We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I do not want to leave Sanzani ...”
Review of Sazani Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sazani Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This little hotel is divine and offers incredible value. The property sits on the best stretch of pristine beachfront in Nungwi with sand like white sugar. I am impressed with the staff's attention to detail and everyone's desire to overservice and satisfy each and every guest. I am a vegetarian and the chef has gone out of his way to make special dishes just for me. The rooms all face the sea; although basic they are fine. Reading some of the earlier reviews I was concerned about staying here, but think the negativity was due to a former manager.

Martin, the current manager - a Welshman has made my stay perfect and by luck the hotel owner Kathy who is here now has added to the enjoyment. Both are experts on the island and culture and dedicate their days to perfecting each guest's stay. I could not ask for a more perfect island escape - this is a real slice of paradise!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maumauJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2010

A quite little place on a beautiful beach, very relaxing. Martin, the manager, made my stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsymichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

That hotel has been a phantastic relaxing and very enjoyable place. No busy tourism, a stunning view, long beach walks, almost no moscitos, very good food and attentive staff! It felt like home - but a lot more beautiful. I loved to live at that place and would get back everytime again! If you ever go: Don´t forget to watch the sunrise over the sea!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

The service was Amazing! We went in December 2009.
The staff, especially Martin, really goes out of their ways to help you : We were able to use internet for free, borrowed a beach towel for our diving/snorkeling trip, Martin helped us set up our diving/snorkeling trip with the Spanish Dancer Dive Center on the other side of the island, the rooms were simple but very clean… and what a view!!! The view was simply mesmerizing. The food was also very good, we had a bbq one evening, a choice for lunch, eggs and fruits in the morning, and tea and coffee is always available. If you want some time to relax, do nothing, enjoy some peace and quiet time you are at the right place. This side of the island and Sazani Beach Hotel in particular is very very quiet. You pretty much have the beach to yourself. At Sazani Beach Hotel, they also have hammocks and long chairs that you can enjoy without a charge, but there is no swimming pool there. The rooms don’t have air conditioning, which would not be a problem normally because each room as a ceiling fan. However, when we went, Zanzibar had been without electricity for a month… so everyone was running on generators, which meant that in an effort to save on power, the ceiling fans were turned off between 11.00 pm and 7.00 am, which meant that it got pretty hot in December. At times there was little water pressure for showering, but that is not uncommon for Africa. Overall, we had a great time at Sazani Beach Hotel. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slinky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

read the reviews, had doubts but these all faded away as we walked to our room. What a location, hidden away at the end of a track, a tropical paradise. Rooms were clean, food was great, if you like fish fresh from the ocean, not so good for the meat eaters. Heard stories about the old manager in the village, sounded a character who liked his drink a bit too much the new one Mousin was very attentive, couldnt ask for more, had a fantastic dive trip with Spanish Dancer arranged through the hotel. What ever went wrong for the last two reviewers didnt happen to us, totally fab and hope to go back one day, had

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapledorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Sazani Beach hotel was clearly a great place back in the day (if you look at the older reviews, it sounds like the management made this place very special). Sadly, it has become a shadow of its former self: it is very run down, the beach is dirty, it has an abandoned and disheveled feel, and it desperately needs major renovation.

Why didn't we just run a mile when we checked in (we were the only people staying there)? Because we were tired from a big trip, the location is amazing (the stretch of beach south and north of the hotel is fantastic), and because we kind of liked having the entire place to ourselves. We also vaguely enjoyed the challenge of making sure we still enjoyed ourselves despite the lodgings!

OK, so here is what we did not find appealing: the mosquito nets were old, musty, and full of holes (solution: we put tape over the holes), the room was really damp smelling (solution: burn incense), and there was trash littered around the hotel and the beach (solution: we tried to clean it up ourselves).

The whole place reminded us a little of a dirtier and unkempt version of Derek Jarman's famous garden (http://www.flickr.com/photos/angusf/sets/656542/).

There were, however, a few nice touches: flowers on our bed when we arrived and more flowers when the room was made up in the morning; good breakfasts.

All in all, however, we recommend that you stay elsewhere.

In fact, you should spend just $40 more per night and stay next door at the lovely Ras Nungwe, a gorgeously designed luxury boutique hotel that is impeccable (you feel as if you're in a Travel and Leisure magazine as you wander round the grounds). One of the reasons we enjoyed our stay at Sazani is that we basically hung out at Ras Nungwe: we had lunch there one day, and dinner another, which gave us permission to hang out by the pool and take advantage of all the freebies (cookies in the afternoon, cocktails and appetizers by the pool in the evening).

We also had a terrific day of snorkeling, arranged by Sazani (they have some really lovely and helpful staff; it really is a terrible shame that the hotel has gone to ruin).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

The previous review warned that this place was changing management, it seems it has. It was dreadful. We placed our bags in our room and immediately realised we did not want to stay. Damp smelling bedroom, electricity not working, curtains falling off, stains in toilet, bathrom which smelt like boys nightclub toilets, provided bath towels were damp. We walked down to the 'restaurant' to be told there was no menu because they weren't busy (he did offer a salad or for us to wait until the local fisherman brought in his catch). We walked along the beach to find another resort. We went back to Sazani to collect our bags. They wanted us to pay for a full night but we managed to get them down to £25 , thank goodness we did not pay up front! We noticed that there were only two other guests staying according to the guest book and that they had had no guests in at all last week - the height of summer...
What a pity because the place has a superb spot on the beach in a quieter part of Nungwi. It is now run down and uncared for. It could be fantastic but it isn't...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergie-Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warere Beach Hotel
Warere Beach Hotel
#10 of 19 in Nungwi
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Nungwi
136 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amaan Bungalows
Amaan Bungalows
#1 of 46 in Nungwi
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sazani Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sazani Beach Lodge

Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Nungwi
Price Range: £62 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sazani Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like a castaway at our 10 room beach lodge, a perfect paradise for beach lovers, kite surfers and divers. An oasis of calm just five minute taxi ride from Nungwi's busy strip of music bars and hotels. Our bungalows are designed in a traditional Swahili style with coconut thatch roofs in a tropical garden setting, each with a sea view and sandy path down to our secluded pristine beach and the turquoise ocean. Stay with us and help us to develop our sustainability ethos to be an environmentally and socially responsible lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sazani Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sazani Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing