We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing location , away from the crowds”
Review of Sazani Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sazani Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great relaxing location , away from the crowds”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I spent 5 nights here at Sazani Beach hotel, in the north of Zanzibar.
The staff were attentive , helpful and very friendly. The hotel itself was well appointed in that there was everything I needed for a relaxing few days on the beach. The room was comfortable and spacious and the sound of the waves on the beach just yards away was amazing to wake upto.
Good food, good service, great massage and I highly recommend it to those who are not seeking a busy, sanitised , air conditioned , main stream chain hotel. No swimming pool or spa , but its just seconds from your room onto a beautiful white sandy beach !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    48
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
27
67
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

An Eco friendly green haven with his own private beach, terrific monitors and the most friendly staff you will come across in Nungwi. Perfect if you want to be by yourself yet a few minutes away to the bars and restaurants. Luscious gardens, hamacs spread trough out the property and the sound of the ocean cleansing all worries away from the time you wake up till you put your head to rest. A great location also for kite surfing, I spent 5 days and they just flew by, will come back in a heartbeat. Check it out for yourself, and please give a hug to Dave, Nass, Becka and all the crew.

Room Tip: Tell them in advance if your traveling in a group or by yourself and they will figure the best deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent 5 nights at Sazani in july 2013. We booked a room with sea view for $ 130 per night, and got one night for free. A bit steeper than the price given on Tripadvisor. Sazani has simple rooms, but it is clean and the bed is comfy. It also had mosquito net.

When we arrived we felt very welcome buy the staf and the manager, David. The atmosphere at Sazani is very relaxed and it has some "backpacker"-feel to it. There is all sorts of people staying there, and it was quite social. The dining- and bar area was lovely and the evening view over the ocean was just beautiful. The beach is amazing! They also made the best Mojito. The food was good, but sometimes we were a bit confused about the lunch routine. Anyway, we got lunch everyday!

It is a 30 minute walk too Nungwi "town" along the beach, if you want to get dinner elsewhere. But I recommend eating at Sazani. If it has been a bit cheaper I would rate excellent, instead of very good.

Room Tip: Book sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sazanibeach, General Manager at Sazani Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you Janne for your revue .We at Sazani value honest constructive revues.It enables us to make adjustments where necessary .
I would like however to point out that we do not have any Prices on Trip advisor ,we direct potential clients to contact us directly for rates.I think that maybe you may have miss-taken the code,BB54 ,which just refers to the 5 for 4 offer that we presently have and that you took advantage of.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your revue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Entebbe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

At a good price and food its the best place to experience both worlds of Nungwi. If you want to party and fancy restaurants head north for a nice walk. If you want to chill and spend time with your partner stay in the resort. Excellent place and awesome space to learn to Kitesurf.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albeto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent 3 nights at Sazani with our two young children. Immediately on arrival the manager, David, and all the staff, made us feel at home. The people at Sazani were all very friendly and welcoming, always helping us to organize our day ahead. Our kids were, by the end of the first day, in the kitchen cooking pancakes with the chefs!! The rooms are simple and pleasant, with a lovely view overlooking the ocean. The beach is gorgeous and private, nothing like the loud and crowded town of Nungwi ten minutes away on foot. The food is delicious, although a tad overpriced... but then again, everything in ZNZ is! Really, I have only good things to say: I highly recommend Sazani!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KQuintDaresSalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I spent 3 nights at Sazani in late June, 2013 with a group of six Americans from NYC and California. We had all traveled thoroughly throughout most continents, and were seasoned travelers by any measure. Although we utilized trip advisor, which has always been a reliable source, we didn't know what to expect (TIA?).

We were pleasantly surprised to arrive at Sazani to not find hordes of pseudo-volunteer college students. It was just our group and another visitor, and it felt like our own private resort. It was beautiful. I rarely wore sandals to go anywhere on the Sazani property, and the beach front was a mere 50 meters from our front door step.

Our room (3 person) was very clean, included mosquito nets, and had a recently re-modeled shower. It provided us with everything we needed during our stay. As a previous guest stated, there was only water provided for one day, however there was always water available at any time of the day (3 am in one instance). There was also Wi-Fi in the lobby area, which is convenient for those who enjoy staying connected. The hot water and tea right outside, straddled by two comfortable chairs, made for a lovely wake-up. Have I already stated the view was spectacular?

The staff was remarkably friendly, not because they feared we would write terrible trip advisor reviews, but because they genuinely enjoyed the job they were doing. They organized a nearby SCUBA instructor to offer us excursions, which a few of us took the offer. The boats for off-site SCUBA are anchored 150-200m from the shore line, immediately in front of Sazani Beach. It felt more like a home filled with friends. We enjoyed our private beach during the day, drinks in the evening (ok, some in the day too), followed by remarkable food.

The food was amazing. 20USD/plate was a little steep for the dinner price, but in general Zanzibar is expensive if you want to eat a well prepared meal. If you want a great meal for 7USD/plate, go to South Africa. The staff was flexible and understanding of certain constraints (vegetarians). The fruit was always fresh, and coffee always available. I also highly recommend you order a "Caribou Lou" from the Bar - excellent beach drink with fresh pineapple.

As others have stated, it is a 30 minute walk to some of the other resorts/restaurants down by the beach, and 20 to Nungwi village. Taxis, which the front desk will arrange, to Nungwi village cost a mere 10000 schillings. Taxis to Kendwa (sp?) Beach cost 15000 schillings.

As our group continued our journey to South Africa, David (the wonderful manager) made us the offer to schedule a flight instead of a miserable drive (50min) to Stone Town, and then a Ferry across to mainland. We took him on the offer and it was a seamless process.

Bottom line, if you are a looking for a Hilton, look elsewhere. If you want a beautiful scenery, excellent family-like service, and delicious food, stay at Sazani.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent 5 nights here in late Feb 2013, the hotel is situated in a beautiful location looking over the ocean with a fantastic sunrise in the morning. The rooms were basic and clean and the food fresh (if a little slow).

It's the perfect place to go to escape and relax to get away from it all (though there is WiFi in the reception if cant let go completely).

There's plenty to do if you don't want to just chill out - scuba can be arranged as can massage and the village is only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,072 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Zanzibari
The Zanzibari
#14 of 17 in Nungwi
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warere Beach Hotel
Warere Beach Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Mnarani Beach Cottages
#12 of 17 in Nungwi
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sazani Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sazani Beach Lodge

Property: Sazani Beach Lodge
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sazani Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like a castaway at our 10 room beach lodge, a perfect paradise for beach lovers, kite surfers and divers. An oasis of calm just five minute taxi ride from Nungwi's busy strip of music bars and hotels. Our bungalows are designed in a traditional Swahili style with coconut thatch roofs in a tropical garden setting, each with a sea view and sandy path down to our secluded pristine beach and the turquoise ocean. Stay with us and help us to develop our sustainability ethos to be an environmentally and socially responsible lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Sazani Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sazani Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing