We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely lovely lovely”
Review of Sazani Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sazani Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Sazani Beach is a little piece of magic on an already magical island. Michael who runs the place with his fabulous team are just cool frankly...and great fun....and easy.....and our whole trip was an experience from start to finish....so helpful and no bull####. Wonderful. Michael likes to keep it real which sets the tone of the place......a unique hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank VirginiaBombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2008

Sanzani resort is an under-stated beach getaway on a lucious stretch of white sand and blue water. If you're looking for a high-end resort with all the frills, this isn't for you, but if you like comfortable "beachy bungalows" in a stunning setting and all the amenities you would need in a seaside paradise, then it's a great place. The owner, Mike, is a gem. Eccentric is under-stated, but he's extremely attentive, enormously helpful, provides far better "5-star service" service than the pretentious "palace" next door, and really makes you feel you're incredibly welcomed.

It's a family type of environment--a honour system bar, friendly guests having beers together on the beach, great food, friendly staff and again, I stress, the most stunning beach I've ever seen (and I'm from the Caribbean!).

So, no, it doesn't have air conditioning (most places in Zanzibar don't and mind you, you're not coming to the beach to be in the cool!), it doesn't put useless bath gel in your bathroom and it doesn't have a bar-tender with a bowtie serving silly cocktails with umbrella's. But it does offer a homey, clean, beach paradise with great (very fresh!) food, lazy hammock swings, and an excellent "get your own drinks" bar making it a lazy and lovely place. Oh, and throw in Mike who is literally the best hotel owner I've ever met and really went out of his way to help us out of more than a few pickles that had nothing to do with our accommodation!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jennyraep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

The Sazani was one of the highlights of our trip to Tanzania. It seems like a long way from civilization; it's quite a drive from the airport. But upon arrival, I was sure we had arrived in an unrivaled paradise. Yes, it's a bit rough around the edges and a very poor choice for those of you looking for the elegance of a a 5 star resort. The rooms are beautifully basic and there's not nightly turn down service. But it's a GORGEOUS location on a fantastic beach and everything about it is pure magic for me.

Manager Michael is one of those great characters that you find when you travel to interesting places. He's perfectly English and full of Blarney. Hang out at his bar for a bit and your sure to hear some wonderful stories. Be sure to ask him about the last Tsunami warning! You'll be ready to go down with him and the bar!

We did some diving with Helen at the dive centre. She was a fine dive master and the water was very, very fine. We snorkeled with dolfins and saw a million fish!

All told, the Sazani is the kind of travel secret that you hope the world never finds out about so the prices remain low and the place stays wonderfully basic. If it sounds good, enjoy. If no - please stay away!

hugs and kisses,
E

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank puzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2007

Sazani Beach is a wonderful, casual, laid-back place.
Simple but nice rooms and bathrooms - we esp. loved the large Swahili beds - best hotel bed I have ever slept in.
Beautiful garden leading down to the most wonderful beach - a very relaxed place.
We ended up having all our meals at Sazani - they serve great fish and seafood at excellent prices - and they make super cocktails :-)
If you want to be social this is a great place to meet other travellers - there's a very pleasant atmosphere - esp. because of Mike, the manager, who's a very nice person, who makes everybody feel welcome.
It's a place I'd feel save to travel to on my own.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DotDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2006

Great place if you don't mind a lot of rough around the edges while getting something authentic, scenically wonderful, a little quirky. It's for those who know a good thing and are willing to put up with minor creature discomforts. Cold water showers (who couldn't love them in the hot tropics?). Simple rooms with unnecessary mosquito netting over the beds (there are not mosquitoes to speak of). Concrete floors. Basic beauty, privacy, great character of a manager. If you love Maho Bay on St. John USVI, you'll love this place. Not for people who want room service.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WolaWola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2006

This is a very fun alternative to Ras Nungwi hotel right next door.
The beach is wonderful, and it is very laid back indeed. You get your own drinks from the bar but the atmosphere is great and it is jolly good value. The guy who runs it, Mike, is very charning though a bit eccentric, the more so as the evening goes on. But a great place if you like a feel yourself at home kind of place.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Taycom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: the closest to the beach the better , if you don't mind the sound of the waves :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurizio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.3 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Warere Beach Hotel
Warere Beach Hotel
#10 of 19 in Nungwi
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Zanzibari
The Zanzibari
#11 of 19 in Nungwi
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
680 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sazani Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sazani Beach Lodge

Address: Sazani Rd., Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Nungwi
Price Range: £60 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sazani Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like a castaway at our 10 room beach lodge, a perfect paradise for beach lovers, kite surfers and divers. An oasis of calm just five minute taxi ride from Nungwi's busy strip of music bars and hotels. Our bungalows are designed in a traditional Swahili style with coconut thatch roofs in a tropical garden setting, each with a sea view and sandy path down to our secluded pristine beach and the turquoise ocean. Stay with us and help us to develop our sustainability ethos to be an environmentally and socially responsible lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sazani Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sazani Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing