We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect conclusion of a fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Vejen, Ribe, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect conclusion of a fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

After a safari in mainland of Tanzania, we had decided to end the vacation by a cosey relaxing enjoy-the-sun-do-nothing week at Zanzibar. We had laid the arrangements into the hands of our travel-arranger who warmly recommended Langi Langi as "just the place" with an unconventional, friendly attitude, off-beat and very beautiful location.
We were not disappointed in any way!
The location was simply just stunning. We had the luck to come to the place end of season, just before rainy season. The view was stunning and even more stunning with thunderclouds in the horizon yet pleasing climate and weather locally.
The owner is "in-to food" which means the menu is short & very very good. (Try the hot stuff - its fantastic). The staff is very straightforward. It's a small place and close to a small village. No shopping facilities worth noting. You can just borrow a canoe and paddle along.The rooms are good. The beds are OK. Some rooms have a stunning view (try go for the ones with a sea-view)
What else??
Well - if you want a nice fancy and modern hotel with all the nifty stuff, this is *not* the hotel. If you want to be able to stroll into a town. This is not the place.
But if you value good food. An off-beat location. Nice people. Relaxation. This is definitely the place.
To see something on the island?: Just ask the reception, they will help you hire a driver & a guide. It is definitely worth it. A lot of possible tours can be bought.
The island is not larger than you can drive all over the place in a few hours.

Only 4 out of 5? The breakfast some days tended to be (ahem) somewhat "experimental" / reduced, and the (complimentary) wi-fi was at times a joke. And this is not the place to bring children.

Besides that - I would definitely go there again, if I ever get a chance! No doubt about that!!

(And dear traveler - please remember, this is Africa - if you want luxury and all that, stay in the main-cities, don't stray to the real parts - but if you are OK with nice people and friendly service in general - this is the place).

Room Tip: Go for the sea-view suites. Absolutely worth it. Do not miss out visiting the Stone-town. Remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SABrandbyge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    167
    43
    19
    20
See reviews for
81
294
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a garden room. It had no view but as far as we were concerned it didn't matter as Langi Langi has a great deck area for dining, sitting or lounging/sun bathing. And it's only metres to the beach. At high tide you can access the beach via adjoining properties, or use the garden pool. The bar is quite limited and there is no alcoholic drinks/wine list. This is pretty basic information for a bar/restaurant and really should be available for customers. The menu on the other hand is reasonably extensive and interesting. Service is about par for Tanzanian restaurants.
Our room was clean and comfortable with a/c, an overhead fan, good hot water, a fridge and a comfortable bed with mosquito net. Staff, with a couple of exceptions, were helpful and willing, and the manager went out of his way on several occasions to assist with problems. Wi-fi worked very well in the dining area, but only once the manager has personally logged you in - and sometimes he can't be found. Also, be aware that there are no ATMs outside Stone Town so either bring cash for your expenses or be prepared to be charged in USD on your card at the island exchange rate! Overall, a really nice place to relax, especially after a visit to Stone Town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumbo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The review is only for their restaurant and not for the hotel. Ate here two nights of the three and was impressed with the level of food and service. The quirky humour of the place and the ambience were an addes bonus. Try the buddhist curry if you can manage a bit of spice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NupurDwivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here on the first floor (try and take a higher floor for better beach view) in Sear facing suite. The room is nice, the shower area is good too and so is the food at Langi Langi. The people are very hospitable and friendly. I am a vegetarian so I mostly had to stick to their pizza (which was very nice) and some other salads (very nice), etc. But my friend tried a lot of sea food and meat and she liked all of them too. Just watch your bill! They invariably added some items to our order (perhaps by mistake) or increased the total etc, so be careful and cross check your bill before paying.

Room Tip: Higher floor have better ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nipun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We only stayed for 2 nights, but would have loved longer. We had the top floor Royal Suite, undoubtedly worth the extra cost for the breathtaking views from the balcony! Looking straight down into the beautiful turquoise sea or out to the surrounding islands, what a view to wake up to. The suite was lovely, huge balcony and 4-poster bed, nice bathroom although the water pressure wasn't great. There are some very steep stairs to get up to the top floor so wouldn't be ideal for everyone.
The restaurant is lovely too, best to make a reservation during the day if you want to get a table as it does get very busy. Food is awesome and the service is good. Breakfast wasn't fantastic, although we found that throughout Zanzibar.
Overall I would hugely recommend this place, and I would definitely return if we came back to Nungwi.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor Royal Suite if possible, stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wildmanpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a few days while volunteering near Arusha and we really enjoyed our experience. We stayed in the more expensive suites and our view of the ocean was wonderful and the room itself was large and very comfortable. Overall there might be slightly better hotels, however I don't think that they could be much better, but from what I found they were significantly more expensive. I definitely think that Langi Langi is the best value and overall one of the best hotels there.

Although I don't think the restaurant was great, it wasn't too bad either though, the service was great. The hotel, from what I understood, is owned by a guy named Sully (I'm not sure how to spell it) and he is very friendly and overall a really great person. He definitely made us feel welcome. My wife got a little cough before we got there and the first night that we were there we ate the cafe there and he was helping wait tables and I guess he noticed my wife was coughing because he made a really nice drink to help her get over it. We both appreciated his hospitality.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the best! It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in early April after completing a northern circuit safari. We stayed 2 nights in a standard garden bungalow and 2 nights in a seaview room. While the seaview room not only had a sea view but was also larger with a more luxurious bathroom, we found both room types to be comfortable. The air conditioning is good, the plumbing works, there is hot water, the bedding is comfortable, there are sufficient toiletries, and the pool and rooms are clean. There was a buffet breakfast with omelettes and pancakes cooked to order, and the other meals we ate at the hotel were tasty. Wifi was only available in the hotel restaurant, but was generally sufficient for our needs. The staff were responsive and friendly. We wanted a comfortable hotel in a nice location where we could relax for a few days, and the Lang Langi more than met our needs.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,098 reviews
0.9 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
1,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flame Tree Cottages
Flame Tree Cottages
#15 of 17 in Nungwi
216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langi Langi Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langi Langi Beach Bungalows

Property: Langi Langi Beach Bungalows
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#8 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LangiLangi Beach Bunaglows is located in Nungwi, Zanzibar. The hotel has got a total of 34 rooms which are Standard Garden Room, Pool Room, Seaview Suite, Marhaba Suite and Royal Zanzibari Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Langi Langi Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langilangi Beach Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Langilangi Beach Hotel
Langilangi Beach Resort All Inclusive
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing