KQuintDaresSalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I spent 3 nights at Sazani in late June, 2013 with a group of six Americans from NYC and California. We had all traveled thoroughly throughout most continents, and were seasoned travelers by any measure. Although we utilized trip advisor, which has always been a reliable source, we didn't know what to expect (TIA?).

We were pleasantly surprised to arrive at Sazani to not find hordes of pseudo-volunteer college students. It was just our group and another visitor, and it felt like our own private resort. It was beautiful. I rarely wore sandals to go anywhere on the Sazani property, and the beach front was a mere 50 meters from our front door step.

Our room (3 person) was very clean, included mosquito nets, and had a recently re-modeled shower. It provided us with everything we needed during our stay. As a previous guest stated, there was only water provided for one day, however there was always water available at any time of the day (3 am in one instance). There was also Wi-Fi in the lobby area, which is convenient for those who enjoy staying connected. The hot water and tea right outside, straddled by two comfortable chairs, made for a lovely wake-up. Have I already stated the view was spectacular?

The staff was remarkably friendly, not because they feared we would write terrible trip advisor reviews, but because they genuinely enjoyed the job they were doing. They organized a nearby SCUBA instructor to offer us excursions, which a few of us took the offer. The boats for off-site SCUBA are anchored 150-200m from the shore line, immediately in front of Sazani Beach. It felt more like a home filled with friends. We enjoyed our private beach during the day, drinks in the evening (ok, some in the day too), followed by remarkable food.

The food was amazing. 20USD/plate was a little steep for the dinner price, but in general Zanzibar is expensive if you want to eat a well prepared meal. If you want a great meal for 7USD/plate, go to South Africa. The staff was flexible and understanding of certain constraints (vegetarians). The fruit was always fresh, and coffee always available. I also highly recommend you order a "Caribou Lou" from the Bar - excellent beach drink with fresh pineapple.

As others have stated, it is a 30 minute walk to some of the other resorts/restaurants down by the beach, and 20 to Nungwi village. Taxis, which the front desk will arrange, to Nungwi village cost a mere 10000 schillings. Taxis to Kendwa (sp?) Beach cost 15000 schillings.

As our group continued our journey to South Africa, David (the wonderful manager) made us the offer to schedule a flight instead of a miserable drive (50min) to Stone Town, and then a Ferry across to mainland. We took him on the offer and it was a seamless process.

Bottom line, if you are a looking for a Hilton, look elsewhere. If you want a beautiful scenery, excellent family-like service, and delicious food, stay at Sazani.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent 5 nights here in late Feb 2013, the hotel is situated in a beautiful location looking over the ocean with a fantastic sunrise in the morning. The rooms were basic and clean and the food fresh (if a little slow).

It's the perfect place to go to escape and relax to get away from it all (though there is WiFi in the reception if cant let go completely).

There's plenty to do if you don't want to just chill out - scuba can be arranged as can massage and the village is only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I spend 10 days (too short!) at Sazani during February 2013. Perfect location! Beautiful, tranquil, private and only 20 minutes' walk away from the hustle and bustle of Nungwi village. My room was basic, clean, authentically decorated, spaciously comfortable with a seaview. The tides create a constant change of scenery and determine the activities for the day. Food, although basic, was always fresh and deliciously prepared. And according to my own personal survey – Sazani makes the best Pina Coladas in the area!
Nikki (the manager) and her very friendly staff are the heart and soul of Sazani. Thank you Nikki, for making me feel so welcome and creating this very homely atmosphere, connecting people, leaving us with beautiful memories!

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms inside, but mine(no. 9)was perfect!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights and completely chilled out, the hotel was just outside the local village about 15mins drive which suited us great as you didn't get anyone harnessing you on beach. Also they had security patrolling, which being two girls made us feel very secure. Our breakfast every morning was fab we got fresh juices made to our tastes and fresh pancakes if we wanted which were amazing! They had great menu for lunch and dinner which we took advantage of most nights. Rooms were basic but had everything you needed and were cleaned everyday, very little bugs too. The view from this hotel blew us away, its really something to have sipping over your beverage at sundown!! The manager Nikki was very friendly and helped us do some tours and advise us on local restaurants etc her yoga was very popular too. If I was coming back I'd be staying here again, it was brilliant value for money and the staff were lovely which just makes ur holiday so much better!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews